Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY bright lantern
This is an excellent piece of kit. It's large and heavy, but very economical to run on unleaded fuel. The mantle is easy to fit and is the largest mantle I've ever seen on a lantern. Consequently this puts out a huge amount of light. I use it on a tall lantern stand and it floodlights the whole area around the tent very effectively. Its so effective in fact that its a...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Cirrus9uk

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JJR INDUSTRIES Coleman Northstar Review
Dissapointed! The lamp came dissasembled and the instructions were scant! No funnel to fill the lamp and this lamp is fragile, after a minor knock the mantle broke. Beware Instaclip replacements are often supplied incorectley. Very dissapointed bought head torch instead for a fraction of the lamp cost.
Published 23 months ago by Julian Rees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY bright lantern, 5 July 2011
This is an excellent piece of kit. It's large and heavy, but very economical to run on unleaded fuel. The mantle is easy to fit and is the largest mantle I've ever seen on a lantern. Consequently this puts out a huge amount of light. I use it on a tall lantern stand and it floodlights the whole area around the tent very effectively. Its so effective in fact that its a little embarassing - I felt I was lighting up half the campsite and was a little worried about using it late at night for fear of someone shouting "Put that light out!"

All in all, a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coleman northstar, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
Exelent very bright bought it for camping and it floodlit the whole camping area and almost half the woods. Whatsmore it's cheap to run better than gas as it runs on petrol witch doesn't lose pressure and freeze in cold wether the only downfall is can't use it indoors as it gives off toxic fumes witch build in a confined space Bit noisy but it's a noise you can get used to after a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coleman Northstar dual fuel lantern (with piezo electric starter) review, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black

I received the lantern and built it up, including the complementary mantle. Burnt the mantle in and then noticed that piezo electric starter failed! My fault the mantle was between the two metal components so moving it I tore the mantle DAMN! Note to all potential purchasers take care as a burnt mantle is very very brittle and fragile.

After that miniscule disaster luckily I had ordered spare mantles and fitted it more aware of the need to keep the metal components clear. This now worked superbly.

On first ignition (after burning the mantle and all subsequent ignitions) it does plume and flare quite dramatically so don't ignite inside your tent (also I'd not suggest extended use inside a draft-proof tent). Once its settled it has full brightness flexibility from bright to requiring a welders mask - 200w only if you're on the dark side of the moon if you ask me.

So I would recommend this to all my friends/family and anyone wishing to create shadow puppet theatre from inside their tent! Whilst gaining a nice tan that will confuse the neighbours "how did you get a tan.....I thought you were camping in Scotland/Wales/England etc?". Would have been five stars if the problems with the piezo mantle clash had been forewarned or eliminated in design.

Much better than the simple propane canister lamps, but significantly more expensive, but does work well with petrol & Coleman fuel....and really it is a proper man lantern (I laugh in the face of your AA battery LED torches) you have to pump pressure in, its burns petrol and its serious kit therefore it is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmosphere Creator, 11 April 2013
By 
P. Calwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
I have owned a North-star lantern for over 7 years now, and it one of my favourite possessions. I use it camping, and for barbecues, where it illuminates very brightly, creating a focal point for discussion. Not only does it perform very well; extremely bright, long lasting ( easily 5 hrs, up to 8 hrs on one fill of petrol), but the quiet hiss noise it produces is very therapeutic when relaxing round the camp fire. 7 years old and only needed to give it a clean once a year, and replace the mantle a couple of times. I have no hesitation in giving it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light ready for power cuts and outdoor dining?, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
Came packed in a huge box with a multi language assembly and instruction leaflet. So no instant gratification.

Slipped the mantle on and wondered & how it stayed on and finally read and understood the bit about about twisting the wires to hold it in place. Tweaked the shape several times before finally biting the bullet and taking the step to burn the mantle.
Got the wire cage on easily and the glass but it took me two attempts to get the cap on level.
Fitting the carry handle was easy - it just pops into a pair of holes.

I wanted to use the cheaper clean more stable alternative fuel (aspen 2T . . see here
[...] )
but I have no local stockist and they only sell it directly in quantities of 12 (@3.98/ ltr)
Coleman fuel on Amazon is not cheap at 8.45 /ltr)
So I tried it with bog standard unleaded petrol @1.33 /ltr) which is less pure and has a shorter shelf life. Yes petrol does deteriorate. My only problem was my petrol can's spout being much wider than the rather narrow filler pipe of the Coleman lamp which meant that a lot was spilt as I do not have a funnel.
That said it worked and a bright white light was produced.

I strongly recommend you order a spare mantle when you buy this lantern. You may not need it for years but when you damage the old one and have not got a spare you will wish (like I do) that you had one in your shed/garage - and if you are spending the best part of one hundred pounds on this then another three pounds will not, I guess, break you.

Plus point
Simpler to operate than the Tilly Lamp I was going to buy as no pre-heating is required and it has electric ignition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
brought as a present. clear and easy instructions for use. very happy with the product and delivery.
would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be light....lots of it!, 23 Jan 2012
By 
N. Prescott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
Bought this as a Christmas present for my wife (who is also a Scout leader) and who had seen a friend's lamp of the same brand. Really versatile equipment for camping and for evenings on the lawn after a barby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously bright, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A large and heavy lamp that creates a serious amount of light. The northstar is not something to be played with or used drunk! It uses pressurised petrol, fire, gives off fumes and gets hot. It could easily become very dangerous if not used properly. Having said that its a brilliant piece of kit. Just not to be taken inside your tent or allowed anywhere near kids. The mantles are easy to change. The fuel tank is large and I run mine on normal unleaded and so far no serious problems. The spare parts are clearly available and I think each winter will require a service. The lamp makes a hissing noise when lit. Its not something that bothers me, just something to be aware of if you wish to be lit silently. The light is yellow and much nicer to sit in than the cold white LEDs. Lighting the lantern often involves a couple of seconds of flames leaping out of the top. This is normal, but reminds you this is not a toy. The flame is very controllable and when switched up gives off an extremely bright light that cannot be looked at directly. Excellent in the garden on summer evenings, I use ours outdoors when camping and it allows us to function without lots of little electric lights. I would buy another. Just needs to be stored carefully when travelling. I bought mine a padded case on ebay. Coleman do make a proper case. This doesn't come as standard and is difficult to buy in UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
Darral Antony Hill (plymouth uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JJR INDUSTRIES Coleman Northstar Review, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Julian Rees (Bridgend South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coleman Northstar Single Mantle Fuel Lantern - Green/Black (Sports)
Dissapointed! The lamp came dissasembled and the instructions were scant! No funnel to fill the lamp and this lamp is fragile, after a minor knock the mantle broke. Beware Instaclip replacements are often supplied incorectley. Very dissapointed bought head torch instead for a fraction of the lamp cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews