Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where It All Began
Before the mental illness.
Before the relocation to the states
Before the messy relationships & divorces & the drugs & the multiplatinum status all that begat

Before all that, Fleetwood Mac humbly began as part of the British blues boom with various John Mayall alumni

What you have here is their first 2 Blue Horizon Lps & a compilation of...
Published 23 months ago by Quizzimodo

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect
Unbelievable that nobody has realised so far the obvious glitches on the disc 3. First at the 20th second in the 1. track (Need your love so bad) you can hear a popping noise in the guitar sound. This is very sharp and loud, so made me disappointed with the album which would have beeen great if I am talking only about the music.
The next popping noises can be audible...
Published 22 months ago by Laszlo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where It All Began, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before the mental illness.
Before the relocation to the states
Before the messy relationships & divorces & the drugs & the multiplatinum status all that begat

Before all that, Fleetwood Mac humbly began as part of the British blues boom with various John Mayall alumni

What you have here is their first 2 Blue Horizon Lps & a compilation of non-Lp tracks from the period
Al in all a pretty good, well priced set.

A great set of British blues with Peter Green's writing hinting at the alternate universe of him not losing his way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 60s blues rock, 6 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
The 60s and 70s were the golden era of rock music. I was delighted to find FM's 1st three albums in one very reasonably priced box set. All 3 albums are superb, but the strange collection called 'The pious bird of good omen' takes the cake for me - it includes the original version of 'Black magic woman' which was very beautifully covered by Santana on their equally brilliant second album 'Abraxas'. 'Pious bird...' is without a doubt a 5* album, but by this I mean100% (if one has only 5 stars this means that 81-100% are all 5*). I definitely prefer 'Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac' to later more pop-inclined incarnations of the band. 'Pious bird...' is worth the price of the box set, and the other two albums are a bonus in my opinion - and a jolly good bonus too! I would not want to be without this music. The sound quality of these albums is superb too, and it seems they have been remastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac - Great Cd's, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Bought these years ago when they first came out on vinyl and really enjoyed them. Fleetwood Mac at their BEST.

This CD package was bought as replacements for my vinyl copies. Covering some of the old classic's.

Still enjoyed them - still Fleetwood Mac at their BEST (even though later Fleetwood Mac are quite good & enjoyable).

You could maybe get a greatest hits etc. that cover most of these tracks if you just want a taste of early Fleetwood Mac

For me Peter Green's guitar playing is second to none & cannot be matched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 30 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. Robert A. Ford "raford" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I cannot get enough of early Fleetwood Mac. Ever since I heard them in the early 1970s I have been a fan. This collection has many tracks to remind of the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac as they developed, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Interesting to see the development from essentially a blues band to a more mainstream soft rock band. Great to listen to the fantastic recordings again without the scratches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... have these 3 albums on vinyl and they are great, really great, 16 Oct. 2014
By 
Count Arthur "Billious" (Sidcup, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I have these 3 albums on vinyl and they are great, really great. I also love the later stuff they did without the brilliant 'Greeney', like "Rumours" but this is the best incarnation of the band - ie with Greeney in it. He is such a great guitarist and his feeling for the blues is as good as anyone. Didn't BB King say he was the only white guy who made him sweat - or summat similar.

I think I will buy this box set, so I can save my vinyl copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... first edition of Mac featuring Peter Green was the best, despite the amazing success of the 2nd version ..., 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Richard P. Turner (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
The first edition of Mac featuring Peter Green was the best, despite the amazing success of the 2nd version - pure British Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real classic album, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
This is the Blues that turned America on to the blues. Better known here than over there American Blues inspired a whole legion of young British guitar players. Revived rewritten and recorded by this legion they stormed the American charts and lead to a new generation of Americans to look at the gems in their own back yard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classics, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
Blues. Blues and more blues. Brilliantly played. Was going to give it 4 stars because of the packing but the free autorip download pushed it back up to 5.
If you want to hear a seminal British blues band at their peak for a reasonable price this is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I think these are the first 3 FM albums. They are superb. (Better than the next few). Brilliant value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews