Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jesus and Mary set, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The 5 "main" Jesus and Mary Chain albums in a rather minimalistically designed set. Still a great way to familiarize yourself with the JAMC canon for only a few bucks. These are the basic presentations of the albums, not the latest over compressed remasters with bonustracks but the dynamically bare bones original masterpieces, in all their gloriously depraved, inspired borrowed genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb indie sound, 15 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Having been a J&MC fan from the first album, this collection was a must for me. Especially at this price. These are not remastered, like the newly issued expanded cd`s, but they sound great through my earphones!!! "Automatic" is the weakest album, in my opinion. The J&MC are indie legends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a preposterously good bargain, 26 Aug 2010
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Five jamc albums for the price of one a bargain so good it's almost insulting to the memory of the band.If you don't have all these you should.Noise,misery,pop,gentle strumming,it's all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Trip Me UP- Whats In the Box (set), 27 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
From experience I have often found that many of the other sets from different artists in the Original Album series are in actual fact the remastered versions with additional tracks or at the very least a mixture of the two. (Which makes them an even bigger bargain!)

Sad to say thie is NOT the case with this set.

So I thought a track listing would be handy to compare them to ones you may have.

Still an amazingly cheap set with the neat cardboard sleeves- heck someone has got to love them!

If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will rectify it Toot Sweet
(and yes I know it's not spelled that way!!)
Track listing

1. Just like honey
2. The living dead
3. Taste the floor
4. The hardest walk
5. Cut dead
6. In a hole
7. Taste of Cindy
8. Some candy talking
9. Never understand
10. Inside me
11. Sowing seeds
12. My little underground
13. You trip me up
14. Something's wrong
15. It's so hard

Darklands
1. Darklands
2. Deep one perfect morning
3. Happy when it rains
4. Down on me
5. Nine million rainy days
6. April skies
7. Fall
8. Cherry came too
9. On the wall
10. About you

1. Here comes Alice
2. Coast to coast
3. Blues from a gun
4. Between planets
5. Uv Ray
6. Her way of praying
7. Head on
8. Take it
9. Halfway to crazy
10. Gimme to hell
11. Drop
12. Sunray

1. Reverence
2. Teenage lust
3. Far gone and out
4. Almost gold
5. Sugar Ray
6. Tumbledown
7. Catchfire
8. Good for my soul
9. Rollercoaster
10. I can't get enough
11. Sundown
12. Frequency

1. Dirty water
2. Bullet lovers
3. Sometimes always
4. Come on
5. Between us
6. Hole
7. Never saw it coming
8. She
9. Wish I could
10. Save me
11. Till it shines
12. God help me
13. Girlfriend
14. Everybody I know
15. You've been a friend
16. These days
17. Feeling lucky
This track listing was revised on 0.04.2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 albums for very little money, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Michael Hill "micky_the_pig" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
There are plenty of reviews of these albums, so I just want to add that this is outstanding value for money. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I had forgotten it all., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Wow this takes me back to my younger darker days. I had most've these albums on cassette and they're long gone. So to get them all in one go on CD's and at such value is great. Briliant and fully recomended. So wear black turn the lights down and sit back. Do NOT smile though!...that would be missing the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best way to keep your old vinyl in good nick, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
A great series and a good way to keep your old vinyl from getting damaged. Listen to one after another and hear TJAMC turn from indie noise makers to one of the best pop song makers of the 80's/90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 29 Nov 2010
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Fantastic, I love this band of course I enjoy more the early days, and this compilation bring us just the best albums ever!!!! Great Collection to collectors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent music at an excellent price, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This box set contains the first five J&MC albums at less than 3 a pop: bargain. The discs come in cardboard sleeves in an overall thick(ish) box, which, for this money can't really lead to any complaints.

For those of you unfamiliar with the band thay tend toward indie rock rather than just pop: distorted guitars, white noise the works. But this creates a dark influenced music and melodies rather than heavy industrial music. look to "my bloody valentive" or even some "cocteau twins" for music in the same general ballpark (no one does it exactly like this band.)

For information the five albums are:-
Psycho Candy
Darklands
Automatic
Honey's dead
Stoned and dethroned

Thats a total of 66 track for under 15!

Only one extra thought: if you find you like this, but the excellent MUNKI album. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb boxset!!of a cool indie band....fuzzy and dark....., 5 May 2012
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This is a great boxset.

It contains five of their best albums, although I would also buy "Munki" if I was you, and it is great value.

The set comes in cardboard sleeves and is very bog standard but I personally don't mind that.

I have most of these on vinyl and just wanted a quick way to get them onto iTunes. For that these are great....Also, if you just want to see what this band are/were all about this is a great way to enter the world of the Marychain.

I would also check out the rest of this range - most are good but do check which albums are in which set....they are not all as good as this one....but many are....check out the Bunnymen one too.....Original Album Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9bdb7d4)

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Jesus & Mary Chain (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews