Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knock out double from Peggy
You get 150 minutes of Peggy with CD1 having the widest date range of 1941 to 1958 (who would have believed this could be on one CD and adding up to a superb Tony Watts compilation) and CD2 as I mentioned having the 12 inch Black Coffee, Decca 1956 album along with 1957's The Man I Love. Highlights and there really are too many if that's ever possible when talking about...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by C. FULLER

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars far too many miserable ballads on this compilation. i ...
far too many miserable ballads on this compilation . i wanted things are swinging , its not on here . i wanted he`s a tramp , its not on here .if you are near my house you can have it !
Published 2 months ago by david martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knock out double from Peggy, 30 Mar 2009
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
You get 150 minutes of Peggy with CD1 having the widest date range of 1941 to 1958 (who would have believed this could be on one CD and adding up to a superb Tony Watts compilation) and CD2 as I mentioned having the 12 inch Black Coffee, Decca 1956 album along with 1957's The Man I Love. Highlights and there really are too many if that's ever possible when talking about "The Queen" as Duke Ellington put it come fast as the opening song "Fever" is the 1958 recording quickly followed up with 1956's Mr Wonderful and the third stop is the stampeding "Lover" dating from 1952. And things carry on with Peggy's finest and most memorable of recordings currently in the public domain. The sound quality is excellent and with such a wide range of source material that is really something to achieve. CD2 is a knock out both for performance and sound quality so if you are looking to replace these classic albums than here is your chance and with the bonus of The Greatest Hits on CD1. The packaging is stunning and the liner notes by Michael Heatley set the scene for a performer never to be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Legend;Pure Quality, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
With her smooth soft silky tones and wonderful interpretations of American jazz and popular music, every CD collection should have this CD. Peggy is an icon and was and is an inspiration to many successful female artists past and present. She was a very talented performer and song writer who mesmerised audiences without having to scream and shout like many of todays female singing stars. QUALITY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREAT PEGGY LEE, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
If you like this lady's work then you will love this album. It's a good value album but I do think that Big Spender and Hallelujah I Love Him So could have been included also a few tracks from Latin a la Lee could have been put in at the expense of some of the lesser known tracks. However this is great value for money and good quality recordings. Well Done Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Pot pourri (Epping, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this as a tree present for my daughter knowing she enjoyed Ella Fitzgerald and that probably Peggy Lee was unknown to her. Fortunately proved a hit with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific remaster, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Ian Barker (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Peggy Lee is one of the most distinctive interpreters of the great American songbook.

This two CD set is packed with old favourites and some lesser known tracks too. The crystal clear vocals will have the hair standing up on the back of your neck at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peggy Lee Greatest Hits., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
From Black Coffee to Fever and other all time hits, this album is one of the best of Peggy Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A truly amazing and beautiful voice. How nice to be able to hear and understand every word sung. Not like that today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you love Peggy Lee you will love this CD. Beautiful songs to beautiful music. Bought this for my Daughter who has just bought a house on a hill - so of course the Folks Who Live On the Hill track fitted perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I do recommend Peggy Lee CD, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I can warmly recommend this DC, Peggy Lee better than ever. There was a crack on the box though, the plastic one.
Rita Bredefeldt, Sweden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What More Can I Say?, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's Peggy Lee, what more can I say? Simply wonderful recordings. A couple of nice duets with Trudy Stevens and Mel Torme, and as Duke Ellington states in the sleeve notes, 'If I'm the Duke then Peggy is the Queen'. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews