Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable
First listened to this album when I was 15 (now 41). I have since listened to thousands of hours of music in other genres and wondered if this album would still have the same powerful effect on me that it did all those years ago. Needless to say it did. There are only a few records this statement applies to: you must have this in your music collection.
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by MR

versus
40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Six stars for the music and only two for this package
I simply could have not resist the temptation to buy yet another edition of Jimi Hendrix Experience first album, newly repackaged by Sony Music. What a disappointment. Not the music, of course.

Are You Experienced is no doubt one of the most important albums in rock history. In 1967 the music and sounds on LP might have as well come from another planet or...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by bing


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Jimi, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. B. ASHTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great package of a great album. It has everything you could possibly, want I imagine there will be version with five discs but this hits all the right buttons for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs. Patricia Sharp "tadpole" (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars N0T AGAIN!, 1 April 2010
By 
Martin Lane "smersh" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A POINTLESS REISSUE BY E.E.L. SORRY BUT DVD BREAKDOWN OF THE TRACKS JUST IS NOT ENOUGH TO JUSTIFY THIS AND THE OTHER ITEMS IN THE CATALOGUE, BUT I SUPPOSE UNVERSAL MUSIC WHO NOW HAVE DISTRIBUTION FOR THE HENDRIX ALBUMS HAVE TO TRY AND MAKE THEIR MONEY SOMEWHERE. COULD WE NOT HAVE HAD THE MONO VERSIONS INSTEAD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hendrix at his best, 15 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
This is the best Jimi Hendrix album there is in my opinion, it has some of the best songs he ever released, including "red house", "hey joe" & "purple haze", and the brilliant "manic depression" & "love or confusion", there are no better Hendrix albums than this, it is definately Hendix at his best, this album is a must for any Hendrix fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth to Hendrix: Come back, come back...., 14 Feb 2007
By 
Wilf (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Well, there's very little I can say that you haven't already heard from my fellow reviewers, but this bandwagon deserves jumping on.

What a smashing debut from a band with no history together. Having said that of course, musically speaking, Jimi had already walked a long hard road and arrived in England with many songs he was itching to give sound to. Much of this album reflects Jimi's experience and maturity, a couple of brilliant examples being Red House, which has become a blues standard, and Are You Experienced, which is an absolutely mesmerising number with one of his most beautiful (though fairly brief) solos.

If you are new to Jimi's music (is there anyone in the Western Hemisphere who hasn't heard Purple Haze?), or are an Experience fan already (congratulations), but haven't already got this album (how the hell have you missed it?), then I recommend that you buy it.

PS. Note to Experienced fans: if you haven't yet discovered Jimi's post-Experience work (when he hooked up again with an old army buddy -Billy Cox- on bass), then I URGENTLY suggest that you do. You're in for a treat - esp. Woodstock, Band Of Gypsys and Rainbow Bridge concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Must Have' Hendrix Album, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Arrived promptly. Good price. Good quality. If you are a Hendrix 'fan' then this really is a 'Must Have' album!! Great tracks that you don't necessarily find elsewhere. Really love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Experienced, 30 May 2003
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
The album that launched The Jimi Hendrix Experience in 1967. I think Axis Bold As Love and Electric Ladyland are much better but this is, in the main, fantastic nonetheless.
The highly slinky Foxy Lady and the rumbustious Manic Depression get things off to a great start leading to the excellent, power blues Red House.
Can You See Me is another excellent pop song with some fine drumming from Mitch Mitchell.
The following Love Or Confusion is not a favourite however, despite some fairly impressive guitar noodlings from The Man. I Dont Live Today too is not one of Jimi's best either, in fact its downright poor.
May This Be Love is basically a "trippy" ballad which almost comes off but there are a few uncomortable moments. Fire is a great early Hendrix rocker with punchy vocals and drumming. Third Stone From The Sun is a bit of a weird journey with some neat bits along the way. Clearly a forerunner of the brilliant 1983, A Merman I Shall Turn To Be on Electric Landlady.
The almost catchy Remember comes next but again is not one of the most memorable. The closing Are You Experienced opens with typical saw like guitar sounds but the music is let down by a rather poor, almost absent, vocal tune.
The six bonus tracks are all top quality. The guitar break on Highway Chile is just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Experienced Jimi Hendrix vinyl, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a completist I asked for this classic album for Xmas. I already had other formats on cd etc but wanted the one with the original cover. It arrived in 48 hours. Well packaged. I have not opened it yet as it is a present but I have every confidence that it is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Are You Experienced
Are You Experienced by The Jimi Hendrix Experience
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews