Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful nostalgia treat from the days when we really had a British film industry!
Well, I received this on Saturday and have just finished watching it. The verdict: Brilliant! The 56 films (averaging nine minutes each in running time) on this 4-disc set are only approximately one tenth of the 500 "Look at Life" films made by The Rank Organisation in the ten years between 1959 and 1969 and which average out at around nine minutes each. But they are all...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by Mr. David Rayner

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Look at Life, but don't get conned.
Firstly, I'd like to say that these DVD's are simply superb and take you back to a time many people in the UK would like to return to. It's a fantastic trip down memory lane in gorgeous colour, but the drawback is that the crafty marketing people have taken a downright liberty in that the six part DVD called 'Civil Aviation' has no less than 5 titles available on a box...
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by Maz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful nostalgia treat from the days when we really had a British film industry!, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I received this on Saturday and have just finished watching it. The verdict: Brilliant! The 56 films (averaging nine minutes each in running time) on this 4-disc set are only approximately one tenth of the 500 "Look at Life" films made by The Rank Organisation in the ten years between 1959 and 1969 and which average out at around nine minutes each. But they are all of equal high quality in both image and sound and, of course, interest value, so that if you like one of them, you will like them all. Originally filmed in Eastman Colour, they have all been carefully restored and remastered for the highest picture and sound quality and look brand new.

The films here all have a common theme of air; rail and road transport and maybe it would have been a better idea to have them all varied subjects instead, but no matter. They are great film documents of social history and are very interesting indeed. The fact stated on the back of the DVD cover that they were made to be shown in Rank's Odeon and Gaumont cinemas is true, but only half true, for they were also shown in most other cinemas around the country, including the Essoldo circuit and other cinema chains and independent cinemas...although I don't think that the ABC circuit ever screened them. I certainly ran them regularly at the Plaza, Fenton, Stoke-on-Trent, during my years there as a projectionist. Despite the high price of the set (originally priced at 50), which is justified in this case, I highly recommend it. Well done, Network. Now here's hoping we have a volume two on the way featuring "For The Record" from 1961, with Helen Shapiro recording "Walking Back To Happiness" under the direction of Norrie Paramor in Studio 2 at EMI's Abbey Road Studios in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at Life - just as it was !!!, 12 Mar 2010
By 
S. M. Edwards "Eddy of England" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
What gems we have here !!

This nicely presented 4 disc box-set from Network DVD contains 54 (transport and travel themed) cinema shorts on 4 DVDs from the late fifties and early sixties. Hopefully other box-sets will be following on other suitable themes.

Rank originally made over 500 of these shorts designed for interval insertions or fillers at their cinemas. As Rank were "proper" film-makers, the original picture and sound quality was excellent and all films were made in glorious technicolor. However, modern digital remastering has made these now remarkably look as good as new and as if you were watching a film made today, the only giveaway being the clothes worn and the cars driven (all the chaps seemd to wear their ties whatever they were doing in those days!!)

The content and subject matter of each ten minute film features very separate and distinct areas for examination, presented in such a way as to be of equal interest and importance to a ten year old schoolboy as well as the older community. These are the subjects that we would have all been curious about and the ones which still fascinate today e.g. hovercraft design and development, car growth, motorway and trunk road development, the jet-age, the great liners, steam decline and moves into diesel-electric trains, air sea-rescue, road accidents and road safety etc. etc.

In addition to the subject matter of each film, the fabulous photography and glorious narrations from the likes of Tim Turner and Raymond Baxter ("proper chaps") mean that each little featurette is a ten minute potted social history and documentary in itself, giving a wonderful glimpse of a much simpler time when British engineering, design and innovation dominated the world and everyone just got on with it - no doubt largely because they could as we did not suffer from a Health and Safety executive on every corner.

Well done Network, these are amazing little films and I am delighted that someone has dusted them off and made them available to us all, lest they were forgotten forever and never to be seen again. You must release all 500 of them.

There are only one or two films here which are duplicates of those released in the smaller look at life series which have been previously released on the railways, civil and military aviation, cold war jets and swinging london.

My only complaint is a small one and is that there is no booklet or insert included with the DVDs to provide the film detail. Instead this is printed on the inside of the DVD case and you have to remove the DVDs to read any detail.

Otherwise a fantastic release and at this price is great value at just over 60p for each film which you can keep forever. Looking forward to the next batch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at Life: Volume One - Transport DVD, 5 April 2010
By 
A. Norris (Romford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
This is what is missing from a trip to the cinema. Fantastic collection of interest films once shown at the cinema. For those who don't remember, it dates from a time when a visit to the cinema meant TWO films with an interest film between. Let's hope they release more of these films very soon on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A colourful 60's nostalgia trip, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Colin Smith "keep on running" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
Having feasted on similiar material from the BFI, I decided to check out this Network release. This is a lovely collection of nostalgic and charming short documentary films that cover various forms of transport.
From land, sea, and air, to modernising the transport infrastructure, which includes the railways and ports, to road building.

Road transport covers diverse subjects, such as the building of taxis to picking up customers, the training of police drivers, as well as two-wheeled forms of transport including motorbikes, scooters and cycling.
In the air we have passenger aircraft, with the work of the air hostess, then we have gliding and hot-air ballooning. On the water we see the "Queen Elizabeth" Liner, and the story of the Hovercraft from its invention.

This is just a taste of the 54 little gems that we have here, a Kaleidescope of information about 1960's transport, a fascinating dip into a bygone age. The narrators include Raymond Baxter and Eamonn Andrews.
This collection was produced by the Rank Organisation, to replace newsreels in their Odeon and Gaumont Cinemas.
The digitally restored colour pictures are rich and clear, sound quality is good. No subtitles. The 54 films give a total running time of over eight hours, and were made from 1959 to 1969, A brief synopsis of each film is shown on the inside of the dvd case.

The 4 discs are stored in a single-size dvd case, so its compact.
Here is a list of the films:

* DISC ONE - Ticket To Tokyo./ Letting Off Steam./ New Roads For Old./ Flight On A Cushion./ Talking Of Coaches./ Alpine Rescue./ Shopping For A "Queen"./ Sailing The Sky./ Driving Test./ Shape Of A Ship./ Air Hostess./ Taxi! Taxi!!./ All Through The Night.

* DISC TWO - Over And Under./ Horse-Power Riders./ Eyes Of The Law./ Scooter Commuter./ Sea Horses./ So They All Hover Now./ The Village Sleeps Again./ Birdmen./ Draw The Fires./ The Car Has Wings./ Vintage Models./ Pilot Aboard./ Where No Tide Flows.

* DISC THREE - High, Wide And Faster./ Oil Aboard./ Report On A River./ Europe Grows Together./ Turn Of The Wheel./ City Of The Air./ Behind The Ton-Up Boys./ Going Places Under Water./ Living With Cars./ Flying To Work./ The Spirit Of Brooklands./ Weather Adviser./ What Price Safety?./ Down In The Dumps.

* DISC FOUR - Cats Of The Sea./ Breaking The Ice./ Skimming Through The Sixties./ The Big Take-Off./ Lighter Than Air./ Just An Accident./ Scrambling For It./ The Straits Of Dover./ Where Do You Leave The Boat?./ Pushing The Bike./ Playing Trains./ The City's For Living In./ All In A Day's Work./ A Load Of Pheasants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight for nostalgic transport enthusiasts, 13 April 2010
By 
Adrian Balch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
When I was a wee lad, my Dad used to take me to the Gaumont and Odeon cinemas where these short documentaries were shown between the two main films. How I loved these very interesting and well made films and as I was interested in transport subjects, particularly aircraft, it was always exciting to see any aviation subjects. Ever since the VHS/video era, I have campaigned marketing companies to try and source these films from the Rank Organisation and release them for public viewing, before the Masters were lost forever.
Alas the years went by and the DVD era came in, so I tried again and successfully got one of them to release some of these films on civil and military aviation and alsp on railways. At last, Network can be congratulated on releasing even more of these films and Vol.1 is all on transport-related subjects, no less than 44 films on 4 DVD discs covering aviation, ships, railways, cars, buses, motor bikes and hovercraft. Wonderful to sit back and relive all these well-made films again and beautifully digitally remastered, resulting in amazing quality considering all were made between 1959-66. Please let's have more to enjoy life as it was?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look At Life; Transport, 30 Aug 2011
By 
Humberhawk (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
I simply had to have this item which fits nicely with the earlier release Look At Life;Swinging London. As a time capsule of how this country used to be it is an invaluable document on the social,economic and historical times in which we once lived.
The narration is typically restrained but very English and enthusiastic for the subjects under revue. As a lifelong fan of British cars and lorries it gladdens my heart to see all those wonderful Austin's,Humber's,Hillman's,Ford's, Jaguars et al sadly no longer with us in most cases.
Maybe, through rose tinted glasses, the streets looked cleaner and orderly without the mass of street furniture so prevalent today but, nevertheless, are days which I wish I could return to.
The non-road items in this collection are equally entertaining and have a fascination of their own showing as they do the fashions,working styles ( no mad Health and Safety rules here )without a yellow jacket or hard hat in sight.
If you want to see how things used to be and have a twinge of nostalgia within then I highly recommend this collection and look forward to the other releases in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent insight to our past, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
If, like me, you are interested in old cars and nostalgia then this DVD is a must buy, It's very interesting and a real delight to watch, I'd recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look at Life Vol. 1., 13 Nov 2010
By 
H. C. Davison (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
A truly remarkable DVD. These images are SO old and yet the quality is SO good. Loads and loads of short films crammed onto just 4 DVDs. My favourites are the railways but I found myself smiling at all the rest. Most are timed just a little before my time or when I was very young and I am 58 but it is fantastic to see those times in such glorious colour. Do not worry about the quality; this is a top rate production by Rank and is more on a par to Feature Film quality. I was not going to buy the others in the series but am now seriouly considering it. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer cinematic joy!, 23 Sep 2010
By 
J. McDonald (Bute, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is absolutely wonderful as it takes you back in vivid Eastmancolor to the 1960s. It's all Hillman Minxs and mini-skirts and you can almost feel that 60s atmosphere, it's almost as if you have travelled back in time.

The films themselves are immaculate and any deteriorations have been carefully removed. These films have faired better than most stuff from that era in that they have been carefully stored over the years and let's face, they were only shown for a very short period in the cinemas and were never released again.

The only regret I have about this is that there is no Blu-ray version. That would really be something to see! At 50 odd they are a tad expensive and I expect to see subsequent releases a bit cheaper but for all nostalgia buffs of a certain age...a MUST HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glimpses of a bygone world, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. B. D. Friend (Monmouth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD] (DVD)
I had no hesitation in buying this DVD compilation,given that I also own all the existing "Look at Life" compilations,mostly released by Video 125 several years ago.Firsly,it must be said said what excellent value for money this set is! It contains 54 shorts,all of which show a glimpse of life between 40 and 50 years ago.This set is all about transport in it's various forms.I can't really add anything to a lot of the other reviews above in my praise for the job that Network have done in remastering these films and making them available again.If I were to be really fussy,being principally a railway enthusiast,I would have to express a little disappointment in the small number of railway related films in the set,particularly given that two or three of them have already been released on the afore-mentioned compilations.However,it may be that these are the only ones that exist.Nonetheless,this is still a very enjoyable trawl through the archives,and would be interesting to transport afficionados,social historians and anyone wishing to see how we lived a generation or two ago.Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look at Life: Volume One - Transport [DVD]
22.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews