Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2010
"Too many notes," Emperor Joseph II was reported to have said to Mozart about The Marriage of Figaro. And "Too many notes?" is the first question I had as soon as the first track of this (beautiful) CD started. Indeed great virtuosity from young jazz pianist Hiromi, but musical ideas are never hidden under "too many notes". It just take some repeated listening to discover and appreciate them. In this solo acoustic piano album, Hiromi reminds me (once in a while) of the solo piano style of Uri Caine and Stefano Bollani (not the ECM solo work but the earlier and more sparkling Label Bleu releases). Some other times Hiromi reminds me of Cyrus Chestnut and Benny Green (both released works on the same label Telarc), as well as of Jason Moran. Anyway, this is a very interesting, funny, original and enjoyable jazz release, totally worth your listening time if your are into contemporary jazz piano. Recorded sound is just perfect (warm, perfectly defined, no harshness, great dynamics), as you expect from an audiophile label such Telarc. Enjoy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
Great music for piano solo. Very different themes and style, but worthwhile to listem to. A pianist to look to in the future
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
I have casually followed Hiromi's output and not being one who is usually keen on electro-jazz funk, have none the less been highly impressed with what she does. So it was a nice suprise to hear this solo album. If you like Hiromi, then you will not be dissapointed. Don't be put off by it being solo acoustic piano.

Some say that the Japanese make supurb engineers and technicians, perfecting the ideas and products of others, but lack creative ability and original thought. Hiromi's trade mark is her sparkling technique, dynamic energy and subtle lyricism. She has enthusiam in bucket loads and her sense of fun always comes across in her playing. It is true that stylistically her first rate musical education often makes reference to others, Oscar Peterson and Errol Garner in particular. But underneath that gloss of the highly trained technician there lies a truly evolving artist. She has capitalised on her almost unique abilities for speed and articulation to find her own way of expressing herself. How much of the music is improvisation on this recording is an interesting question and only for the purist. It makes little difference, as they are all highly interesting. All are original works too, with the exception of Berne Baby Berne (Loue Bellson and Remo Palmier) and the Pachebel Canon. The latter to my ear does not seem to work well with the added keyboard sound (or is it harpsicord ?).(Actually, I find from an interview she gave to Keyboard Magazine, it seems Hiromi used a metal ruler on the strings, removing and replacing it as she played, which is very difficult to do).

Highlights are the original and imaginative BQE, Sicilian Blue, Islands Azores and of course the melodically beautiful title track.

Part of the enjoyment of Hiromi's music is to watch her perform, if you haven't already done so, catch her playing Place To Be on YouTube and you'll see just what I mean.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Writing from Canada (I order from here sometimes too), but I just got this last week, and I wanted to let you Brits (that haven't heard this, except for samples), know it's astounding! Full of mind-numbing speed, beauty, wit (even a quick nod to "Deep Purple"- your band, not the song), dynamics, fire, fun, unusual technique, and passion- what an artist!
Remember, it's just Hiromi all by her lonesome on an acoustic piano, but.... WOW!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I heard these pieces in a concert in Paris where I discovered Hiromi. Since that moment, I really love the artist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
THE CD ARRIVED WITHOUT THE COVER. I WROTE A MAIL FOR THAT BUT IHAVEN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Another great Album by the Piano Queen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I'm giving 3 stars only, because the CD was not in good conditions ( it made a lot of annoying noise when turning inside Cd Player). It's true I was given the chance to replacer it, but as it had taken to long to receive it at first, I just wiped it very very carefully and now it's playing quite satisfactory. Altogether, regarding the delivery date and the conditions of the CD I cannot be completely satisfied as it is supposed. Other than this, great music indeed. Very inspiring and original pieces of music, supported on amazing technic skills
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)