Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good album
You couldn't make the wrong choice in buying this album if you love the authentic sound of Cuba. This is an album recorded without any synthesizers, which gives it this authentic sound.
My favourite songs are definitely "El Yayabo", "Me Diras Que Sabroso", El Platanal De Bartolo", "Suena Tu Bongo", "Bodas De Oro", "Eso Se Hincha", "Tabelen", "Ven Bernabe", "Francisco...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by Jéssica Cécile

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful production quality
Fantastic artists, a terrific collection, great price, but the quality of these so called digitally remastered recordings was so poor that I could only manage three tracks before ejecting the disc. There is no note in the description describing these as sub-standard or archive recordings so back to Amazon the disc boldly went, toute de suite.
Published on 13 May 2011 by Alan Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, 10 Jan 2010
You couldn't make the wrong choice in buying this album if you love the authentic sound of Cuba. This is an album recorded without any synthesizers, which gives it this authentic sound.
My favourite songs are definitely "El Yayabo", "Me Diras Que Sabroso", El Platanal De Bartolo", "Suena Tu Bongo", "Bodas De Oro", "Eso Se Hincha", "Tabelen", "Ven Bernabe", "Francisco Guayabal", "Toque Oyo", "Merengues, No" and "Mambo Nr.5".
A very good mix of Salsa, Mambo, Cha Cha Cha and even Rumba. An album full of the best and most widely known Salsa music componists. Most of the songs are quite old, but they haven't lost any of their sound and sparkle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value CD for 50s and 60s Cuban music, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Cuban Music Fan (London and Havana) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At £3.50 for 50 classic tracks it's impossible to find a better value and broader introduction to the golden days of Cuban music. The choice of artists is excellent and many styles are represented here. Play some of the the MP3 samples on Amazon Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) if you are not sure and I think you'll buy it straight away.

Please don't forget this is music from an earlier era and not some tacky, synthesiser-filled, hi-tech salsa recorded recently. Don't expect modern recording standards to apply. This music has real class and you could listen to it or play it as background music according to your mood.

Be careful - you may get hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Cuban Antology, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. Rylla Dragan "Rylla Dragan" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album is absolutely excellent, just like all the others I purchased. It certainly takes me back to the streets of Havana with its mesmerizing magic and sounds of the bongo and other cuban musical instruments. It is highly recommended to new listeners of Cuban music. It is such a pity it has taken so long to discover this magic and re-create the genius of these old timers. Thanks to the American guy who had such a good taste in quality music and faith in those who brought this wonder back to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful production quality, 13 May 2011
By 
Alan Hill (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic artists, a terrific collection, great price, but the quality of these so called digitally remastered recordings was so poor that I could only manage three tracks before ejecting the disc. There is no note in the description describing these as sub-standard or archive recordings so back to Amazon the disc boldly went, toute de suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it thank you, started Salsa dancing & want to start a collection and will probably buy more as i go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Pickles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sure the recording quality is a little poor and it is definitely of the era. Live band live singers and I guess most tracks recorded in one take. Pity I missed the live version!
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sit back and chill!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Love this album. Great if you have friends around for dinner.just put it on and it lasts all evening.Brill background music with a chilled out cuban beat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of sunshine, 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: Essential Cuban Anthology (Amazon Edition) (MP3 Download)
Wipe away winter blues with this excellent compilation. For sound buffs, yes, some tracks sound dated, but for pure joy, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars To get us in the mood for our holiday to Cuba, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this double CD a friend lent me a copy so bought one for myself. It arrived very promptly so we could get in the mood for our holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Cuban Music, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On my list of regularly played CDs. Very enjoyable although some of it is rather dated but great all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews