Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have
The Blues have influenced all modern popular music in the US, what with the influence of jazz and rock and roll etc. Is there anyone who doesn't like the Blues? With some of the greatest Blues singers of all time and some tracks sung by the original singers there is more than enough for anyone here. At the price and the number of tracks here you just can't go wrong -...
Published on 21 Sep 2009 by M. Dowden

versus
73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation but partially sourced from MP3
This is a great compilation of some of the best 50's post-Depression blues records, so there ain't any of the very early blues records included here, and no Robert Johnson, despite of beeing named on the cover. The liner notes from Michael Heatley are brief but informative.
There is one serious issue to this compilation however. I noticed some of the typical MP3...
Published on 1 Oct 2009 by Tim Graf


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 21 Sep 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Blues have influenced all modern popular music in the US, what with the influence of jazz and rock and roll etc. Is there anyone who doesn't like the Blues? With some of the greatest Blues singers of all time and some tracks sung by the original singers there is more than enough for anyone here. At the price and the number of tracks here you just can't go wrong - this is definitely one cd that you have to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blues to Choose, 2 Aug 2009
By 
P. Bayley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This anthology repeats a number of tracks ( about a dozen) that you'll find everywhere, but also has some rarer artists and songs that make it worth the ridiculously cheap price. A good ones for blues fans new and not-so-new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation but partially sourced from MP3, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Tim Graf - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great compilation of some of the best 50's post-Depression blues records, so there ain't any of the very early blues records included here, and no Robert Johnson, despite of beeing named on the cover. The liner notes from Michael Heatley are brief but informative.
There is one serious issue to this compilation however. I noticed some of the typical MP3 artefacts on one of the first tracks of CD 2 and according to a quick analysis of the waveforms at least some of the tracks from the second disc are sourced from MP3s. So be aware of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars faulty tracks, 28 July 2009
By 
very good blues compilation for the money, but I was disappointed to find out that tracks 16 and 17 on the first disc were badly distorted,I checked on a friends CD player but it did not improve.Nevertheless I still enjoyed listening to this product. W.F.WILLIAMS."blueslider" Cheshire,England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some great tunes, 4 Aug 2009
By 
B. Shpherd-ashby "treeman" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wanted a taste of old time blues and this turned out to be ideal. A few tunes I knew and many I am learning day by day. Having read Ronnie Woods autobiography I can see how much of the early Stones stuff was influenced by many blues players. Good foot tapping stuff, recomend to anyone wanting some ol' blues at good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star value, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Steve Gomersall (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is indeed essential listening at phenomenal value. Great to hear the original versions of tracks that have become well known by other artists, check out 'I Put a Spell on You' by Screamin' Jay Hawkins.....mind blowing! The sound quality is remarkably good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars various blues masters, 2 May 2011
By 
Mr. Kenneth Hurcombe "Ken.H." (Yorks.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
quality & value very good-covering some of the best & greatest blues names of all time.
The title says it all-excellent for anyone who wants to start listening to & understanding
blues music.Regarsd,KH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Belter, 20 Mar 2011
By 
D. Carmichael "DC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album for less than the price of a pint of beer, and I now feel ashamed for getting it so cheap. It is simply one of the best blues collections around, with hardly a weak track among the many featured. These are the best of the best artists and some great songs. It's a treasure trove that you can dig amongst for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so essential!, 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: Essential Blues Anthology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Calling some of these tracks "blues" seems to me stretching it a bit. But some rare tracks as well as some great blues standards. About a third of the tracks made it onto my iPod. But, hey, at this price who's complaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets your mojo workin!, 7 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great find this album was - I was looking for a couple of tracks and came across the Essential Blues Anthology which is packed with 50 tracks of great blues tracks by a range of blues men.

With everything from the ever popular standars like Every Day I Have The Blues (B.B. King) to the lesser known rockabilly blues stylings of Cool Off Baby by Billy 'Curley' Barrix this album is a treat for blues lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews