Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars87
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 August 2011
The series one and two boxset of the superhuman and superbrilliant BBC Three drama "Being Human" is an absolutely great boxset to own!

The premise of the programme actually didn't appeal to me in the slightest- vampires, werewolves and ghosts? Oh My. I assumed this show was jumping straight on to the "Twilight" bandwagon- but oh how very wrong I was.

The show, as the title suggests, despite being a fantasy, is incredibly human. The characters are warming, familiar and loveable, wonderfully played by Aidan Turner, Leonora Crichlow and the ever fantastic Russell Tovey- and the show brings along all kinds of emotions; there is obviously a good dose of tension inducing horror moments; but its also got some great tear-jerking, high emotion scenes, some excellent soft comedy and generally wonderfully written, excellent played drama.

In some ways the show is everything you would expect from a supernatural drama- lots of blood, guts and gore; animorphis and slipping through doorways- and it many ways it's not what you'd expect at all- the character's ambition is to live life as normally and humanly as possible and deal with their afflictions healthily, hence "Being Human", and the show that comes out of this idea is endearing and powerful- Aidan - a vampire - in particular struggles with this, much like an addict in a drug-based storyline, which makes for excellent and often high-tension based drama. George - a werewolf - doesn't struggle as much, and his character, who is a little bit of a softy, which makes his affliction even more horrifying, is excellent- all the cast are excellent in this programme, but Russell Tovey who plays George is phenomenally good- emotionally beautifully played and excellent comedy moments.

Whilst the first series of the show has a bigger variety of intense drama and light-hearted comedy, series two progresses into a deeper and darker affair- the feel of the show's first series is still ever-present, but the story progresses brilliantly and intensely into a more gripping and thrilling drama- and the special effects greatly improve in series two - they're fine in the first series but I'm guessing the BBC injected more money into the show after the success of the debut series!

Additionally, this box set has some really awesome extra- I loves me some outtakes and deleted scene; and then in addition to these there are some excellent featurettes which are really interesting- particularly for geeks like me, and they are definitely worth a watch!

I guess I would say the show's demograph is particularly targeted at young adults; although just about everyone in my team in work adores this series, and they're ages range from 17 up to 62- so I guess this is a programme that just about anyone can enjoy! It really makes for great viewing, and I don't think the supernatural, fantasy and gory side of things put you off of "Being Human" too much if that's not normally your cup of tea, because the show really breaks the mould of this genre, and really I'd say this series could appeal to anyone who enjoys a well made drama with mixed emotions and exciting scenes. I highly recommend this excellently made BBC drama; it really is completely brilliant!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
ok, i havent got thew DVD's yet, but i watched it on bbc.
so it starts a little slow, with the first episode focusing on the current state of the vampires. the second being about the ins and outs of werewolves and the 3rd buing about the ins and out of being a ghost.
BUT once you get to episode 4, it gets interesting. as the nearby humans turn on them, mitcell is forced to turn back to the vampire way, while annie tries to figure out who killed her, and "pass on" with a huge twist and george struggling to come to terms with his condition while trying to protect mitchell from the vampires (and himself) and start a relationship with nina.
in series 2, while mitchell takes over the group of vampires, george tries to control the wolf, with terrible consiquences and annie tries to decide if she wants to live or pass on, a religious group are killing vampires, trying to "cure" being a warewolf and forcing ghosts to pass on, will all 3 of the group stay alive, and when action force mitchel to turn darker than he has ever been before, can he be saved?
it is funny, action packed and interesting with both series's having an epic finale, this is one of the greatest series's on TV, and in my opinion the BEST tv show, film , series ANYTHING to do with vampires, werewolves and ghosts
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
I thought this show was a bit slow to start but once it gets going its really good and enjoyable, its certainly not as glamorous as the american vampire tv shows but it has something they dont, british humour! If you like shows about the supernatural I'd definatley recommend it.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
BBC STYYLE
What a nice surprise this series! I could not take my eyes off the screen until the end of season 3, for how brilliant, engaging and well-scripted it is.
Being Human is not just another excellent BBC show, but a true proof of their successful approach to tv: a series that has been exported and even remade abroad (although I did not even try to watch the american version) and that was conceived, from a production point of view, to expand the tv industry beyond London: in fact, every season is set in a different town and county, in order to allow local professionals to participate.
And, from a narrative point of view, they've always found the right solution to make this itinerant story make sense.
THE SHOW
But let's start from the beginning: the launching promo says "A vampire, a ghost and a werewolf. Living together. In Bristol". And that's it. This is enough to make a subject interesting. But not enough for the authors and producers, who gave turned it into a brilliant story of gore, action, thriller and existential approach to life, both with irony and drama. Because who's better than three characters like them to make you really feel all the colors and flavors of real life, since they cannot live it like us anymore?
HOW WORTH IS IT?
Watch it at least until the end of season 3. Then the story changes and, in my opinion, loses a big lot of its charm.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
With all the vampire hype going on on the other side of the Atlantic it was a matter of time before such enthusiasm came to European television. And it was a welcome sight to see it appear at the best of television makers: the BBC.

The only weak part is that there are so few episodes: I would have loved to see more characterisation of all three main characters. As the story goes along, the world of vampires is shown, lycanthropy is perused and ghostlyhood is skimmed. In particular in the latter part of season 2 the ghostly part of this story gets more screentime.

The acting is of the high quality one expects of BBC productions: personally I prefer George the most: Tovey creates a man that is under enourmous tension while trying to keep hold of his sanity. Given the fact that lycanthropy is portrayed as a lonelifying curse, there isn't much exploration of fellow werecreatures. Unfortunately. As one would expect, the vampiric aspects are explored in greater depth. I still wonder what this world has more in store. As for the spiritworld: especially the latter part of season 2 keeps one wondering what this world has more in store....

I'm looking forward to season 3 of this series: I just hope the supernatural part (with all the special effects bits) won't overwhelm the series which will leave in lacking in psychological aspects and storytelling. I don't think the BBC will cave in to this temptation, but one still fears the ruination of a good series after seeing several US created series go to waste.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THIS REVIEW IS OF THE BOX SET CONTAINING BEING HUMAN SEASONS ONE AND TWO ON DVD. I MENTION THAT AS THE AMAZON SYSTEM WILL PROBABLY LUMP IT TOGETHER WITH DIFFERENT ITEMS.

This particular cardboard box contains the first two years of the BBC Supernatural Drama series 'Being Human' on dvd, with each year on it's own in a plastic box both of which fit into the cardboard one.

The two years in question are:

Being Human: Complete Series 1 [DVD]

Being Human - Series 2 [DVD]

These two items are no different from the individual season releases in the above reviews.

So it's a good way of getting more than one year's worth if you want, but be aware that there are subsequent box sets which collect more than two of the five seasons. So you may want to go for those instead.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 May 2011
I'd caught a few episodes of series 1 on BBC3 so convinced someone to buy me this for Christmas - I'm glad I did.

Being Human blends the supernatural, horror, comedy and character based drama in a way I've not seen anything do so successfully since Buffy. But it does it in a distinctly British way, with a strong and distinctive Bristol setting.

The success is down to strong script writing and some great performances which help you sympathise with characters thrown into dark and difficult circumstances. While it's dark and gory at times, the horror is never just for shock value - the core question remain how do these characters do the right thing?

All in all excellent drama.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 December 2012
Season 1 - Very inventive series, which morphs somewhat along the way during it's first 6 episode season. A vampire. a
werewolf and a ghost all share a small house in England. They desperately want to simply fit in, be accepted and not hurt
anyone. It's got a lot of dry wit and some real emotions as well, with strong performances throughout. Someone remarked
it's like `Seinfeld' with undead characters, and that is part of the appeal early on, seeing these characters more in human,
often humorous ways than in scary supernatural ones. But over the course of the season, the supernatural and darker tones
become more and more prominent. This leads to some confusion in tone at times, along with some messiness as to just
what the rules of the game are for these creatures. There's also a few hard to take leaps of faith (e.g. a human character
who hardly seems fazed when he leans the true identity of our three leads.). When it first turned from `dramedy' to drama,
and the supernatural elements began to grow stronger I was very disappointed, as it seemed like the show was losing what
made it unique, but then it regained it's balance by amping up the emotions along with the other-worldly, and making the
characters' pain at being trapped between worlds, and their love for each other moving and real, while avoiding (mostly)
clichés or the familiar. I'll be very curious to see where it goes from here.

Season 2 - 8 episodes. While still uneven at times, with it's goofy moments of humor not always meshing smoothly with it's darker
and more emotional sides, the series has grown even stronger in it's 2nd season. While still not (for me) up with the all time great
series like The Wire or Mad Men or Breaking Bad, at it's best, it's an amazingly potent mix of heartrending drama, dark, off-beat
humor and some effective horror as well. But this is horror with all the rules reversed, with the `monsters' being the human race,
and the heroes our vampire werewolf and ghost who simply want to live like other people. At times, in an odd way it reminded me
of "Dexter", the outsider with scary possibilities, who wants to fit in. But whereas Dexter is all about emotions repressed, here the
emotions are on the sleeve (occasionally a bit too much, and there are a few soapy moments). Much like the first season this starts
strong, seems to lose its way a bit in the middle, with some forced humor, and repetitive moments but finishes with such a kick that
its easy to forgive any lapses. The acting is on a very high level, the writing is witty and human, and the direction and camerawork
can be very effective at creating mood and scares on a TV budget. Not perfect perhaps, but it's a rare TV show that can make me think,
laugh, cry, and send a shiver down my spine all in one episode. Some great and inventive use of rock tunes to set the mood tops it off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 December 2012
Season 1 - Very inventive series, which morphs somewhat along the way during it's first 6 episode season. A vampire. a
werewolf and a ghost all share a small house in England. They desperately want to simply fit in, be accepted and not hurt
anyone. It's got a lot of dry wit and some real emotions as well, with strong performances throughout. Someone remarked
it's like `Seinfeld' with undead characters, and that is part of the appeal early on, seeing these characters more in human,
often humorous ways than in scary supernatural ones. But over the course of the season, the supernatural and darker tones
become more and more prominent. This leads to some confusion in tone at times, along with some messiness as to just
what the rules of the game are for these creatures. There's also a few hard to take leaps of faith (e.g. a human character
who hardly seems fazed when he leans the true identity of our three leads.). When it first turned from `dramedy' to drama,
and the supernatural elements began to grow stronger I was very disappointed, as it seemed like the show was losing what
made it unique, but then it regained it's balance by amping up the emotions along with the other-worldly, and making the
characters' pain at being trapped between worlds, and their love for each other moving and real, while avoiding (mostly)
clichés or the familiar. I'll be very curious to see where it goes from here.

Season 2 - 8 episodes. While still uneven at times, with it's goofy moments of humor not always meshing smoothly with it's darker
and more emotional sides, the series has grown even stronger in it's 2nd season. While still not (for me) up with the all time great
series like The Wire or Mad Men or Breaking Bad, at it's best, it's an amazingly potent mix of heartrending drama, dark, off-beat
humor and some effective horror as well. But this is horror with all the rules reversed, with the `monsters' being the human race,
and the heroes our vampire werewolf and ghost who simply want to live like other people. At times, in an odd way it reminded me
of "Dexter", the outsider with scary possibilities, who wants to fit in. But whereas Dexter is all about emotions repressed, here the
emotions are on the sleeve (occasionally a bit too much, and there are a few soapy moments). Much like the first season this starts
strong, seems to lose its way a bit in the middle, with some forced humor, and repetitive moments but finishes with such a kick that
its easy to forgive any lapses. The acting is on a very high level, the writing is witty and human, and the direction and camerawork
can be very effective at creating mood and scares on a TV budget. Not perfect perhaps, but it's a rare TV show that can make me think,
laugh, cry, and send a shiver down my spine all in one episode. Some great and inventive use of rock tunes to set the mood tops it off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
It all gets a bit too silly and irritating. The first season is watching with the hope it gets better but unfortunately it's just too much. A vampire sitting eating cornflakes in the morning is just a bit too far removed from Bram Stokers " Dracula"
The low budget of the production shows through also and the werewolf looks like a b movie creation from the 50's.
Final conclusion...load of utter nonsense! And no more from me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.