Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M, 1931, 2003 Eureka video 2 disk edition - Disturbing yet compelling viewing
Fritz Lang, probably better known for the masterful `Metropolis', is responsible for this rather disturbing and thought provoking study of a serial child killer in mid war Germany. The story has been compellingly constructed by a master craftsman. From the earliest scenes of a mother waiting for her child to come home, through the police hunt for the killer, then the...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by Victor

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, appalling transfer to DVD
I recently bought this 'Redemption' DVD issue of Fritz Lang's 'M'. The film is one of all time greats of early cinema. The problem with this DVD issue is the transfer. The transfer quality is very poor and inconsistent and worst of all the white substitles are virtually unreadable for great sections of the film, being seen (or not, being more to the point) on a white...
Published on 9 Mar 2011 by AD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique and compelling comment on crime and punishment, 22 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: M [DVD] (DVD)
I doubt that this DVD will ever be at the top of anybody's Christmas list. If you are interested in the development of the crime/thriller genre though, it does deserve a place somewhere in your collection. Lang takes a unique look at the forces of crime and punishment. Our sympathies lie neither with the inept police force nor with the criminal underworld as both race to track down a serial child killer whose unchecked campaign of terror is marring their respective reputations. One of the highlights of this monochrome masterpiece is the scene in which Lang cuts repeatedly between a scene in which the chiefs of police discuss their tactics and another in which the criminal masterminds do the same. This is a film of great depth that belies its simple plot. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Langs masterpeice....an experience., 2 April 2014
By 
Paul Friis (Sydney NSW, AU) - See all my reviews
This rates in my top 5 of all time......an absolutely amazing motion picture......Peter Lorrie is outstanding......the restoration has left the video (24fps) & audio (DTS-MA 2.0) where it belongs in the 30s & it looks & sounds lovely. A must for all lovers of cinema, not just horror/thrillers...marvellous extras. Chow Chow for Now Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive old movie, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would never have thougt that an old movie from the early thirties should be among my favorite films. The Blu-ray is masterfully restored. The script, editing and plot are magnificent. A masterpiece! The acting is somewhat teatrical and typical for the early moviemaking, but none the less, the story and plot got hold of me. This is a must for people that are not afraid of old b&w movies with only mono sound. Impressive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Package of my fravourite Lang Film, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series from Eureka is simply fantastic, blu-ray and dvd in one neat package, with a booklet too.

Having not seen this film since 1997 in a small art house cinema, I was itching for this release. The film is by far my favourite Lang film. Peter Lorre is superb in his debut starring role. I don't want to leave spoilers for anyone who may not have seen the film before, so will assume that most people reading this know the film and appreciate its excellence. If you haven't seen it, then you must!!

The transfer on Blu-ray is very good to my untrained eye. I have a 50 inch LED, and this film has never looked better. The Subtitles are nice and sharp too. I have not played the DVD version yet or the extras, so cannot comment on those yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
An astounding piece of cinema.
Bought as an IMDB top 500 item, but it moved me more than many higher rated in that category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing film, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this many years ago and bought it to show my friend as I had been talking so much about it. Great film and a double DVD where I had been expecting a single. really great film and rapid delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great original talkie, 2 Aug 2013
I remember the first time i saw this film, I was haunted by the whistled music. The shadowplay is fantastic as is the historical context. Classic stuff. Recommended to all except young kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal Film!, 29 July 2013
An extraordinarily modern film by any standards made in 1931 at the start of talking pictures. Razor sharp documentary style film details the pursuit of a child murderer in Berlin. Reflected a real life trial that was taking place when the film was released.
Very disturbing film that looks at the compulsions of a serial killer and the reaction of a city to his crimes.
Very influential film both in its style, content and photography. The use of sound is masterful at adding atmosphere.
Lang's greatest achievement in his own opinion.
Bluray MOC release looks and sounds excellent.
The commentary with Kaes and Rentscheler really gives backround that adds to the film.
Really a must-own for anyone interested in cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lorre Carries the Picture, 31 May 2013
Fascinating precursor or rather archetype of all the 'tightening noose' procedurals that have followed right down to Prime Suspect and other less watchable and even more morally compromised films/tv series. Clearly sympathy for a child-killer is more than difficult and some will object to being manipulated into that by Lorre's brilliant performance and a mob presented as equally deranged by the getting of money. Any number of arresting techniques on show throughout and the drama never lets up. Yes it's old, but it stands up completely and the print is excellent. Funny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very chilling portrayal of a killer, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: M [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
Although very old, this is a chilling portrayal of a killer that is acheived without showing any violence. The atmosphere is gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M [Masters of Cinema] [DVD]
M [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] by Fritz Lang (DVD - 2012)
£10.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews