Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars travelling again, after all these years ..
Ace to see this series get a belated DVD release ! I've been on the look out for it for years, so was glad to see it appear. Time hasn't been kind to it in some respects ( the fashions and motors of 84/85 look ancient ), but for the 80s it was gritty, with stories featuring middle-class drug use, teen suicide and assassins. Leigh Lawson played Lomax with real flair, plus...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by I. P. Terry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but let's not go over the top!
This is a competent, workman-like series with some very good features and several other aspects that let it down.
The direction and acting are excellent in parts, but pretty variable across the series. The highlight for me is Terry Taplin, who is completely believable as the cynical reporter. Lawson, on the other hand, is not really convincing as the driven ex-cop:...
Published 21 months ago by J. Kinory


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars travelling again, after all these years .., 24 Mar 2010
By 
I. P. Terry (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Ace to see this series get a belated DVD release ! I've been on the look out for it for years, so was glad to see it appear. Time hasn't been kind to it in some respects ( the fashions and motors of 84/85 look ancient ), but for the 80s it was gritty, with stories featuring middle-class drug use, teen suicide and assassins. Leigh Lawson played Lomax with real flair, plus the supporting cast was excellent. The 'village of the damned' episode set in Wales was a bit weak and somewhat silly, but the remainder are very watchable. Sooner or later someone will re-make this series ( John Simm would be brill ), so I say get hold of it now and see the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual thriller series, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This four DVD set contains all thirteen episodes of 'Travelling Man' - two series which were first broadcast on ITV between 1984 and 1985. The central character, Lomax, is an ex-police detective who has been released from jail, having served two years for a crime he didn't commit. He is now looking for those former colleagues who framed him. He has lost wife, son, in fact everything except his narrowboat 'Melody', which is where the action starts as Lomax sets off along the canal network of North-West England and Wales in search of his son and those who framed him.

Lomax is played by Leigh Lawson, who turns in an excellent performance. In fact acting standards are generally high throughout, although there is one exception (appearing in a later episode) who I think you will notice. There is a particularly fine performance also from John Bird, appearing completely out of his usual character, as a menacing Manchester gang leader. Also the under-rated character actor Colin Jeavons makes an appearance in a couple of episodes.

Each episode tells a self-contained story, except for a couple which run to two episodes. They are strong stories, with an astonishingly high level of violence in places. Arson, shootings, drownings, beatings, and an outright psychopath are all there. All this is in stark contrast to the general peace and slow pace of canal life. In fact one of the great attractions of this set is the large amount of location shooting on the canal network. Given that this was the early 1980's, there is historical and possibly even nostalgic value in seeing the Macclesfield Canal, the Chirk Aqueduct on the Llangollen Canal, the Anderton Boatlift (shown in a very sorry condition then; now happily restored) and numerous other scenic locations as they were.

But the heart of this set is the character Lomax, driven to find justice and to see his son. It says something for Leigh Lawson's performance that the numerous liaisons with ladies as he travels from town to town are entirely convincing; there is a real magnetism and warmth there. These, and his narrowboat, are his only 'friends'.

The picture quality is generally very good for this period; there is slight loss of focus in some close-ups (due to the original, shot entirely on videotape) but nothing serious. The only extra is a pdf file of the original PR brochure, which isn't much. I would really have liked something on the locations featured.

But this is a very recommendable set. Congratulations to the enterprising Network company for releasing this on DVD at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travelling Man - The Complete Series (DVD) 1984, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I remember Travelling Man the Series in 1984 as I was only 10 years old at the time.
I remember this series very well as my dad was there at the time, unfortunatly he died the same
year of lung cancer aged 55. So it was a very important year in my life, the sad thing is he got cremated on 23rd December 1984, and I was watching the series at the time, so it was etched very very clearly in my memory.
Part of the Series was filmed up the road near to where I used to live at the time and I grew up there.
I know the people who have the boat that was used in the TV series.
Well, the series is based on the original 'Fugitive' series in the 1960's, about a person who gets framed for somthing
he did not do, and goes to jail and upon release sets out to find the person(s) who fromed him and bring them to justice.
Anyway 'Travelling Man' is based on the above but is about a guy who was a Policeman and get framed for a drugs bust that was set up and he goes to prison upon release he sets out to find the person resposible for it and bring him to justice.
Anyway can't say a lot more or I will spoil it for the viewers, but just say that a lot of people get killed.
Very very good viewing and a good story and a really really nostalgic look back to 1980's dramas, 10 outa 10 thumbs up viewing !!!!! 100% purchase if anyone is into cannals and dramas based on 1980's stuff. Well worth a Buy!!!!!!!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue release., 21 Aug 2010
By 
A. K. Thomas "Live Music Is Better" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
At long last one of my all time favorite series is available, I wonder why it took
so long for it to get a DVD release.
I am a Sucker for anything English canals and Narrowboats so when it was shown way back in the mid 80s I was enthralled.
I still feel the same viewing it now even if it is a little dated, still Leigh and the cast along with some great Roger Marshall scripts make it so watchable.
I am a bit surprised that no one has mentioned the wonderful music by the late
Duncan Browne, I loved it so much after seeing the series I went out and bought the sound track on Vinyl. :-)
Great release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter S, 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This series is a delightful blast to the past, it certainly shows how things have changed in society over the years. It takes me back to 1984 and some fond memories from that era. If you can remember when the Travelling Man was first shown, it should do the same for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roger Marshall Again, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Paul D. Hartley (Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
From the description of the series (I did not see it on tv), I was dubious about this DVD. However, having watched most of the episodes I have found it very entertaining and like other Roger Marshall work, thought provoking.
Leigh Lawson provides an interesting character with human weaknesses and strengths, I liked his acting, and that of most of the supporting roles.
There are many parallels with Public Eye, especially the storylines - more violence perhaps, and that is not a bad thing in my opinion.
There is a down-to-earth quality that is missing from many of more 'polished' tv productions and this series is all the better for that.
Highly recommended for those who like a little thinking with their entertainment and a 'thank you' to all involved with the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Finally got to see this again after 26 years, still as good now as it was then, okay so it might appear somewhat dated in parts but who cares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable series, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. P. Maud - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I remember watching this the first time round and wasn't disappointed seeing it again. Ok it was a little dated but non the less enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting series, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Forgot what a riveting series this was.Pity Leigh Lawson still not acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Remember watching this when I was 14 back in 1984 and It stuck in my mind, and the other week saw this complete series on amazom and I had to get it, leigh lawson is brilliant in it, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Travelling Man - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984]
£15.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews