Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver Bells, Golden Stars
Just when I thought a nostalgic Christmas was over I came across this super 2 CD set from NotNow. The set boasts 50 songs and a whole host of well known stars too. It is good to have a mix of both American and British stars represented and there are even duets.
This is a welcome addition to the Christmas titles offering something just a little different and with...
Published on 6 Jan 2008 by C. FULLER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
not a bad CD not very upbeat to get you in the mood but its great a for a relaxing christmas.
I did however find it perfect to have on in the background while we were having our dinner.
Published on 29 July 2011 by laura edinburgh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver Bells, Golden Stars, 6 Jan 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
Just when I thought a nostalgic Christmas was over I came across this super 2 CD set from NotNow. The set boasts 50 songs and a whole host of well known stars too. It is good to have a mix of both American and British stars represented and there are even duets.
This is a welcome addition to the Christmas titles offering something just a little different and with Eartha Kitt, David Whitfield, Dickie Valentine, Bing, Dick, Frank, Perry, Nat, Ella, Peggy and Judy to serenade you whilst you cook that traditional roast turkey what more could you ask for?
Favourite songs for me are "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"; "Silver Bells"; "Santa Claus got Stuck in My Chimney" and the traditional carols.
Good sound throughout and attractive packaging make this a great gift too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRADITIONAL TREASURES, 3 Dec 2009
By 
John P. Pripusich "Jack P." (Glen Ellyn, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
I recently purchased this excellent collection. Here's the scoop on this 2 CD set: These are very, very good sounding presentations of mainly classic Holiday songs from around 1949 or 1950! That's what makes this really special. Of course, for the most part, the songs are not in stereo...That's actually GOOD NEWS (electronically rechanneled stereo (simulated stereo) tends to sound fakey and unatural...so, BRAVO!---Back to original mono!)If it ain't in stereo in the first place, don't mess with it! But by all means, make the sound as clean and bright as possible. That's what they've done.

A lot of love went into the packaging and preparation of these wonderful Holiday moments on CD. When you hear Bing do "White Christmas" on this set, it's THE classic version, and sounds just like his billion-selling Christmas LP has all these years. And the great Nat King Cole's "Christmas Song" sounds wonderful. Now, it's not the more recent stereo version you are likely to hear on other collections or the radio. But, that's actually the point. The stereo version is not the original version! The original pre-dated stereo! What's in here very possibly IS the original version...It's like his Rookie Card!

So, here's the deal..I rate this collection 5 stars because it sucessfully combines classic singing greats (Frank, Bing, Nat, Judy, etc.)and lots of blue-chip players from 1950 or so in about as high-quality sound as you could EVER expect on a CD. Then there are some really interesting and seldom heard Christmas tunes...nice to make a few new Yuletide friends...plus Perry Como, Ella, and other great stars come along for the sleigh ride. That reminds me..."Sleigh Ride" is a really early version by Anderson...perhaps THE original...You'll get a kick out of the slight variation on the one you usually hear.

The packaging on this collection is first rate...This is NOT a cheapie, folks! This is a MAJOR bargain and a chance to fill Santa's sack with rare gold from the greats! 50 Songs!!! The excellent sound-quality will thrill anyone on your gift list who is into Christmas classics. These songs are timeless, like Christmas itself. Happy Holidays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful celebration of Christmas!, 22 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
I love this CD! It arrived today and it really is gorgeous - Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Eartha Kitt, Judy Garland and Doris Day.......what more could you ask for? It's really nice to listen to the original songs/arrangements and I can't help smiling just listening to it (maybe dancing around the living room too but don't tell anyone I said that!).

I can safely say that for me, having this on in the background will make cooking the Christmas dinner all the more enjoyable - whether my other half will say the same thing is a different matter!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value - ever!, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
This must be the Christmas music bargain of the year. All the great songs are here yet it is cheap enough to warrant the short period we tend to listen to such music. Well done Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic sounds of Christmas, 4 Feb 2009
By 
S. Brough "Tiny bob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this ablum for Christmas 08 and loved it, as did everyone who visited. It's got some excellent classic tracks that epitomise Christmas and they are an antidote to the Slade era songs which we seem to hear the rest of the time.
Cool tunes that make a wonderful chrsitmas atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exellent, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Barry "sue barry" (nr heathrow airport uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
i cant believe all the brilliant singers and songs will have a great xmas playing this so many tracks and an all time fav well worth the buy have ordered one for a friend thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
not a bad CD not very upbeat to get you in the mood but its great a for a relaxing christmas.
I did however find it perfect to have on in the background while we were having our dinner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
Excellent value for money. All the Christmas music that you would expect. Well worth having, it creates a very traditional Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unspoiled, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
Original recordings that have not been messed about with, dating from 1941 to 1956 with a concentration in the late forties and early fifties. If this is the kind of music you are looking for, you cannot go wrong. Quite a lot of well-known standards in their original versions, and also quite a lot of rarities. Excellent factual information in the insert without any woolly hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent selection, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Hits (Audio CD)
Most of the songs are great and it has all of the key ones that ought to be in this kind of selection. We bought it because of the "golden oldies" from the US and we are very pleased with it. Just a couple of annoying ones we usually skip over, but you'll find these in any such collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Hits (Amazon Edition)
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews