Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge step forward from the first in the series; a refined commpilation that you won't want to stop listening to
With 'deep' in the compilation title you might not expect to hear half of these tracks; 'DNA' at the end of CD2 is a huge big-beat, big-drop tune reminiscent of Ferry Corsten 90s chart attempts. Since having this album I can't see how I will ever go back to the main label's releases; it's so superb that suddenly the frantic, rushed and cringingly-vocalled main-room Trance...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by G. Preston

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitter disappointment
I was blown away (as many in clubland were) by Anjunadeep 01. It was an amazing mix of darkish electro trance of which CD 2 still gets talked about and praised by everyone i speak to about it. Anjunadeep 02 was highly anticipated for months by me and my friends and we rushed out to buy it upon release. We sat in the flat with a cup of tea and cranked up the speakers...
Published on 19 Feb 2010 by O. Blake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge step forward from the first in the series; a refined commpilation that you won't want to stop listening to, 18 Feb 2010
By 
G. Preston "YourLocalGP" (Lausanne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
With 'deep' in the compilation title you might not expect to hear half of these tracks; 'DNA' at the end of CD2 is a huge big-beat, big-drop tune reminiscent of Ferry Corsten 90s chart attempts. Since having this album I can't see how I will ever go back to the main label's releases; it's so superb that suddenly the frantic, rushed and cringingly-vocalled main-room Trance of the Anjunabeats series seems massively unrefined in comparison.

There are plenty of phasers, pianos and all the other ingredients for a trance album but somehow the unerring progressiveness of tunes like Singularity by 16 Bit Lolitas reinvents them with new subtlety. The Jaytech mix of Flaming June (one of my favourite ever dance tunes) sounds like how it was meant to be if Ibiza hadn't added 20bpm to everything back in the 90s.

Every chord progression that you want to hear, happens, however simple - the sequence in Rotation by Jamie Matrix ends off CD1 ready for a more harmonically intense CD2 from Jaytech; CD1's highlights for me were Disco Belle by Paul Keeley and Sunday by Oliver Smith, the 4th track after a bit of a slow-paced start to the disc.

CD2 really has me in goosebumps; Cloud 9 is probably one of the most 'trancey' heavily melodic tunes on the compilation with thick layered synths, I would have liked to hear something else happen in the 7 mins+, but the lead out (reminds me so much of Chiller Twist) takes you expectantly into the polished brilliance of Q.E.D. by Dave Horne. I haven't been able to listen to CD2 without going back and replaying Q.E.D. at least once. Classic composition with a rising bassline, layers you don't get tired of and a gorgeous breakdown you will want to time with opening your curtains in the morning. The remixes chosen for this album reflect the fine line between it and the hands-in-the-air feelings of Anjunabeats, so the Jinx and Bayer remix of To The Six touches on the melody instead of leaving it exposed while a non-existent DJ soaks up props from a crowd.

In fact CD2 is just tune after tune, too numerous to mention; London by Marcus Schossow will warm you up even if you're walking through snow, while tracks like Alien & Butterfly give you a suitably hard buzz line and a dark chord sequence which is great to be spooked out by. You will feel satisfyingly tired by the time Ozone by Jaytech comes around just from stopping yourself from smiling like a fool on the train/bus/plane. DNA is then a cadence-fuelled bit of uplifting electronica that leaves you wondering where the last hour and twenty has gone, to the extent that you start hearing things with the instruments Solarity throws in (what *is* that pitched-down chime at 2m2s doing? Fantastic.)

After a few more dozen plays I will force myself to put this at the back of the shelf so it can't be worn out. The Anjunabeats series often gets so furiously worked up that it makes you wish for a club atmosphere (and those little things with it)...Anjunadeep makes you realise you don't need either of them to appreciate beautifully crafted uplifting music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not liking this as much as Anjunadeep 01? MEOW, MEOW!, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
Well, just kidding - but, while it's essential listening for 2010, I can see why other reviewers are quick to pick up on the fact that this compilation, while still head and shoulders above anything else out there at the moment, doesn't seem as cleverly-constructed, thought-provoking, dark and - well - deep as the first instalment, mixed by Anjuna maestros Above & Beyond.

I'm not sure how James Grant and Jaytech divvied up the track listing, but the end result is that the first disc is beat-driven, urgent, relentless AND meandering at the same time, if that's possible. If anything, it's too full-on, and while the individual tracks certainly wear the "progressive" tag, perhaps the mix doesn't, and comes across as a bit too crowd-pleasing (if that's ever a bad thing). In the podcast promo for this CD on YouTube, Grant describes 16-bit Lolitas' Re-Murdered as "pitch black and menacing". In the context of this mix, maybe it is, but in a general sense, you may beg to differ, and want more. But SOLARITY, especially, and Jamie Matrix (Mr and Mrs Matrix must be so proud of their boy ;o) rock it out, and the Hernan Cerbello track is an unexpected selection - nice enough, while being a bit Hed Kandi-ish(!) One pleasant surprise is that Grant and Jaytech manage to make BT's Flaming June sound absolutely right in an Anjunadeep compilation - not a nostalgic throwback - something I wasn't expecting.

But for my money, the main stand-out tracks are on Jaytech's second disc. Gold Rush by Jamie Matrix is indeed a future anthem which I expect will be everywhere by the summer, while the all-too-brief Alien & Butterfly by Sergey Tkatchev brings flashbacks of Anjunadeep 01's refreshing greatness with its sound reminiscent of - dare I say it - the mighty Above & Beyond. Finding it very hard not to skip back for a second listen every time it comes on. The disc is rounded off with a series of stormers, notably Tom Fall's excellent Cubic, then Jaytech's own production, Ozone, shouldn't be underestimated, especially as it feeds nicely into an energy-packed gem by Solarity (DNA), which has "tune!" written all over it, with its multi-layered breakdowns reminding me, incongruously, of the deadpan "drops" you used to get in more stripped-down tribal house. It's enough to bring tears to my eyes, and I reckon you'd have to be dead to not love it intensely.

So just enjoy this for what it is: peerless, melodic tech-house. It may not have the impact of 01, but nevertheless a worthy addition and absolute BARGAIN, by the way. But then, with Anjunadeep, it seems I never end up ordering just the one copy... Spread the love!

As a postscript: I had the good fortune to be offered a free ticket to a Tiesto gig in Brixton a week after purchasing this CD. For all its bombast and impressive visuals, it all seemed a bit juvenile and unsatisfying after discovering the Anjunadeep and Anjunabeats labels, and me and my friends left an hour before the end. Make of that what you will...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class from James and James, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Alan "carrd2" (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
Not surprisingly, this is a good album. To rate this 4 stars some time ago would have seemed harsh, and possibly still does now, but the Anjunabeats label has released so much good stuff lately that this is the only way to differentiate between excellent and sensational.
Above & Beyond are letting Jaytech loose more and more, both in terms of the number of Jaytech songs they feature on their albums and in this case, getting the main man to mix one of the Anjunadeep CDs. I'm a massive fan of Jaytech - I love his sets, particularly the one he did at Godskitchen@Air in January, so perhaps it's slighty strange then that I actually prefer James Grant's compilation on album. In my opinion, the most striking tracks are on disk 1, particularly the Solarity efforts (I'm loving Solarity more and more) and I absolutely adore the gentle housey whimsy of Jody Wisternoff's Lassoo.
As with all Anjuna albums, there isn't one single bad song, and the mixing by both artists is exceptional. I guess A&B wouldn't have allowed anyone else with dodgy mixing skills to come to the fore on an Anjuna offering.
To continue the debate below, I think that Anjundeep 1 is better - more killer tracks for me. But only by a whisker. The best thing about Anjunadeep 2 is infact the use of the new mixers, which shows a more widening progression in Anjuna's offering.
Deep 2 is probably even darker than 1 - I think it's even more housey, even less vocal, carried through by more and more catchy bass riffs than melodic uplifts. It's very specialist, and needless to say if you're into this sort of thing, very good.
Plus I love the album cover.
I won't need to convince anyone who have liked previous Deep or Beats, or who like Jaytech or James Grant, to buy this album. The individualism displayed and the precision of thought is, once again, unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
This album is simply one of the best non-stop albums I ever heard. Anjunadeep 01 was amazing and it had some tracks that automatically got your attention. You don't have that in Anjunadeep 02 but the track selection is totally compatible with each other.

I highly recommend this to all people who listen to trance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitter disappointment, 19 Feb 2010
By 
O. Blake (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
I was blown away (as many in clubland were) by Anjunadeep 01. It was an amazing mix of darkish electro trance of which CD 2 still gets talked about and praised by everyone i speak to about it. Anjunadeep 02 was highly anticipated for months by me and my friends and we rushed out to buy it upon release. We sat in the flat with a cup of tea and cranked up the speakers hoping for a few hours incredible music......how wrong we were!! The first CD is ok. Slow but slightly techy still with no real highlights, even the flaming june remix failed to get us going and Re-Murdered is just pathetic, nothing like murder weapon and instantly forgotten. CD 2 is just wishy washy house music with no drive or bounce to it. You could expect to hear this kind of music in a posh bar in Soho, not a dirty electro club having it large. There are NO decent tunes, no Murder weapon, professional killers, Afghanistan etc to get you going. As massive fans of the Anjuna label we really wanted to like this but after three plays of each CD i can safely say that this wont be listened to again for a long time- not when there is still Anjunadeep 01 to listen to which is still an absolute monster of a compilation. On the plus side though, this could be a very good chill out CD for the drive home or morning after scenario as its unobtrusive and easy to listen to.......but if you are expecting anything like the quality of music of Anjunadeep 01 you will be sorely disappointed with this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classaroony, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
great mix of class tracks, i will definitely be buying anjunadeep 03 based on this album. i personally like this better than anjunadeep 01 which was good i thought in parts, this album flows seamlessly from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anjunadeep:02, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
Superb album, I took a gamble as I hadn't heard of this artist before. Very clean & crisp sounds, non cheesey house music with hints of trance. Some superb tunes on here and so good to listen to in the gym or cycling. I like Paul van dyke, Armin van buuren, tiesto but this is top of my listening list at the moment. + plus so many high quality tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop-deep-yet-uplifting-prog-house, 12 Jun 2010
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
In summary, this compilation of Progressive House is mind-blowingly superb!

The tunes are all new and after just one complete cycle of listening to disk one and disk two you will be reminded of what Progressive House is all about. For those of you who don't, Progressive House is about being taken on a journey, a journey that allows you to "be in the moment" anywhere and at any time. For me, a good progressive mix is all about the Soul, the baseline, the mixing, selection of tracks and the production which will without a doubt, if put together by the DJ in a cleverly ordered fashion, give an aural stimulation that will give the sensation that you are travelling, without moving...

To be honest, I've been a big fan of Progressive House since the name was invented by Dom Phillips at Global Underground back in the early nineties. This double cd is almost like a trip down memory lane as the style of music is definitely from the 90's progressive era however, the tunes are new and that's what I like a lot about this album. It's a mixture of old and new, melodic and deep, uplifting and chilled and above all PROGRESSIVE at all times.

Looking forward to the next Anjunadeep Album already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finest Progressive Trance/House, 2 Mar 2010
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
Anjunadeep Vol. 2 mixed by Jaytech and James Grant. First note, this Compilation is different as ASOT. No cheesy vocals or uplifting Trance. You will not find a Track with vocals (just snipping). All tracks are instrumental.
The Quality of both CDs (CD1 more than CD2) are very high the mixing and also the choosing of Tracks.

My Equipment:
Walkman: Sony NW-S with Sennheiser CX200 In-ear phones
CD-Player: Marantz with Canton GLE 470 Speaker

I like the progressive style, sometimes progressive house and sometimes progressive trance.
The first half of CD1 is gorgeous.

Its hard to say which one is my favourite track, but the tracks below are my favorites.

- Lassoo - Wisternoff, Jody
I like the Claps and melody at the end.

- Disco Belle - Keeley, Paul
Driving Sound with a nice piano break down.

- Rotation - Jamie Matrix
Absolute fantastic tune, blow my mind away. A "killing" Track. My favourite Track.

- Kilimanjaro - Michael Cassette
A smoothly gentle track.

- Flaming June - BT
I am wating for a long time to hear a new version of flaming June. And this one is very good, catching the original with new deeper sound.

- Fellowcraft - Reynaert, Roddy
The style is great. I'm falling in trance.

- Ozone - Jaytech
The guitar/chor part with the beat and the snipping sound on the background sounds great.

- DNA - Solarity
Yeah! The second "killing" Track. This one is marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice tunes, poor mixing and programming, 23 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Anjunadeep:02 Mixed By Jaytech & James Grant (Audio CD)
Got this and was really looking forward to my first listen, as really enjoyed volume 1, however still can't get over how poor some of the mixing is on disc 1. Clearly this mix has not been aided by 'Mixed in Key' or some other similar program. While this would be fine in a club, these kind of tunes lend themselves to fine and long harmonic mixing, some mixes are over in a matter of seconds to avoid pitch clash. Listening to recent mixes from people other DJ's like Sasha, Digweed,Seaman,Lavelle, M.A.N.D.Y leave james Grant sounding like a bedroom DJwhich is surprising as the productions are great!

Jaytech on the other hand is a much stronger mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews