Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value CD for 50s and 60s Cuban music
At £3.50 for 50 classic tracks it's impossible to find a better value and broader introduction to the golden days of Cuban music. The choice of artists is excellent and many styles are represented here. Play some of the the MP3 samples on Amazon Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) if you are not sure and I think you'll buy it straight away.

Please don't...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by Cuban Music Fan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad sound
Old style mono recordings,quality awful,bought as a present,husband hates it!
Published 4 months ago by ewebster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value CD for 50s and 60s Cuban music, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Cuban Music Fan (London and Havana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At £3.50 for 50 classic tracks it's impossible to find a better value and broader introduction to the golden days of Cuban music. The choice of artists is excellent and many styles are represented here. Play some of the the MP3 samples on Amazon Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) if you are not sure and I think you'll buy it straight away.

Please don't forget this is music from an earlier era and not some tacky, synthesiser-filled, hi-tech salsa recorded recently. Don't expect modern recording standards to apply. This music has real class and you could listen to it or play it as background music according to your mood.

Be careful - you may get hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, 10 Jan. 2010
You couldn't make the wrong choice in buying this album if you love the authentic sound of Cuba. This is an album recorded without any synthesizers, which gives it this authentic sound.
My favourite songs are definitely "El Yayabo", "Me Diras Que Sabroso", El Platanal De Bartolo", "Suena Tu Bongo", "Bodas De Oro", "Eso Se Hincha", "Tabelen", "Ven Bernabe", "Francisco Guayabal", "Toque Oyo", "Merengues, No" and "Mambo Nr.5".
A very good mix of Salsa, Mambo, Cha Cha Cha and even Rumba. An album full of the best and most widely known Salsa music componists. Most of the songs are quite old, but they haven't lost any of their sound and sparkle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Cuban Antology, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
Mrs. Rylla Dragan "Rylla Dragan" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is absolutely excellent, just like all the others I purchased. It certainly takes me back to the streets of Havana with its mesmerizing magic and sounds of the bongo and other cuban musical instruments. It is highly recommended to new listeners of Cuban music. It is such a pity it has taken so long to discover this magic and re-create the genius of these old timers. Thanks to the American guy who had such a good taste in quality music and faith in those who brought this wonder back to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it thank you, started Salsa dancing & want to start a collection and will probably buy more as i go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad sound, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Old style mono recordings,quality awful,bought as a present,husband hates it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful production quality, 13 May 2011
By 
Alan Hill (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic artists, a terrific collection, great price, but the quality of these so called digitally remastered recordings was so poor that I could only manage three tracks before ejecting the disc. There is no note in the description describing these as sub-standard or archive recordings so back to Amazon the disc boldly went, toute de suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Cuban Album, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing to displease me on this double album of well known and more obscure Cuban music. The rhythms just get to you and flavours of Havana, Cienfuegos, Camaguay and Santiago de Cuba flow freely as the melodies go on and on.
Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Fabulous collection of Cuban music. And lots of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Pickles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sure the recording quality is a little poor and it is definitely of the era. Live band live singers and I guess most tracks recorded in one take. Pity I missed the live version!
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sit back and chill!, 12 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Love this album. Great if you have friends around for dinner.just put it on and it lasts all evening.Brill background music with a chilled out cuban beat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews