Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars217
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2011
I am very pleased with the quality of this product. The safe is sturdy and provides a secure and unnoticable hiding place for small items e.g keys, cash, credit cards.

The design is fantastic as it looks exactly like a standard dictionary you might see in any home. Place it amongst the rest of your books and feel secure in the knowledge that your valuables well hidden. I would definately recommend this to others.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Brought this for my son who has just moved into a shared house. It is an ideal size to stick his spare car keys, passport etc in. It keeps all his valuables in one place as he is a student he tends to be messy, it also saves him carrying large sums of money out with him. Would recommend this product it does what is says and blends in well wether on bookself or under the bed with other books.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I searched the website in vain for the product dimensions. Therefore when it arrived it was considerably smaller than I had anticipated. This meant it was too small to contain all the things I had planned to put in it. For the record I've just measured the size of the metal box: 105 x 165 x 45 mm approximately. Also, as someone else has already remarked, the locking mechanism takes a chunk out of the inside too. It beats me why this information can't be displayed on the website!

I wanted an additional key to the two supplied but I have found it difficult to get one cut as my local key cutters do not have the necessary blanks. It looks like I shall struggle to get any additional keys.

On the plus side it's a quite nicely constructed product. Having had to put some smaller items in it than originally intended, it does a reasonable job for the price.
11 comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Despite the fact that it's rarely used, it's just such an awesome idea for a present or hidey-hole that you should get this one! Much better than cutting pages out of a book (and think of all that glue), comes with a set of two keys so you can forget where you've put one, and use the other. Quite large, running out of things to put in it (maybe another book - bookception), has a satisfying snap when you close and/or lock it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
I love it but one thing about the main review has left me dumbfounded and that is, " But even if the crook in question did somehow manage to discover that it wasn’t a real book, then the Booksafe is so secure that he still wouldn’t be able to get to your valuables". Now if a thief discovered that it was a safe, then it's not that hard to put in pocket and smash open somewhere else, is it ?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
The book safe does its job pretty well. There is plenty of room inside to hide money, credit cards, small documents or other items of value which you don't want to leave lying around. I did find though that it is necessary to leave space around the lock as sometimes the box contents can get in the way preventing the inner lid from closing properly even though the lock engages under the lip of the box. This in turn allows the lid to be lifted slightly and small items could be removed.

The safe does hide quite well on a shelf of similar books but it does not stand up to close scrutiny if left on its own as the fake pages are quite obviously plastic.

The lock itself is not the cheapest they could have used. It requires a double-bitted key (one with teeth on both sides) and this makes it harder for lock-picking than most cheaper locks.

Whilst this item will not stand up to serious attempts to open it - such as with a sledgehammer - it will deter the average snooper quite readily and will keep your minor valuables relatively secure until you find the need to upgrade to a proper safe.

Product Dimensions: 18 x 5.5 x 11.5 cm ; 299 g
Boxed-product Weight: 499 g

If you didn't find this review helpful, instead of clicking the NO button, why not leave a comment explaining what you would like to have seen?
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
With the spine showing it really does look like a book (which is it's purpose), but the actual lock and key are, shall we say - flimsy? Still a lot better than similar items.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2010
Description given by seller very accurate. This is a wonderful idea for home security of small items. Will certainly be 'hidden' in bookcase.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Good concept. Cover is cardboard and flimsy like a real book - has to be to look real. Good item but poorly packaged and spine is torn slightly. Nit ideal for a gift but I suppose it looks authentic. Nit sure I can give it as it is. I may have to order another from elsewhere and hope it arrives.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
This item does look like a book, but it would be more useful if it was a little larger, the item has a sturdy lock with decent keys, however as most of the security books like this one seem to be reference books, I have placed a fly leaf from an old novel over the blue dictionary cover - makes it look less obvious.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)