Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2010
The 5 "main" Jesus and Mary Chain albums in a rather minimalistically designed set. Still a great way to familiarize yourself with the JAMC canon for only a few bucks. These are the basic presentations of the albums, not the latest over compressed remasters with bonustracks but the dynamically bare bones original masterpieces, in all their gloriously depraved, inspired borrowed genius.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
Five jamc albums for the price of one a bargain so good it's almost insulting to the memory of the band.If you don't have all these you should.Noise,misery,pop,gentle strumming,it's all here.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This box set contains the first five J&MC albums at less than £3 a pop: bargain. The discs come in cardboard sleeves in an overall thick(ish) box, which, for this money can't really lead to any complaints.

For those of you unfamiliar with the band thay tend toward indie rock rather than just pop: distorted guitars, white noise the works. But this creates a dark influenced music and melodies rather than heavy industrial music. look to "my bloody valentive" or even some "cocteau twins" for music in the same general ballpark (no one does it exactly like this band.)

For information the five albums are:-
Psycho Candy
Darklands
Automatic
Honey's dead
Stoned and dethroned

Thats a total of 66 track for under £15!

Only one extra thought: if you find you like this, but the excellent MUNKI album. Brilliant.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
From experience I have often found that many of the other sets from different artists in the Original Album series are in actual fact the remastered versions with additional tracks or at the very least a mixture of the two. (Which makes them an even bigger bargain!)

Sad to say thie is NOT the case with this set.

So I thought a track listing would be handy to compare them to ones you may have.

Still an amazingly cheap set with the neat cardboard sleeves- heck someone has got to love them!

If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will rectify it Toot Sweet
(and yes I know it's not spelled that way!!)
Track listing

1. Just like honey
2. The living dead
3. Taste the floor
4. The hardest walk
5. Cut dead
6. In a hole
7. Taste of Cindy
8. Some candy talking
9. Never understand
10. Inside me
11. Sowing seeds
12. My little underground
13. You trip me up
14. Something's wrong
15. It's so hard

Darklands
1. Darklands
2. Deep one perfect morning
3. Happy when it rains
4. Down on me
5. Nine million rainy days
6. April skies
7. Fall
8. Cherry came too
9. On the wall
10. About you

1. Here comes Alice
2. Coast to coast
3. Blues from a gun
4. Between planets
5. Uv Ray
6. Her way of praying
7. Head on
8. Take it
9. Halfway to crazy
10. Gimme to hell
11. Drop
12. Sunray

1. Reverence
2. Teenage lust
3. Far gone and out
4. Almost gold
5. Sugar Ray
6. Tumbledown
7. Catchfire
8. Good for my soul
9. Rollercoaster
10. I can't get enough
11. Sundown
12. Frequency

1. Dirty water
2. Bullet lovers
3. Sometimes always
4. Come on
5. Between us
6. Hole
7. Never saw it coming
8. She
9. Wish I could
10. Save me
11. Till it shines
12. God help me
13. Girlfriend
14. Everybody I know
15. You've been a friend
16. These days
17. Feeling lucky
This track listing was revised on 0.04.2012
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
There are plenty of reviews of these albums, so I just want to add that this is outstanding value for money. Well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
A great series and a good way to keep your old vinyl from getting damaged. Listen to one after another and hear TJAMC turn from indie noise makers to one of the best pop song makers of the 80's/90's.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
An absolutely incredible bargain. There's no excuse for anyone now not to know all of the Mary Chains songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Darklands and Automatic are fantastic albums ,owning the other three albums was a bonus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Good value . . .great way to catch up with a band that I missed first time round !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
Having been a J&MC fan from the first album, this collection was a must for me. Especially at this price. These are not remastered, like the newly issued expanded cd`s, but they sound great through my earphones!!! "Automatic" is the weakest album, in my opinion. The J&MC are indie legends!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.03
£9.99
£5.06

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)