Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super musical appraisal of Django
This 3CD set covers recordings from the earliest with Stephane Grappelli in 1934 through to Django Reinhardt's final sessions in 1953. The discs plot the development of a unique guitar stylist and offer a chronological review of his career. Highlights for many will be his numerous collaborations with Stephane Grapelli and these can be heard on Discs 1 & 2.Reinhardt's most...
Published on 9 July 2009 by C. FULLER

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
a very interesting cd well worth buying
Published 4 months ago by Snowy "Doc"


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super musical appraisal of Django, 9 July 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This 3CD set covers recordings from the earliest with Stephane Grappelli in 1934 through to Django Reinhardt's final sessions in 1953. The discs plot the development of a unique guitar stylist and offer a chronological review of his career. Highlights for many will be his numerous collaborations with Stephane Grapelli and these can be heard on Discs 1 & 2.Reinhardt's most popular compositions have become jazz standards and many of these are included.

His story is told in the liner notes by Patrick Mascall along with details of session personnel and years of recording. The slimline packaging and illustrations make this a handsome set. The 71 performances gathered here have been digitally remastered and the sound quality achieved is excellent. Of course the big bonus is that for a modest outlay you can now own such a substantial collection. The overall running time is approx 215 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Desert Island Discs, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
After having Django Reinhardt's work recommended to me by a musician friend of mine, I wanted to find the most comprehensive introduction I could to his work and I am thrilled to say that I have definitely found it in the form of this brilliant 3CD set. This set has, in fact, risen to become one of my all time favorite musical possessions in less than a week.
Every song is a delight and transports the listener to the European Jazz scene in a heartbeat bringing a nostalgic and brilliantly performed cheer into the ears of any music enthusiast. Fantastic songs like 'Sweet Sue', 'Sweet Georgia Brown', 'Djangology', 'Swing 42'' and 'Minor Swing' are just tip of the ice-burg of a music repertoire that will provide hours of pleasure for anyone interested in jazz and cafe music, jazz guitar and a whole host of other musical genres, techniques and styles.

Other reviewers have mentioned the set's short comings due to the limited number of songs, but as an introduction at such a cheap price it is an absolute bargain and should not to be missed. It may not technically be an 'anthology' per se, but it is a very special set whose charm is probably one of the most pleasant listening experiences of my musical life and one that I hope I can share through this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Um, could it be better?, 18 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
Yes, of course. It could be free. But we all know that's never going to happen...

Considering price, it's excellent.
Considering sound quality, it's excellent.
Etc, etc.

It's impeccable.

What's needed is a track listing online.
I can tell you it's got all of Django's classics, and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Phil Taylor (Oldham, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This 3 CD set with superb packaging is an absolute bargain and is in my mind the best collection available.

Whilst the 3rd CD has much more of an American 'bigger band' feel to it and is my least favourite of the set with Django playing electric guitar, I still thoroughly recommend it.

A great CD set which has it all and it's a 'must have' for any student of the guitar, whatever style you play.

Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
A comprehensive collection of his work from the 30's to the 50's ( I prefer the early period) an excellent re-master and unbelievable value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master class, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This is a master class of Django's catalogue spanning a career in music, its well produced, well priced an excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakening, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This anthology awoke a latent interest in REinhardt's work ,the recoerdings are superb,and I enjoyed every track.
I will certainly be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gypsy Guitar, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
This compendium of Django Reinhart is a well prepared study of the best known French musician of his day. It created a music style which is now permanently associated with the region, in a style called gypsy jazz. Django's leagcy is now an artform unique to the country, and to Europe. This is a terrific collection of works by the master at a very handsome price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master at work, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
A master at work her e- accross all his styles and periods. From solos and quintet from in accoustic settings, some vocals with same band and accross to solo electric work and full elecetric band. Chronological in sequence. Recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing fingers, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (Audio CD)
How Django Reinhardt can play like he does with two fingers missing is a miracle of the human spirit and determination. The Gypsies are a passionate and determined people and these virtues he put into his music as only genius can. My friend and neighbour is a professional musician and he fully agrees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Anthology (Amazon Edition)
The Anthology (Amazon Edition) by Django Reinhardt
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews