Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2012
The term genius is thrown at many artists without any justification. But Ray was a one off. From the blusey back-room songs of the Forties to the over-produced orchestra and chorus spectaculars of the Eighties he showed all the symptoms. But his compositions were the real strength. The first I was aware of was by Eddie Cochran - 'Halleluyah, I Love Her So' - coming from a rock and roll superstar who played the rebel hero in my teens, then 'I Got a Woman' coming from almost grown-up child performer Ricky Nelson. Then the song with the riff which launched a thousand rock and roll careers, 'What'd I Say'. This CD set covers the early years in detail, so that you can hear the origins of everything that made a gutsy sparkling performer.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
3 CD's for that price? Glad I'm not a musician.... Great CD though, lot of music on there and it's full of great songs and it's well packed, looks good, well delivered etc. I am happy and grooving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
I didn't know most of the songs on this CD collection so consequently was not altogether happy with it. Some of it was from a very young Ray Charles which could be ascertained from his voice. It's very easy listening & good to have on in the car whilst driving - very laid back
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
What more can you say about the great Ray Charles? There is something for everybody here, even if you are too young to remember him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Good quality sound and came very quickly on delivery. I bought this as a gift for my boyfriend, and he really likes it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Great item, and good value, quick delivery. Recommended seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Music Ok, but disappointed that one or two favourites missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Always first class listen ing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
False representation? How can it be called absolutely essential when it doesn't include Georgia, Take these chains from my heart, Cryin Time, I can't stop loving you? Buyer beware, I should have checked. But surely if I buy something that describes itself as purple, then I have an expectation that it should at least have some purpleness about it. It does have What'd I say parts 1 and 2.
Back to the drawing board...I will buy another compilation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
It was a gift for my mother and she was really happy with it, although she said one of his greatest hits was missing (I don't recall which one).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)