Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVA LAURIE FABIANO
The term "epic" is greatly overused . Often applied to any work , good or bad , of over 400 pages . This is however a true epic covering the author's family from 1890 Scilla , Italy to late twentieth century New York .
The contrast of a never changing , innocent fishing community cast adrift off southern Italy with the burgeoning , corrupt overcrowded NY streets is...
Published on 4 May 2011 by Alexander Bryce

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good historical detail but not a good read for me
This book is a fictional account of the lives of an Italian family and tells how they came to live in the USA, and then how their lives move forward.
I thought this was the most interesting part of the book.
Back in the southern region of the newly United Italy life was so hard and poverty so intense that even food was hard to come by. Those who could emigrated...
Published on 14 April 2011 by elsie purdon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Decently written and interesting, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
An interesting piece of history, complemented by a compelling personal interest storyline and a little bit of gangster intrigue... What more could you ask for. Decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching,sensitive story., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
This is a beautifully written story, that weaves its way through generations, countries and rich and poor. it touches at the depths of humanity, with peaks and troughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
A well written part factual account of life for Italian Immigrants in America. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would have been happy to read on for another 50 pages !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
Splendid and full of insight, very emotional, but nonetheless pretty accurate of the happenings of those early immigration years. I liked it very much.
I would recommend it to my continental and american friends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you had Grandparents from Italy who passed through Ellis Island ......, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
I discovered this book by chance as I am not a reader of novels normally. But having Grandparents on Fathers side who were taken to l'America as young children, it drew my attention. Whilst I have a very good idea of what they went through, from family talk, this story more or less illustrated in greater detail what they might of gone through themselves. In that, I mean the journey, Ellis Island and living conditions in Manhattan itself. Our family lived on Second Ave. and had an ice business, but I hope they did not have to endure the extras as in this story. We will never know ! THANK You Laurie Fabiano for penning this book and allowing us to share the family history. I hope that many more people with similar history will also discover it. Highly recommended and deserving of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Street, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
. Enjoyed this book jumped about at the start but then could not put it down left me wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
I found this book an interesting story about a family who suffer through many different circumstances. It gripped me from the beginning to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Left wanting more, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
three stars as I felt ended to quickly would have liked to know more about how the ice cream business came about and more about Angelina's brothers and sisters .Maybe there is a sequel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
I had never heard of this author and bought it because it was on offer. It is based on the author's family from when they lived in Italy to their emigration to New York and how their lives were influenced by the mafia. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great enjoyable book, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Mary Mcginlay (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Street (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book,You felt as if you was in the places the book took you to, and the characters seemed real
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elizabeth Street
Elizabeth Street by Laurie Fabiano
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews