Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at Life - just as it was !!!
What gems we have here !!

This nicely presented 4 disc box-set from Network DVD contains 54 (transport and travel themed) cinema shorts on 4 DVDs from the late fifties and early sixties. Hopefully other box-sets will be following on other suitable themes.

Rank originally made over 500 of these shorts designed for interval insertions or fillers at...
Published on 12 Mar 2010 by S. M. Edwards

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films - but transport in its widest sense
The DVD features excellent quality film in good colour and without scratches and blemishes.
But - being interested in 'transport' I bought this, expecting to see things about buses and trains predominating, with perhaps aircraft and shipping.
If you are looking for a film mostly about trains and buses, don't buy this as you will be very disappointed.
Be...
Published 21 months ago by thamesview


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but expensive, 22 April 2014
By 
robert1981 (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent DVD - very interesting covering a whole plethora of modes of transport, the archive film is stunning quality, looks like it was shot only yesterday.

The price on Amazon is however very high, considering it is over 25% cheaper (inc P&P) on Network On Air's own website, hence I didn't purchase from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Series Of Archive Films Never Disappoints., 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
Watching these films is like having a time machine, it was a very different world back in the late fifties and mid sixties from which most of these short films originate. Men hand-painting the Forth railway bridge with no safety equipment apart from a rope wrapped around their waists is just one example. Segments from these superbly-filmed episodes were used (with subtitles) in the
two Britain On Film series which have been screened by BBC4, but it is better to own the proper article. This Volume One is arguably the best of the many boxed sets available from "Look At Life", but all are well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look At Life: Volume One............Transport (DVD), 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
I had already got the dvd of Life on The Railways by Video 125, so I was really looking forward to these films and they have not disappointed either, they show all the aspects of our transport system past,& present....in the air, on the water, on the roads, including our first motorways, in fact everything to do with transport that you can think of.
All the films have digitally restored,if you are at all interested in transport in anyway,then you will enjoy these films,I learnt quite a lot from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another winning compilation from network, 6 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute bargain `a 4 dvd set for under £30.It was for me interesting to see "Vintage Models" just one of these films as I have had a copy but alas in B/W only which I bought in the early 1970`s on the home cinema format SUPER8 MM at a cost of around £12.The overall quality of these shorts are very good indeed my set up is a sony HX753 & Panasonic BDT500 connected with Audiopearl Hdmi leads..The sound is also of good quality from the various narrators,definitely to be recommended.

The lists for each disc in printed on the underside of the cover which is easily removed,yes those boffins at network dvd have done it again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC TO SEE THESE OLD FILMS ARE ON DVD, 17 May 2010
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing these shorts in New Zealand back in the fifties.Was amazed to see that they are now on dvd although the high price is too much for me.If only other
studios would release the early cinemascope shorts from the same era. Disney have done this. Some early Fitzpatrick travelogues and pete smith shorts have also made it to dvd in the usa on dvds of musicals.There should be more of it.They must be congratulated for keeping these shorts alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars looking at a slice of my life vol. 1, 8 April 2010
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
I can only re-iterate previous reviewers comments only to add looking forward to volumes 2,3,4...etc.etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great films - but transport in its widest sense, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD features excellent quality film in good colour and without scratches and blemishes.
But - being interested in 'transport' I bought this, expecting to see things about buses and trains predominating, with perhaps aircraft and shipping.
If you are looking for a film mostly about trains and buses, don't buy this as you will be very disappointed.
Be warned - most of this DVD is NOT about 'transport' as you might expect - ie 'passenger transport', but transport in its widest possible meaning - e.g. bikes the city, road accidents or pedal-powered 'flying machines'.
Sections talk about road planning, motorway building, a Police driving school, 1960s air hostesses, scooters (ie Lambretta-type), motorway traffic control, repainting the Forth Bridge, oil tankers, modernising ports, motor-cyclists in the 1960s, motor racing at Broadlands, weather watching/forecasting, bikes in the 1960s, road accidents, hot air balooning..... and every one of these refers to a complete film that is NOT about public transport as expected.
Very good films, excellent period stuff (with the usual annoying/patronising style of voice-over) - but hugely disappointing if you're looking for anything but quick snatches of 'passenger transport'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD, but I have one (minor) gripe. Why is a picture of a Bolex 16mm camera shown on the box cover, when the films were shot on professional 35mm film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
Item as described - well packed and promptly delivered - thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Look at Life, but don't get conned., 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, I'd like to say that these DVD's are simply superb and take you back to a time many people in the UK would like to return to. It's a fantastic trip down memory lane in gorgeous colour, but the drawback is that the crafty marketing people have taken a downright liberty in that the six part DVD called 'Civil Aviation' has no less than 5 titles available on a box set called 'Transport' and on another disc 'Swingin' London' this has 2 repeats which are also on the 'Transport' DVD.
This is a blatant case of cheating the customer (conning was the word I was going to use)and prospective buyers should beware and look carefully at the titles, because who wants to get home, put the disc on and find episodes you've already seen like I did. Shame on you Network/Carlton who were responsible for this cheating people good enough to buy their products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD]
£16.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews