Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what the doctor ordered!!
I love the pure escapism of this book and found myself laughing, crying and totally empathising with Sophie, the spolit but lovable heroine of this story. They only problem i had was the fact that i have lost a whole day of my life and am now dreadfully behind with everything. This book should come with a warning - 'Don't pick me up unless you have free 24 hours!'
Published on 18 Jun. 2009 by M. J. Lardner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light, funny reading
I picked this book basically for two main reasons: because I wanted to relax with a light reading and because I wanted to find once again that type of characters Mrs Colgan had managed to create for a previous book of hers I had read not that long ago - Sweetshop of Dreams: well described, funny, down-to-heart as if they were real.
Well. If I was not at all...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by JR_82


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She's a great writer and this is a good read for a cold winter's day when you want to curl up and escape in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend (Kindle Edition)
As always, a feel good novel. Not a surprising ending, but that wasn't what I bought it for. A typical Jenny Colgan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great page tuner, fab characters, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend (Kindle Edition)
Great story and a good page turner, always a shame when you finish her books, leaves you wanting more. recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great girly book, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend (Kindle Edition)
Great story couldn't put it down ,lots of great twists and fab ending lived it would defo recommend to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOT ONE OF JENNY'S BEST, BUT AN INTERESTING PLOT, 22 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AN UNUSAL AND ENJOYABLE READ. NOT ONE OF JENNY'S BEST, BUT AN INTERESTING PLOT, AND SET OF CHARACTERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are a girls best friend!, 2 Nov. 2010
Great book, easy to read and a nice lighthearted story of how money doesnt make you happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute detail of the this book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jenny Colgan Could Be Another Best Friend, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
My first piece of advice is: get into reading Jenny Colgan. She has an unobvious, witty style that brings grins and giggles all the way through this book.

She's a gifted writer in a way that's not easy to spot. The story could be labelled chick-lit, holiday read, light reading, but actually it's a really life-affirming book, not something you necessarily expect from literature like this. It's the style and attitude of the author that takes this tales of money and loss into a league of its own.

The story is similar to many on the shelves in our supermarkets and airports every year. Jenny Colgan has a brilliant lightness of touch that provokes a greater depth of feeling.

It's a joyous tale of how spoilt girl Sophie loses her money and has to earn her own living. Excellently prologued by a "Now" section, it isn't until a fair way into to the book that you realise she never said who the man she shares her life with is.

That isn't overwhelmingly important, but it keeps you thinking. I loved the depiction of the student flat on the Old Kent Road - the general squalor, parties and late night talking sessions (fast food included). Womaniser Cal and quiet nice boy Eck pan out neatly as character; Carena and Philly are rich-bitch-tastic, and their end is neat, but not overplayed and much more satisfactory for that; Grace and Kelly are comic inventions par excellence: funny and quirky while not dominating the story.

There are just enough characters, it's not an overpopulated novel, it feels right. In fact, Jenny Colgan gets it right on so many levels, I can only hope that her other books are up to this standard, and I will be buying them to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun read!, 15 Aug. 2011
Good fun read as always with Jenny Colgan books. Not my fave book of hers but still worth a read for abit of light hearted entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews