Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable
First listened to this album when I was 15 (now 41). I have since listened to thousands of hours of music in other genres and wondered if this album would still have the same powerful effect on me that it did all those years ago. Needless to say it did. There are only a few records this statement applies to: you must have this in your music collection.
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by MR

versus
35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Six stars for the music and only two for this package
I simply could have not resist the temptation to buy yet another edition of Jimi Hendrix Experience first album, newly repackaged by Sony Music. What a disappointment. Not the music, of course.

Are You Experienced is no doubt one of the most important albums in rock history. In 1967 the music and sounds on LP might have as well come from another planet or...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by bing


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (MP3 Download)
First listened to this album when I was 15 (now 41). I have since listened to thousands of hours of music in other genres and wondered if this album would still have the same powerful effect on me that it did all those years ago. Needless to say it did. There are only a few records this statement applies to: you must have this in your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Stars!, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
A truly stunning album, easily one of the best first efforts by any group, any time.

There's not much to be said apart from that, but the musicianship and songs are marvellous. Mitch's drumming is superb throughout and Noel's under-rated bass playing is solid but inventive.

Hendrix never really surpassed this in terms of its freshness and general impact, although he steadily grew as a musician after its release. The variety on the album is unsurpassed, except by The Beatles: jazz (Third Stone from the Sun); blues (Red House); R&B soul (Fire, Remember), even a hard rock waltz (Manic Depression) and a surf song (May This Be Love).

There are two re-issues of this album around. The best has the original UK running order, starting with Foxy Lady, and the six bonus tracks (Hey Joe, Purple Haze, etc) at the end of the CD. It also has the original UK cover, which is a bit daggy.

The other issue has the US running order, which has Purple Haze as its first track, and then the six bonus tracks (Red House, Can You See Me, etc) at the end. This has the 'fish eye' cover, which is more suited to the music.

You get the same songs, but the UK issue has the running order as Hendrix intended. Both versions have the same sound, remastered by Eddie Kramer, Jimi's original engineer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May This Be Love?, 20 Sep 2003
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
With a debut album of this caliber, it blew to peices the first workings of the other great guitarists of the time. This album infact is so good, that its songs such as Foxy Lady, Purple Haze, Hey Joe, Fire, Red House, Are You Experienced and The Wind Crys Mary are some of the most commonly assosiated to Jimi Hendrix, despite his fairly large catalogue of guitar-excellence. The album as a whole has a love at first sight appeal which intensifies every listen. The album itself is mixed very well; each song flows perfectly to the next. Intrestingly, the album is full of mixed styles of music from the blues of Red House and his own style of blues, Manic Depression, to unique psychedelic experimentation of Are You Experienced and Third Stone From The Sun to funky rock with Purple Haze and Fire. Giving all this, one would expect the feel of the album to change drastically as it progressed. This is not the case, for the album feels as one perfect blend culminating to become one of the finest listening experiences you shall ever have. This perfectly crafted album shall not dissapoint and is an essential album to be placed in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Six stars for the music and only two for this package, 7 Nov 2010
I simply could have not resist the temptation to buy yet another edition of Jimi Hendrix Experience first album, newly repackaged by Sony Music. What a disappointment. Not the music, of course.

Are You Experienced is no doubt one of the most important albums in rock history. In 1967 the music and sounds on LP might have as well come from another planet or dimension.

It is the quality of sound and production of new edition I find unsatisfactory.

The "new" remastered edition sounds exactly the same as the MCA "Experience Hendrix" edition from 1997. Even the booklet is more or less the same, with only minor amendments in text and outlay.

The sound of this edition from 1997 (or 2010 if you want), though remastered by original engineer Eddie Kramer, is in my firm belief notably inferior to the previous Polydor remaster edition from 1993. The 1993 remaster simply sounds clearer and more balanced with less distortion (and I am not talking about Jimi's interventions, of course). The new edition even seems to contain production faults (like for example a strange change in the color of the sound in the last 12 seconds of the Red House).

Moreover, 1993 edition booklet contained great background stories and explanations of each of the album tracks by Jimi, Noel, Mitch and Chas which is sadly absent from the newer editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2LP Back to Black Gatefold, 28 Mar 2009
By 
J. Jackson "jj" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK this seems to be digital sourced, but sounds good enough. The good thing about this vinyl set is it cover's both the UK & USA original release of this album, hence the double LP containing all tracks not available on both sides of the atlantic at the time. Amazons product description isn't correct as this is 2 LP's not one disc. The album cover shown is the USA release I believe. Nice edition with gatefold good artwork and clear sleeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi NEVER died; not REALLY!, 5 May 2014
By 
"T=H=E --- 'Older Than Dirt' --- Time Tra... (A "Yank" in Germany doing reviews in Britain and America.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
BRIEFLY:
My car has a single CD-player.
Nothing gets better than Jimi Hendrix songs, under 3.5-minutes.
I have several SINGLE DISC HENDRIX Best-Ofs.
I have British/German/Japanese/U.S. collections.
The track-sequences are different, often, long songs're dropped...
the material is CLASSIC [late] '60s!
_____________________________________
Track list for THIS 2010 "Made in EU" release:
1==> FOXY LADY
2==> MANIC DEPRESSION
3==> RED HOUSE
4==> CAN YOU SEE ME?
5==> LOVE OR CONFUSSION
6==> I DON'T LIVE TODAY
7==> MAY THIS BE LOVE
8==> FIRE
9==> 3rd STONE FROM THE SUN
10=> REMEMBER
11=> ARE YOU EXPERIENCED?
12=> HEY JOE
13=> STONE FREE
14=> PURPLE HAZE
15=> 51st ANNIVERSARY
16=> THE WIND CRIES MARY
17=> HIGHWAY CHILE
_____________________________________

I purchased THIS collection to replace an A=M=E=R=I=C=A=N title:
Experience Hendrix: The Best of Jimi Hendrix, which has 20
songs, but, in THE FOLLOWING order:
1 =#14, from above CD
2 =# 8, " " " " " " "
3 =#16, " " " " " " "
4 =#12, " " " " " " "
5 = All Along The Watchtower ...... (a Bob Dylan cover)
6 =#13, from above
7 = Crosstown Traffic ...... {I'll miss this snappy 2:19 minute song!}
8 =# 2, from above CD
9 = Little Wing ...... {no loss to ME.}
10= If 6 was 9 ...... {will miss this one.}
11=# 1, from above CD
12= Bold As Love ...... {I can do without it.}
13= Castles Made of Sand ...... {too slow for MY tastes}
14= Red House ...... {won't miss the bluesy-hooker}
15= Voodoo Child (Slight Return) ...... {it's okay}
16= Freedom ...... {non-commital}
17= Night Bird Flying ......{I'll pass!}
18= Angel ...... {nope!}
19= Dolly Dagger {too long for ME}
20= Star Spangled Banner {unforgettable to Army veterans[such as Jimi and me]}

.

.

By the way, when you get ANY Greatest Hits; Best ofs, it's VERY subjective.
Seven (7) of the songs ARE on b-o-t-h collections. While I DO prefer those
seven (7) songs, I W=I=L=L miss
"If 6 Was 9"[5:42-minutes] and "Crosstown Traffic"

.

.

I've said it once, I'll say it twice "I love ANY Hendrix song under three-and-a-half-minutes long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First and Freshest Album From Guitar Legend, 31 Aug 2001
By 
Dave Gartland (Bouteilles St Sebastien, Dordogne France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
This re-packaging of the Experience's first studio album finally amalgamates all the tracks from the original UK and US 1967 releases, the bonus for those who previously owned only the UK version being the inclusion of six additional tracks previously released only as singles.
Veering from ouright psychadelia (the title track and Third Stone From The Sun for example) to straightforward blues (Red House) and in the meantime taking in some "finger clicking" pop (Remember), this is Hendrix at the peak of his creative ability. The guitarist was still in his "eager to please" phase thus allowing producer Chas Chandler to do a superb job of complementing Hendrix's explosive talent and personality whilst at the same time reigning-in the self indulgence and "noodling" which crept into his later work towards the end of his life. One star deducted for the absolutely rotten re-mix of Purple Haze which sets the guitar in the left channel and the vocal in the right giving the song a strange disembodied feel....then again, one should remember it was originally released in mono!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, uneven sound, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Torben Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
Jimi Hendrix' first album needs no further introduction. It's a classic.

With tracks like 'Foxey Lady', 'Are You Experienced?' and - on my edition - 'Purple Haze' and 'Hey Joe', this album almost works as a compilation of some of Hendrix' most famous songs. But there are other gems here, especially the beautiful 'May This Be Love'.

The sound across the album is fairly uneven, which is a bit sad considering the many other great recordings from the same year. And to my ears the sound does affect the overall experience of the album. But don't let that put you off. Go buy yourself a piece of rock history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No words needed, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Chas Chandler was absolutely right. This album is sensational in mono. It smacks you right between the eyes.
(The back of the cover lacks the original biographical material on the band, if that matters to anyone)
The music. Beyond comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hendrix's 1967 debut collection reveals a young creative genius in the prime of life, 1 Jun 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Experienced (Audio CD)
`Are You Experienced?' is consistently voted one of the greatest debut albums ever, by any artist from any age, and sounds as good today as on its May 1967 UK release. In 2005 the original recordings were selected for permanent preservation in the National Recording Registry at the Library of Congress, a rare honour indeed.

These were not the first recordings ever made by Hendrix: he had already recorded quite a body of work with Curtis Knight in 1965 in the USA. But it was in London in 1966, sponsored and financed by Chas Chandler, that together with Mitch Mitchell on drums and Noel Redding on bass the legendary Jimi Hendrix Experience was born. In early 1967 Hendrix made the most of his studio time and laid down all his best contemporary material, and it is on this collection that his youthful creativity shines the brightest.

It's difficult now to understand how revolutionary this music sounded in 1967. Nothing quite like it had ever been done before; it became the sound of a generation and spawned a thousand imitators of the Hendrix style, none a patch on the unique original. Hendrix raised the bar on what could be done with an electric guitar, and has never been surpassed and never equalled. Bob Dylan had influenced Hendrix towards writing clever, interesting lyrics and these, often tinged with humour, overlay styles ranging from the hard-rocking (Purple Haze, Manic Depression, the title track) to classic blues (Red House), to the mellow and serene (The Wind Cries Mary) and the psychedelic experimental (Third Stone from the Sun, reminiscent in style to some of Pink Floyd's extended stage numbers around 1968) and more. Hendrix blended styles to create his own distinctive and revolutionary wall of amplified sound; he was a true original touched by greatness, defied categorisation and wasn't like anyone else before or since.

Three months after its original UK release, AYE was finally released in the USA in August 1967 with a different running order and including three UK hit singles excluded from the UK release. The US version also had radically different (and improved) cover art. The persistent enthusiasm through the decades for this album, in all its various permutations, is entirely justified. You have a choice of versions, from the pared-down original UK 1967 vinyl release to later versions featuring several bonus tracks all from the early 1967 recording sessions, so all justifying their inclusion. The CD re-master of the original 1967 US vinyl album release, opening with `Purple Haze', is probably the pick of the bunch, but any version incorporating the bonus material is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Are You Experienced
Are You Experienced by The Jimi Hendrix Experience
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews