Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably her best, and one of the best for any artist!
What's going on?
After self destructing material, Madonna takes more mature choices.
This one is a work-of-art dance anthem BUT music industry shows more attention to boybands (voice, not required) than to already successful artists.
+1 for Madonna, -10 for the companies.
Published 9 months ago by Loudaros Nikolaos

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck!
A Madge fan right from the very beginning, but this truly sucks. An utter Britney-type reject which, rightly, bombed without trace in the UK.

Sorry, M, but you can do FAR better than this desperate drivel. You're a legend, but don't become lazy with tosh like this. Let's hope you were just bored with fulfilling your contract with Warners and this is NOT an...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by Brian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably her best, and one of the best for any artist!, 7 July 2013
By 
Loudaros Nikolaos "GoGoBear" (Keratsini, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
What's going on?
After self destructing material, Madonna takes more mature choices.
This one is a work-of-art dance anthem BUT music industry shows more attention to boybands (voice, not required) than to already successful artists.
+1 for Madonna, -10 for the companies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting song, 10 Feb 2013
By 
R. Murray "RayOfLight" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver (MP3 Download)
Revolver features on the greatest hits compilation album Celebration (released 2009) together with another new single of the same name.

Madonna did the same thing in 1990 with the greatest hits compilation album "The Immaculate Collection" - that album featured all her greatest hits thus far as well as two new tracks: Rescue Me and Justify My Love.

Revolver isn't as good a song as Celebration but is an interesting song: Madonna sings about her love being like a revolver "do you wanna die happy?" and "I line them up and watch them fall".

I think the song would have fit nicely onto the Hard Candy album (2008). It has a good beat and its play with words and rich vocals liven it up.

This song probably wouldn't be top of your list for your favourite Madonna record of all time, but is definitely worth a listen and is fun.

The mixes of the song will definitely have something for everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value for money., 29 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver (MP3 Download)
For the final ever song with her parent company, Warners, Madonna releases Revolver. Personally i feel it should have been the first single from her Celebration hits compilation as its more "now" than the lead single Celebration. It has an urban vibe but with an electro twist, not that disimilar to the tracks being produced by Tiao Cruz, Britney and the Black Eyed Peas. Its mainstream and if you are after the visionary forging Madonna of old, you wont find it here. This track is a safe track like Celebration, its marketing genius to be honest all aimed at raking in the cash for Warners but thankfully its a good track, even the fans who dislike her R&B leanings of late will have to concede that Revolver is pretty much up there with her other floor fillers like Secret, Human Nature, Justify My Love and Vogue. The remixes are to die for too, Paul Van Dyke has always been destined to remix Madonna following the likes of Oakenfold, Tiesto and Sander Kleinenberg and the one by Tracy Young proves to be her most accomplished yet for the queen of pop (i wasnt a fan of her other remixes for Madonna). Coupled with the David Guetta remixes this is a really good value package and highly entertaining. Incidentally Madonna has roped in Guetta to work on her new album which internet gossips predict will be scheduled for an autumn release around October and again has a more dance orientated leaning, others roped into the mix are uber cool french house DJ and remixer A-Track, coupled with old writers Rick Knowels and Pat Leonard, this new project for Live Nation is already starting to whip up a frenzy of interest. I cant wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this music, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
great vinyl. i dont like Guetta but madonna is the queen of the pop music, the best, , ok lady who Gaga......?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
This sing is amazing, unusual but amazing!
The remixes are great!!

Also, buy MDNA tour she does it even better on it!Mdna World Tour [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna goes for the gun and shoots out a MASSIVE TUNE, 11 July 2010
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
okay,when i first heard the song i did get a mixed opinion but in all honesty this is how a pop song should be in contemporary society! and this remix by David Guetta has allowed for it to have a distinctive identity. Sure it's not a Madonna classic of a tune but it is ridiculously lovable and just as great as Celebration was/is.
Unfortunately there was no promotion when it was released so therefore was her lowest chart placing in her history in her three decades in the music industry but nevertheless it doesn't take away that this is a great echo back to early 90's Madonna in the Erotica period in the sense of the House style beats and the pulsating grooves and even the more recent Hard Candy record with a very Urban feel about it too except Hard Candy had a very personal lyrics to the songs and an attitude and also Revolver isn't quite the genius we have come to expect for a standard of a song but it is much better than many contemporary pop songs and indeed deserves it's own credit where it's due and also with the amount of remixes here available this is QUALITY worth for money!

also the song was used in her recent (June '10) Interview Magazine photoshoot promo video and H&M Fashion range for this summer so i was re-introduced t the song in a new light as it were. This is a big hands in the air pop song that while nonsensical fun it does highlight Madonna's ear for a catchy tune that we have loved her for, and as a fan for most of my life and have her 12 studio albums and a few compilations i felt the purchase of this particular single hard to miss out on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shoot to Kill, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
The last ever single under her Warners contract is a safe bet, a sombre affair really. Its a great single with some outstanding remixes but a lack of a video and no promotion will see this sink without a trace, Madonna needed some new material to keep fans interested in the Celebration hit package and this along with the single Celebration was her choice. Or was it? Some have criticised the the two singles as old, lacklustre and uninventive. Personally i dont think they were bad at all, not up to her usual creative best but they serve as a cross over between the old and the new, somehow i always knew she'd never give her best to an ending partnership that has made billions out of her name and talent. I think the best is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
A Madge fan right from the very beginning, but this truly sucks. An utter Britney-type reject which, rightly, bombed without trace in the UK.

Sorry, M, but you can do FAR better than this desperate drivel. You're a legend, but don't become lazy with tosh like this. Let's hope you were just bored with fulfilling your contract with Warners and this is NOT an indication of what is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im no madonna singles collector, 30 Sep 2011
By 
popfan (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
As a rule i dont collect madonna singles, revolver was a bonus track on madonnas greatest hits, it became a hit in a few countries in europe and usually id let that slide.
However this on reflection had more of a mini album feel,titled revolver mixes it contains the track celebration feat akon and the revolver mix by david guetta (which won him a grammy in 2011) due to this im happy to own it- Has these tracks appear no were else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Die hard fans will love, 15 Feb 2011
This review is from: Revolver (Audio CD)
Madonna remixed versions of revolver are good,i bought for celebration feat akon overall a great mini album. Arrived in perfect condition and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d67e64)

This product

Revolver
Revolver by Madonna (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews