Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sandy" by Sandy Denny
I was late in developing my music tastes and at 16 first heard Led Zep's Battle of Evermore and asked who is this female singer? Then I bought "Sandy" and the songs captured everything I wanted to hear in an album. Each track is perfect. Linda Thompson on backing vocals on the Dylan track and then multi tracking her own voice on "Quiet Joys of Brotherhood" and Dave...
Published on 29 May 2007 by M. R. Barnes

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solo issues?
My initial impression is: if you know Sandy from Fairport Convention,then stick to those....it brings her out more, and more.
Published 17 months ago by Kersh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sandy" by Sandy Denny, 29 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
I was late in developing my music tastes and at 16 first heard Led Zep's Battle of Evermore and asked who is this female singer? Then I bought "Sandy" and the songs captured everything I wanted to hear in an album. Each track is perfect. Linda Thompson on backing vocals on the Dylan track and then multi tracking her own voice on "Quiet Joys of Brotherhood" and Dave Swarbrick's solo violin, not to mention Richard Thompson's guitar work. What could be better and the production is a great credit to Trevor Lucas. "The Lady" I have several versions and am amazed that it is not more covered by other artists like "Who knows where the time goes?"

It is far the best album that Sandy ever made being my favourite yet the others are of outstanding quality that should not be missed.

Listen to "Listen Listen" and then the French version "Ecoute Ecoute" and the performance does not change, try the former with a bottle of English wine Three Choirs and the latter with Cote du Duras.

This album took me onto Fairport including "Holidays" and "Rising for the moon" and more Sandy Denny and more Fairport without her. So I am forever grateful for buying this album back in 1978 and now again remastered with bonus tracks.

Recently I heard Simon Nicol performing an excellent version of "Who knows where the time goes?" and I hope that he will look at Sandy's other songs and champion these as well. You cannot replace her but you can leave it to her band mates to do her songs the justice they deserve in her untimely absence.

I am very surprised that the BBC have not yet dedicated a program about her life and music which is long long overdue.

So buy this CD and her others with and without Fairport and not to mention the brilliant and outstanding Fotheringay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a gem after all these years, 22 Jan. 2002
By 
Tim Edmonds "tim427" (Minehead) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
Is it really so long since this gem first appeared? Sandy's voice still send shivers up my spine. Here she is accompanied by a high-quality group of musicians - Richard Thompson, Dave Swarbrick, Pat Donaldson, Timi Donald, Pete Kleinow and John Bundrick - supplemented by string and brass sections. Of the ten tracks, Sandy wrote eight, the balance being Bob Dylan's "Tomorrow is a Long Time" and Richard Farina's "Quiet Joys of Brotherhood". The latter has a traditional tune arranged by Sandy and is
notable for Linda Peters' harmony singing and a lyrical Swarb violin solo. This, "Listen, Listen" and "It'll take a Long Time" are for me the outstanding tracks on a delicious album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting memorial, 18 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
This album is the best memorial that the late, lamented and much loved Sandy Denny deserves.

Her work with the Fairports had some beautiful peaks, "A Sailor's Life", "Who Knows where The Time Goes", "Reynardine" and others, but, as others have said, "Sandy" is her most complete set. It showcases her wonderful voice so beautifully, the pedal steel guitar playing on the opening "It'll Take A Long, Long Time" soars and weaves around her achingly perfect vocal line but that is only the door opening on a true box of delights.

Sandy was an original, a true one off and I don't think that she would ever have wanted to be packaged or pigeon-holed, which was why she left Fairport Convention as they were right at the top of their game.

You can see her need to explore different types of music on the brass-embellished "For Nobody To Hear". The musicianship on this album is amazing, Richard Thompson is, as usual, superb throughout and Dave Swarbrick also provides wonderful violin.

Unfortunately, Sandy wasn't the most outgoing person, she was shy and often suffered from bouts of self-doubt and insecurity and she sought refuge in too much drinking and she was a heavy smoker too, both of which ravaged the purity of her voice. Her drinking became a real problem towards the end of her life and she withdrew from performing as her personal life fell apart.

Her later studio albums suffer from having to disguise her damaged voice and are not really worth buying, the postumous live "Gold Dust" shows the damage she caused her vocal chords quite noticeably but "Sandy" is most definitely an album that any fan should have in their music library and Sandy's voice was at its finest here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare beauty, 13 Dec. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
Listening to Sandy Denny's voice makes you realise how much the music industry short-changes us these days. Sublime and unaffected, young yet embedded with wisdom, it sweeps you away like none of today's wannabes ever will. 'Sandy' also benefits from first class arrangements, production and musicianship, with Richard Thompson and Dave Swarbrick adding valuable guitar and violin respectively. Sneaky Pete contributes some of his best pedal steel playing too, lending a country tinge to some of the tracks. By and large, this is folk at the edge of rock. 'It'll Take A Long Time' is an expansive, epic opening, while Denny's take on 'Tomorrow Is A Long Time' is one of the best Dylan covers you'll hear.

There are many breathtaking passages, such as the multi-tracked vocal on 'Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood,' unaccompanied until the momentous pause at which Dave Swarbrick takes over. The mandolin landscape of 'Listen Listen' is another. All but two of the songs are Denny's own. While they're all very good, it's the manner of their execution that gives this album an extra edge. If Celine, Mariah or Whitney is the extent of your female vocal experience, buy this and discover what a great artist really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sadly missed 'One and Only', 15 April 2009
By 
B. M. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
Its not often you get all reviewers lining up in perfect harmony, but Sandy and this album deserve it.'Sandy' is sheer beauty, exceeding all expectations.If you simply love great music, without any silly and unecessary categorisations (folk, rock etc)buy this album, it can truly be called genius (unspun).
One of the greatest voices ever comes together with a beautiful set of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the lady, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
Each of Sandy Denny`s four intermittently wonderful albums recorded under her own name is essential, each has its glories, and at least two of them are so close to being perfect that the imperfections are frustrating to hear - ill-advised, carelessly executed covers of Dylan or Brenda Lee on her debut, an unnecessary if pleasant Candle in the Wind on Rendezvous - but Sandy, her second album, is perhaps the closest she came to elusive perfection, though Like An Old-fashioned Waltz is worth anybody`s time too.
Sandy opens with the slow and lovely It'll Take A Long Time, Richard Thompson's guitar working its customary wonders (is there nothing that man can't play!) over a languid melody.
From there, it's really just one superb song after another, including a very tasty reading of the traditional Sweet Rosemary. But Sandy was such a sublimely gifted songwriter that she hardly needed to record others' songs, and I'm relieved that the bulk of her recordings are indeed of her own compositions.
A highlight for me is the beautiful, gorgeously textured Listen, Listen (a version in French, 'Ecoute, Ecoute' no less, is one of the Extras here) which is one of those Denny songs you want, appropriately enough, to listen to forever. Another is The Lady, one of her greatest songs.
Her cover of Dylan's early love ballad Tomorrow Is A Long Time is treasurable, sung in an upbeat version with pedal steel wizard Pete Kleinow conjuring his magic behind her respectful yet unsentimental vocal.
Sandy's arrangement of the traditional Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood, with its unusual Bulgarian-influenced multi-tracked vocals by herself and Linda Peters (later known as Linda Thompson, then-wife of Richard) and words by Richard Farina is something of a revelation.
The album proper ends with three marvellous songs: Bushes And Briars, It Suits Me Well and The Music Weaver, the latter apparently written about her onetime Fairport colleague Richard Thompson.
The extra tracks included on this re-issue are all good to have, especially the part-pensive part-jaunty original Here In Silence, a terrific song - though again, slightly over-arranged).
These remastered Sandy Denny CDs, in their welcome slipcases, are presented and packaged with loving care, which is no less than this great artist deserves - with, on this one, a sensual and alluring cover photo of the lady courtesy of none other than David Bailey. He seldom had such a beauty to photograph!
Sandy here proves she was and remains the finest, subtlest singer-songwriter these isles have ever produced.

The lady she had a silver tongue
For to sing she said...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandy: Sandy Denny (2012 2 disc deluxe edition) - Ecoute ecoute to this sublime music, 28 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
A few years ago I was introduced to a group called Fairport Convention by a friend. The song she played was Matty Groves, and instantly I was entranced by two things, Dave Swarbrick's fiddle, and Sandy Denny's voice. Since then I have built up a collection of Sandy Denny's albums, both solo and in groups, and these stand as some of my favourites in my collection.

She had a voice that was controlled and full of technical skill, but with a real throbbing intense passion lurking just beneath that threatened to burst free at any moment. She started out as a folk vocalist, but through her work with groups such s Fairport and her later solo albums she expanded to become so much more. Rooted in folk certainly, but overlaid with many other layers that made her unique.

This is her second solo album. It's a delicious set of folk and folk rock songs, with some light blues and jazz tinges around the edges. Front and centre is Denny's amazing voice as she gently leads us through a series of tales of life, love and loss. It's a gentle, almost mournful. Her singing is just magnetic, full of charm and beauty. It's an album to just put on and get lost in. Standout is the Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood, a track that blows Fairport's version out of the water. But it's all good.

This set contains the 2005 remasterings, which were a pure joy. The remastering is superb, and allows you to hear the colour and dynamics in Denny's voice.

There is a pile of extra tracks on the second disc, but as with the Northstar Grassman deluxe edition I have to say that if you already own the 2005 release then there is no real reason to upgrade unless you are a serious Denny-head.

In all this is a special album. Really beautiful music to entrance you. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Take You All Away..." - Sandy by SANDY DENNY (2005 Denis Blackham CD Remaster - Single Disc Version), 21 July 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
Sandy Denny's 1971 debut album "The North Star Grassman And The Ravens" was a superb start - but her second outing simply called "Sandy" emblazoned her lovely music into music-loving hearts like nothing before. A Folk-Rock masterpiece - it's been revered ever since. This mid-priced expanded CD reissue and remaster on Island IMCD 314 (issued in May 2005) breaks down as follows (64:49 minutes):

1. It'll Take A Long Time
2. Sweet Rosemary
3. For Nobody To Hear
4. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
5. Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood
6. Listen, Listen
7. The Lady
8. Bushes And Briars
9. It Suits Me Well
10. The Music Weaver
Tracks 1 to 10 are her 2nd solo album "Sandy" - released September 1972 in the UK on Island ILPS 9207
Tracks 11 to 15 are BONUSES:
"Here Is Silence" (11) and "Man Of Iron" (12) were the A&B-sides of a rare UK 7" single on Island WIP 6141 issued in September 1972 (both tracks from the film "Pass Of Arms"). The uber rare picture sleeve original copies came in (booked in the Record Collector Rare Record Price Guide 2014 at £40 - but I've never seen a copy in over 40 years) is pictured on Page 5 of the booklet.
"Sweet Rosemary (Demo)" (13) was first issued on the "A Boxful of Treasures" Box Set in 2004
"Ecoute, Ecoute" (14) is a French language version of "Listen, Listen" prepared for single release - its first CD appearance came on the "The Attic Tracks 1972-1984" compilation in 1995
"I'll Take A Long Time" (15) is a live version with Fairport Convention recorded February 1974 in Los Angeles - first appeared on "A Boxful Of Treasures".

It comes in a fetching outer card wrap and the 12-page booklet features original artwork, lyrics, photographs and liner notes by expert and long-time devotee DAVID SUFF (of Fledgling Records). It's tastefully done and the DENIS BLACKHAM remaster from original master tapes is truly gorgeous - warm, atmospheric and full of presence.

It opens on a double-whammy of lovely British Folk-Rock - "It'll Take A Long Time" and "Rosemary" - both sweet as a nut. A clunker for me has always been the ill-advised rock of "For Nobody To Hear" but that gives way to the Dylan classic "Tomorrow Is A Long Time" with a country lilt. Side 1 of the original album ends on pure magic - an Acapella version of a Traditional made famous by American Folk troubadour Richard Farina called "Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood". It's just gorgeous and the remaster clarity is truly startling - ending with the most beautiful Dave Swarbrick violin solo that comes at you like a mist rolling in from the sea in the morning.

Side 2 opens with a personal favourite - the wonderful Denny original "Listen, Listen" (lyrics from it title this review). It's a swirling ballad that never ceases to reduce me to mush. Island UK even issued it as a 7" single in September 1972 on WIP 6142 with "Tomorrow Is A long Time" as its flipside but it didn't bother the charts (neither did the album). "The Lady" is also gorgeous - contrasting starkly with what preceded by virtue of its melancholy piano and elegant strings (arranged by harry Robinson). "Bushes And Briars" was chosen to represent the album on the stunning 2009 3CD Box Set "Meet On The Ledge - Island Folk-Rock" - and it's easy to hear why - Richard Thompson's lovely electric guitar swirling like a dance behind the vocals. The album ends on two sweet ballads - homages to the sea and wandering - "It Suits Me Well" and "The Music Weaver".
The piano and string arrangements on "Weaver' give it an epic quality - breathlessly beautiful stuff.

We would lose her in 1978 aged only 31. I remember meeting John Walters when I was working at Reckless (he was John Peel's legendary producer) and we were in a pub discussing gigs he'd seen that blew his mind (and Peel's). He was told by Bernie Andrews (another legendary BBC producer) to go see this young girl in a bar he'd heard about that was causing a stir - it was Sandy Denny before she'd joined the ranks of Fairport Convention. The purity of her English Folk voice left him shaking and stunned. I can still see his smile to this day and the memory of it etched into his face.

It's nice to know that all their memories are given a Folky Royal nod by this fab little reissue...

PS: There's a subsequent 2012 2-CD Deluxe Edition of "Sandy" with a second 18-track disc of Demos and Live Stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure enjpoyment, 22 Mar. 2009
By 
B. Miota (Bilbao, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
Wonderful voice, excellent production and beautiful songs, a classic piece of music and a pure enjoyment for your ears. No matter if you like folk, pop, rock or classical, it's just music full of feeling and passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LESS IS MORE, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sandy (Audio CD)
The curse of overproduction strikes again. As far as Sandy Denny's solo outings are concerned, less is definitely more. Full orchestras and brass bands do not, sadly, translate into increased audience appeal. For example, compare the overwrought version of Bushes and Briars on this album with the stripped down BBC Radio version on A Boxful of Treasures to see how overproduction has robbed this wonderful song of its power. Sorry to give it only 4 stars but we don't need the "bells and whistles". All Sandy's voice needs to accompany it is a piano or a guitar- that's perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sandy (Remastered)
Sandy (Remastered) by Sandy Denny
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews