Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE ?
Well....the film portray's actual events that were alleged to have happened in an Alaska'n town during '2000'
It uses actual footage of interviews and of sessions with the victims when under hypnosis.
The main character is played by 'Milla Jovoich' as 'Abbey Tyler'often in parallel with the main subject of the films story-line.
I have to say the film leaves...
Published 9 months ago by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'

versus
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching with the lights out ...
The Fourth Kind is a creepy film that will certainly result in some viewers having a restless night (particularly around 3.33 am)! So from that perspective the film is a success - it leaves the audience feeling unsettled, disturbed, possibly even scared. Three stars so for being a proficient addition to the niche.

The plot follows psychologist Dr. Abigail...
Published on 18 April 2010 by J. Fryar


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their here, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
the true storie of a family who has aliens abducting them for experiments,and the aliens talk myan,an ancient Aztec language,actors help fill in the upsetting parts of the film,.....................very interesting,i well recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad....but not great either,, 27 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
The fourth kind is a scifi thriller about a pyscologist in Nome Alaska, Dr Abigal Tyler who is investigating alien abduction theories. Severel of her patients share similar stories of being abducted.
The movie uses ''real footage'' shown alongside some scenes involving her patients, and her own, re-account of thier abduction experiences.

This i found to be realy cleaver as i had never scene this technique before.

However, after seeing this movie i later found out it was totally fake...that the ''real'' footage was staged.
This was quite dissapointing as i actually believed the movie was true.

But still...overall a good movie with excellent acting and great cast.
3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the fourth kind dvd, 23 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
After reading all the reviews about the DVD The Fourth Kind I bought it and I had to wait and wait for it to pick up... it never did and suddenly it was all over. The end was the actual film where it says what happened to the various people involved.
If you intend buying this, don't, instead buy one which has well known actors, at they will support a weak story.
All in all a total waste of time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie worth watching, 8 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
If you are one of those people who does not get scared very easily, this is the movie for you. Whether you believe in aliens or not doesn't matter, because this movie really adds a creepy realistic touch to the story. The delivery was on time and well packaged. I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did =)

SPOILER

Don't read the following if you have yet to watch this movie

Do some research online and you will find that the supposed "Real Footage" is actually all fake; paid actors. The only true thing about this movie is the town, and the fact that around 20 people have disappeared over the last 40 years, and 9 of the bodies were never found. Nevertheless I liked the movie!! It was still scary :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Almost but not quite., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Spoiler Alert
------------------
Some frightening scenes in this film. Really spine chilling. However, the film failed to execute its cunning plan at the most critical moments. In order for the film to work, you need to believe (or at least want to believe) that the university interviews are real. Unfortunately, it's far too obvious that they're scripted, yanking you out of the suspension of disbelief bubble.

It was still a good movie though and it was great to see them trying something different with the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 15 April 2013
By 
A. H. Cowley "Alex H Cowley" (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gimmicky rubbish which pulls all its punchs. A criminal waste of the tallents of its leading lady, Milla Yovovich. Alternating the recreation of events with interviews of the "real life" participants fatally undermines the film. Without a doubt, the worst alien abduction movie I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous movie, 16 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I found this movie totally ridiculous. It merges "real" footage with re-enacted scenes, and I give 2 stars for Milla' s performance and presence. Otherwise I don t go for this story at all, with the so-called paranormal "real footage" as usual suitably scrambled when anything seems to happen. In my view this is totally phony and it failed to convince me of anything.
Otherwise it is one in a million semi horror-scifi movie, nothing special about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars alien believers will love this film!, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
My husband loved this film but it gave me a few nightmares! Lol! A bit of a weird film but cleverly done as real footage is played next to the actors take on it. What you end up thinking or believing at the end is up to you! Certainly sparks a discussion at the end of it for both sides of the argument. Great film for alien believers to get into, not so much for the rest of us unbelievers! However the facts are there so who knows!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the point of a fake documentary?, 30 Jun. 2013
I received this disc in error from Lovefilm and decided to watch it anyway before I sent it back. That was my first mistake. The film is split between reconstructions, starring Milla Jovovich and Will Patton, and 'archive footage.' Why the quotes? Because the whole lot was shot in Bulgaria. There is no archive footage. It didn't take much googling to find the website of the actress who plays the `real' Abigail Tyler, looking a lot less haggard (but still very recogniseable) in her glossy publicity stills. Nome, Alaska doesn't even have an abnormally high missing person rate.

So this is a fictional story that has saddled itself all the limitations of a documentary. Where something like the Blair Witch Project exploited the set up for story telling purposes, this film focuses on trying to get you to believe that what you are watching could have happened. The problem is that it's less convincing than the average X-files episode, and the big reveal is a cross between the plots of Dean Koontz's Phantoms and the movie Stargate. In the end all we see are shadows on walls, owls staring through windows, lights going out, and people who have seizures and scream while sinister voices talk sci-fi nonsense. There are no great secrets revealed, no truths explained.

But maybe I'm missing the point. Perhaps the purpose of this unprovable conspiracy theory stuff is to give everyone that ghost-stories-round-the-campfire thrill? It worked on me (I'm embarrassed to admit) even sending me out on the internet to confirm that it was a fake. But some of the reviews here have me worried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh My God, What have I just watched, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Scared the pants off me and had an unsettled night, can't think why. This is piece of work is based on recorded facts which makes it more frightening than ever
I wish I had watched it in the afternoon and not at night, still can't believe I have never heard of this film before, it really is quite menacing to say the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009)
The Fourth Kind [DVD] (2009) by Olatunde Osunsanmi (DVD - 2010)
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews