Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look.
Considering this was a independent low budget animated film of the highest quality and is Shane's first featuer film direction it makes all those big studio productions some what embarrassing, The Animation alone is fascinating.

It's a simple story, with not a huge amount of character development but then theres a reason for it as theses dolls make up part of...
Published on 8 Jan. 2010 by Mr. P. L. Ward

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great visuals, was the story good enough?
Obviously a large number of viewers have loved this movie, and I would have to say that I agree with the comments about the splendid attention to detail in the graphics, and I also understand the reviewers who say that they admired the visuals without becoming absorbed in the story. As I see it, there isn't really much to grab hold of as far as the story-telling is...
Published on 26 April 2010 by Aria-May


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look., 8 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. P. L. Ward (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 9 (Nine) [DVD] (DVD)
Considering this was a independent low budget animated film of the highest quality and is Shane's first featuer film direction it makes all those big studio productions some what embarrassing, The Animation alone is fascinating.

It's a simple story, with not a huge amount of character development but then theres a reason for it as theses dolls make up part of the scientists soul. Theres so much attention to details theres enough to keep coming back for several viewings.
And it has a fantastic ending leaving you full of wonder and mystery.

Two things wrong, First is a bit too short, while it's not worth adding stuff for the sake of it i felt it needed just a little bit more time to push the story a bit, build up more tension and learn a bit more about our hero's. The other thing it film can't decide if it wants to be mature and appeal to adults or Teens. It kinda stuck in between swinging form one to the other but it was grand effort to try and make a modern CG film with a bit more punch and seriousness.
Nice soundtrack too.

Rating should be 4.5 but I'll add the extra half for DVD content. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nine is not just a number,, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
M. Hansen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 9 (Nine) [DVD] (DVD)
but only if you like "different" movies
and that means "nine" is very special.

The atmosphere of the movie may looks dark and sad
and the story may appeal slightly predictable but
that only invites you to look "behind the scenes"
and there is plenty to discover.

So what's special about "nine"?

1) It deals with life after human extinction
2) It deals with hope in a hopeless time
3) It deals with taking action despite all fears

It is a masterpiece of art and that's properly
the main reason for the very short time "nine" has spend
in European cinemas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It looks gorgeous and that may be enough for some, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
Vinman666 (Essex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mankind has pursued technology too far and been destroyed by it. Again. A small group of resistance fighters carry the hopes of all mankind. Again. But this time mankind is represented by 9 small stitched toys.

This is one of those films that will divide opinion. It looks fantastic. Imagine a story drawn lovingly frame by frame by French graphic artist Moebius and then pulled together as a movie by Delicatessen era Jean-Pierre Jeunet and you will begin to picture how this film looks (tonally I was reminded of Delicatessen and Alien Resurrection a number of times). There is so much attention to detail, like the dust motes floating in the scene where 9 first wakes up, and the tooling scratches on the brass tools used by the inventor. Stitchpunk, the style has been called but that's the characters; their world is very much steampunk.

So far, so good. If, like me, you can drool over the visuals, that might be enough for you. In terms of storytelling, the assistance of producers Tim Burton and Timur Bekmambetov retain a cinematic style that keeps the interest and there are genuinely atmospheric moments. The problem is that the story is a familiar one (as per the opening paragraph of this review), the only difference being the graphic style and the unusual characters. I watched 'Up' only a few days ago and had completely the opposite experience: I was moved by the story and stopped noticing the visuals after a few minutes. During '9' I admired the visuals without becoming lost in the story.

This is not a film for small children but given some of the dark stuff on the Cartoon Network nowadays, 7 and upwards I would expect to enjoy it.

The limited edition comes in a hardback book. Not with a book, in the book! It's a nice touch and the book is printed on quality paper. The content is largely scenes from the film with some storyboards, character designs and occasional soundbites from director or producers. Whether you'll appreciate it depends pretty much on your opinion of the film, i.e. it looks nice but there's not much content.

The Blu-ray transfer is excellent with lots of detail in the predominantly dark scenes, sound steerage is also good with lots going on in the surround channels. Extras include a commentary, deleted scenes and featurettes but also the original short film that was extended to make the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality animation, 21 April 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Some reviewers have criticised the lack of originality in the storyline of this film but I can remember my English teacher of 34 years ago saying that every story has already been written and its how they are presented that makes the difference. This is where 9 on blu-ray scores a ten for me, this is what your high defintion television was made for. Firstly it is presented in full screen so no irritating black bars to distract you and secondly this is animation of the highest quality, you may want to use this to demonstrate how good your tv really is. Witness the scene where 9 finds the body of his creator, every hair on his head stands out in crisp detail. This is not an animated film for children, the director does not draw the line at sacrificing his cute little creations and some of the scenes are quite scary for the younger child. Not only is the picture quality superb but it also has a dynamic soundtrack with strong low field effects that will give your subwoofer a work out and may wind up the neighbours if you watch it late at night. Definitely one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked masterpiece of "old-fashioned" CGI for grownups: NO 3D gimmicks!, 29 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am sure that many of you have never even _heard_ of this movie, since IMHO it has been definitely overlooked, probably due to an insufficient distribution and its PG-13 classification (that deemed it unsuitable for little children, cutting its core audience, probably).

So, since this a kind of movie that might split the viewers among those that will definitely love it, and those that will probably hate it/ignore it, here is a quick way to know whteher this movie is for you:

If you are an unconditional fan of Blade Runner and The Matrix, if you are among those that appreciate the aestethics of Jeunet and Caro movies like Delicatessen or The City of Lost Children, if you think that Nightmare Before Christmas is a masterpiece of stop-motion animation, if you were awestruck by the bleak and amazing alternate world of Coraline, if you can accept/understand the metaphysical/animistic story in Final Fintasy: the Spirits Within, and - last but not least - if you miss those unbelievable, impossibile but utterly exciting CGI action scenes that used to be the staple of older, "traditional" CGI movies and shorts, especially those in the golden years of Pixar, well THIS MOVIE IS FOR YOU, DO NOT MISS IT!!

In other words, even if "9" depicts a dark, gloomy and apparently hopeless reality (which never gets tear-jerking, contrived or depressing, though), that has been shown countless times in other, more "mainstream" non-CGI movies, and even if you can easily find similarities with such other movies, _this is not the point at all_, and it would be a sterile nitpicking exercise, common to almost every movie in recent years.

As a matter of fact, at first this movie will appear as a _triumph_ of form over substance, since the utterly peculiar stylistical choices made by the author, the astounding cinematopgraphy, the great score themes by Danny Elfman, the convincing and realistic voice acting, the surprsingly detailed, "tactile" quality of the models and the beautiful rendering will all lure you into a _seemingly_ impossible reality. (Which actually has a somewhat "reasonable" explanation, by the way, even if it based on metaphysical/occult sciences, and is explained - or I should say hinted - only at the very ending of the story, so be patient and observe carefully...).

Then, even if you will be introduced to a series of stereotypical characters (and most of them are small burlap dolls!), bordering typecasting, intertwined in some partially predictable story developments I will not delve into, you will soon be amazed by an almost non-stop series of cleverly scripted, exciting, clockwork-working action pieces: this is the very same kind of unbelievable scenes that contributed to make movies like A Bug's Life or Toy Story huge successes, actually; nevertheless, in this case there are dark, almost horror-like overtones and outcomes, that might definitely be too much for sensitive or squeamish children (but are there really children like these, apart very little ones, these days? TV shows much more terrible horrors everyday, 24/7...).

All of these bring the movie with unending tension and constant rhythm towards a literally deus-ex-machina ending, that some might find perfunctory, a little too "spiritual" (as I did, hence the missing star, since to me it seemed a little apologetic and detracted from the otherwise "material" feeling of the rest of the movie, IMHO) or even blasphemous: all I can say , without disclosing too much, is that if you accepted/understood/liked the ending of Final Fantasy: the Spirits Within, you will not be bothered by this one too: this is an animated dark fantasy/SF movie, after all, so do not expect cute little puppies and flowers, and you will enjoy a great, exciting ride that you will not forget easily.

Regarding the Blu-ray quality, finally, I did not see the movie in a theater (I wish I did), but I assure you that the video and audio quality are so high, that you can use this movie as a reference disc for Full HD screens (as it happens for most CGI movies).

The extremely high detail of the rendering, the incredibly realistic, contrasted colour palette, and the hectic action scenes will shine in full glory even on large Full HD screens, not to mention the powerful and crystal-clear DTS-HD soundtrack, and this movie will certainly attract the attention of any casual viewer (my 11-year old nephew could not take off his eyes from the screen the whole time, and he does not even SPEAK ENGLISH!)

There are also some interesting extras, including the original Oscar-nominated 2005 short from the same director, Shane Acker, that did not win the award but gave enough visibility to its author to find the funding for this little masterpiece.

If you love unconventional, visionary movies capable of stirring the imagination WITHOUT 3D-glasses gimmicks, or if you missed this in theaters, do not hesitate to give this movie a second chance! It is much better than many other current GCI "marketing events" with no inventiveness whatsoever, IMHO...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Animation and Story, 2 Mar. 2010
This is a review of the Blu ray version of 9 and wow! amazing visuals certainly a disc to show off to your friends on how good blu ray is compared to standard DVD and the film although underrated is superb about a group of puppets created after the apocalypse who have to get used to and survive in their new world and although this isn't for very young children due to the dark and complex story this will please teenagers and adults alike.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nine survivors, 28 Mar. 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 9 (Nine) [DVD] (DVD)
Not to be confused with recent releases district 9 or the musical nine, 9 is a cgi animated movie featuring puppets. That may sound like a children's film but it's really not suitable for them, as it's full of dark imagery.

9 is a crudely designed beanbag puppet who starts the movie by coming to life but having no idea of who he is or anything else. He's in a desolate landscape, a city clearly destroyed by some great catastrophe.

An explore and an encounter with a dangerous creature leads him to meet more puppets that are quite similar to him in design, but who have different numbers painted on them and different personalities.

A terrible machine is stalking this ruined city and the 9 puppets are the only ones who can stop it. Although some argue against such direct action. But who created them? And why? And how did the city come to be this way?

Answers are about to be found.

Full of very striking imagery, this is a film like nothing you'll have seen before. Running roughly 76 minutes it's an expansion of a short feature that the director of this made a few years before, and it does manage to just about justify the extra langth. The plot reveal is paced about right and there is food for thought to be had along the way, in regards to how in regards to how the situation should be handled and what caused the city to be this way.

All becomes clear in both those respects by the end.

A bold bit of film making, with memorable visuals and a decent voice cast. For something a little different, it's worth a look. Epileptics be aware there's a short bit of flashing imagery in the middle.

The dvd has the following languages and subtitles:

Langugages: English Russian Ukranian

Subtitles: English Ukranian Estonian Latvian Lithuanian

The extras also have subtitles in russian but not the movie.

Extras: A commentary on the film from the director and some of the production staff.

About seven minutes worth of deleted scenes. These are all in storyboard form rather than finished animation.

9 - the original short. This runs a little under ten minutes and just focuses on one of the characters. And might leave you wondering what it's about if you haven't watched the feature. But there's a commentary that's really informative and worth listening to.

Plus three documentaries:

9 - the long and the short of it - all about the genesis of the film, it's roughly fifteen minutes long and is decent viewing.

The look of 9 runs for thirteen minutes and concentrates on describing what thought went into the design of the movie.

Acting out runs for approximately four minutes and shows the animators at work and how they acted out some of the scenes before animating them.

The disc begins with four trailers for movies and other things, but you can skip past these by clicking the next button on the dvd player.

A pretty decent film, and not a bad disc for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At least four stars for itself, an extra star for what it does, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: 9 (Nine) [DVD] (DVD)
This is fabulous; it's everything I hoped "Wall-E" would be, but wasn't.

To describe it as crossing genres is almost a bit much, but it includes quite harsh post-apocalypse themes, slightly softened, fantastic animation, steampunk visuals, a number of other familiar themes well mixed together, some stereotypes, satire, which may be heavy handed, and which could be pointed at several targets, so we'll just assume mankind, but it's all brought together into a terrific movie which I'd have loved to be longer.

The "stitchpunk" characters are beautifully created and as endearing as any non-human characters I've ever seen, including The Clangers. The machine monsters are suitably nasty and threatening. Yes, the stitchpunk group includes all the stereotypes you'd expect from many a plot, but that doesn't matter- what's going to be truly new, anyway? They demonstrate different parts of a human soul wonderfully.

Seriously, in years to come when we talk about how films such as "Avatar" showed what could really be done with CGI animation, this should be mentioned in the same breath, and in its story, it's perhaps more original. It really is that good.

This is a very much overlooked gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fallout with sock puppets, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
J. Stijsiger "watergruwel" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 9 (Nine) [DVD] (DVD)
Its a shame i never saw this in the theater. it is a good movie. The visuals are very well done and are the best portrait of the post apocalypse i have seen in years. The plot is very simple but for me it works and it feels that is doesn't need more but do not expect everything to be explained within the first ten minutes of the film. Do not expect a happy movie the wasteland is dark an unforgiving, but you will be gripped by the story of the tiny puppets. This is definitely one i will get on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem indeed, 24 Sept. 2013
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 9 (Nine) [DVD] (DVD)
This fairly short animated film starts off quite strangely, and the strangeness continues until you stop noticing that it's strange. Odd little stitched-jute toys are the characters in a period not long after a total apocalypse has ravaged the world, and Man is extinct. The resulting tale has its predictable elements, but has enough novelty value to carry it through. The quality of production is very high, and if it is indeed a low budget feature then they didn't skimp on the quality of the studio used - I was interested enough in the details to watch the end credits; it's in Toronto.

It's an unusual film indeed to prompt me to award five stars, yet there was no question of a lower score for 9. I'm no kiddy - I'll be collecting the pension in several years and don't as a rule watch animated movies. Perhaps that lends an extra little bit of credit to its makers. However hope there's no Son Of 9 or 9 #2 - but I do hope they go on to make other films of the standard set here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

9 (Nine) [DVD]
9 (Nine) [DVD] by Shane Acker (DVD - 2010)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews