Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFYING BEYOND BELIEF!!!!
I have just sat through what's without doubt the most terrifying and draining ordeal of my life. A dramatisation of a true story - backed up by video evidence used throughout the film, 'The Fourth Kind' is a disturbing account of multiple alien abductions.

I wish I could unwatch this film - but like the sheriff in it said: 'Its hard to cross back over the line...
Published on 28 Mar 2011 by The Truth

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching with the lights out ...
The Fourth Kind is a creepy film that will certainly result in some viewers having a restless night (particularly around 3.33 am)! So from that perspective the film is a success - it leaves the audience feeling unsettled, disturbed, possibly even scared. Three stars so for being a proficient addition to the niche.

The plot follows psychologist Dr. Abigail...
Published on 18 April 2010 by J. Fryar


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough but flawed, 29 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
First of all let me say that this is not a true story, nor is the 'never-before-seen archival footage' actual genuine footage. This is a fictional recreation of a phenomenon that may or may not have a basis in truth. So there.

As a piece of entertainment this film is really quite good. There's a fair bit of suspense, one very big jump-out-of-your-skin moment, some interesting ideas and a general air of creepiness throughout. The so-called 'archive' footage generally works well within the context of the film...with one exception.

This is the fatal flaw. The Chapman University video-taped interview of Dr Tyler, which permeates the entire film and is pivotal to the plot, is simply dreadful. The acting and makeup are completely amateurish and it becomes all rather embarrassing. It's a shame really because, if you took out this part of the footage and replaced it with say Milla Jovovich's own narration you'd improve the film 100%.

Worth a look anyway, just don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effectively creepy, 15 Mar 2010
By 
I Am Tyler Durden (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I found this to pretty effective. Few movies actually scare me, plenty can make you jump but it's a rare thing to actually feel fear and even then it's a subjective thing. I would say the climax of the original Japanese "Ring" got to me and so did "The Mothman Prophecies" also featuring Will Patton by coincidence. CGI monsters don't do anything for me, the reason why this scared me is because I have a friend who claims straight faced to have been the subject of alien abduction (I kid you not) so in the back of my mind is always the thought that this is something truely terrifying which could actually happen. So the early parts of this film with its hypnotic regressions actually made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck and made me jump big time. Towards the end though it all got a bit X-Files and lost its punch and believability, so it loses a star for that. Even so, it was stylishly done, very effective 5.1 sound mix, well shot and for the most part well acted. Don't expect loads of effects like "Fire In The Sky" it aims for a more enigmatic verité style of Blair Witch shaky cam / damaged footage kind of thing. Watch it late at night with the lights out and the sound up loud and treat it like a ghost train ride and it might work for you. And watch out for the owl outside your window!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Makes you think that there must be some truth somewhere as to all that goes on ... pays to keep an open mind.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Turkey!, 25 April 2010
Avoid this film it is a total turkey. I don't' want to compare it an X-files episode because that would be an insult to the X -files. The movie is tedious and not worth bothering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOLY COW !!!!! ....GET READY FOR A LIFT OFF ... FROM YOUR SOFA THAT IS, 20 May 2012
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
(THE FILM)
There are four kinds of alien encounters. The fourth kind is abduction. In remote Alaska, citizens have been mysteriously vanishing since the 1960s. Despite multiple FBI investigations, the truth behind the phenomena had never been discovered... until now. While videotaping therapy sessions with traumatized patients, psychologist Dr. Abigail Tyler (Milla Jovovich - Resident Evil) unwittingly exposes terrifying revelations of multiple victims whose claims of being visited by alien figures all share disturbingly identical details. Based on actual case studies, The Fourth Kind uses Dr. Tyler's never-before-seen archival footage alongside dramatic reenactments to present some of the most disturbing evidence ever documented in this provocative sci-fi thriller.
WHAT CAN I SAY?
This film did not disappoint! Clever use of switching between the documentary, film footage and 'case study' It has Real edge of the seat moments through out.and it leaves you feeling freaked out afterwards. Milla Jovovich, as usual, pulls off an amazing performance, with a good supporting cast. Will Patton(The Postman)and Elias Koteas(Crash )
one thing left to say (be warned)?.
IT IS Surprising,
IT IS Original,
IT IS Scary,
IT IS Entertaining.
IT IS Unsettling
IT IS Creepy
It's not for the faint of heart.
IT IS IN all seriousness, A remarkably well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eye-opener, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
if you were ever undecided about alien abduction WATCH THIS .very cleverly put together using real live footage in split screen with actors ( Mila Jovovich, brilliant as ever ) and will patton it tells the story of people being possessed by some kind of entity ,claiming that they where takin from their beds during the night and not being believed i am not easily scared but i jumped a few times during this movie. excellent movie and at that price you wont get very often well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fourth Kind, 7 Sep 2010
The Fourth Kind is Amazing & terrifying at the same time.
It really makes you wonder what if!!!
product link :- The Fourth Kind [Blu-ray] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting movie,makes you wonder is there anybody out there, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
very interesting movie makes you wonder if ther is other species out there.personaly i think yes there is i,m not that selfish to think we are all alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strangely watchable, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I heard about this film, and thought I would give it a chance.

I must admit, it is genuinely creepy and I love the split screen effect where we see the real people - and the video taped evidence - being played right before our eyes.

I cannot make up my mind that this is a ufo abduction, but if it is really just mass hysteria that is playing before us - it certainly sends a shiver down your spine.

The film's direction is really very average - average performances, shots, sets etc.

However, it is the real life footage that gives the film its edge. These washed out, strangely out of focus videotapes are really creepy to watch, as is the real person the film is based on - her wide eyes, frayed looking features really convice you that something very strange was going on. What? We will never really know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009)
The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) by Olatunde Osunsanmi (DVD - 2010)
4.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews