Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent drama, 2 July 2010
By 
John Moore "John Moore" (Dorset. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Muck and Brass stars Mel Smith in a serious role for once and plays a property developer by the name of Tom Craig. he is ruthless and wants to get his own way in what ever means come to him. he out do's his rivals. this is excellent drama I only wish that there was a another series made to carry on with the first. Jim Bowen also has a more series role then stand up comedian as we all see him. it is good to see that even comedians if given a chance to do straight acting can be great to watch. Paul Shane of Hi-Di-Hi also makes an appearance. but, there is some humour but, the series does not lose it's plot. this series was excellent when shown on t.v. I only wish there was another series to follow what happens to Tom Craig after he has won his battles in becoming a provincial property tycoon an excellent t.v. drama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to when it was shown on TV!, 27 May 2010
By 
Steve (North Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
I remember this being shown for the first time on TV. The content and persons depicted all have a gritty and real edge to them. You can actually believe it is happening as you watch the screen. The fashions and cars may have changed, but the dodging dealings remain the same today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Smith's Finest Drama Hour. Terrific Drama., 25 April 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Muck and Brass was a terrific series.
Mel Smith was superb in the lead role of Tom Craig.
How there has been no mention of Smith's towering performance in this series in the recent tributes to him is beyond me- maybe just maybe that it was an ITV series and not a BBC.

Muck and Brass is one of quite a few really good series originally shown on ITV that have been lost.
This is a shame because if Muck and Brass was produced today it would be repeated on many of the Satellite drama TV stations.

As an East Yorkshire man the setting a fictional Midlands town with lots of Asians was exotic. What impressed me was how Craig treated his accountant Jamal- respect.

This was really refreshing that the Asian British were seen in a really positive light- I'm thinking of the other comedy shows around at the same time like Mind Your Language, Love thy Neighbour, Curry and Chips, On the Buses and It Ain't half Hot Mum.

The relationship between Craig and his accountant Jamal was impressive. This was one of the first positive Asian Characters that I had seen on television.
The interplay between the two was impressive.
When a racists rival builder belittled Jamal Mel Smith's character defended his accountant.

He also spoke to the Asians in their language.
'If you intend to deal with them you should learn to speak their language' was one of his most impressive speeches.
This made a great impression upon me at the time.

Of note is that some of the scenes of the soon to be built housing estate were filmed in Hull near the Boulevard and St Georges Road.
The fake signs caused quite a few comments over the use of the land at the same time!

The series covered all the ins and outs of property development in Thatcher's Briton. warts and all. Corruption, bribes and all the seedy done deals.

The supporting cast was brilliant with several actors making their debut in realistic drama rather than comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great story, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
A. R. J. Penny ((Devon, England)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
set in the thatcherite time .. Mel Smith a great comedian plays absolutely straight an amoral developer. If you love the fashions and the atmosphere this will remind you with lots of nostalgia ... if you like a morality tale ... you'll hate it ... t he amoral greedy developer is still prospering!!!

try it ... you'll love the plots the people in it and the clothes. .. my only regret was there was no second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The squallor of property development writ large, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Impressively awful character played brilliantly by Mel Smith. A few flaws in the plot but who's quibbling? Shame the music's so bad otherwise I'd force it on guests!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is How It Was, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Although barely mentioned in his obituaries, this was possibly the late Mel Smith's finest hour as an actor - even if it hard to imagine anything further from the comedy roles for which he is remembered so fondly than this bitterly realistic urban drama. He is simply perfect as Tom Craig, a seedy, sullen but strangely magnetic property developer on the make in a fictional Midlands city during the early 1980s. Watching this for the first time in 30 years - with, in between, considerable experience of local government in a similar provincial city later in the decade - it is simply breathtaking how accurately the cast and the writer, the undeservedly forgotten Tom Clarke, sum up the good, the bad, and the ugly of the Thatcher Years. Almost every major city had its flagship renewal project like this series' `Slatterly Festival': some were extremely successful, laying the foundations of future prosperity, but at the price of a lot of dirty dealing behind the scenes. Clarke, a barrister, has a wonderful eye for the details of technicalities like share structures, planning permissions, and local authority tendering. He also understands, as Alan Bleasdale did not in his over-rated `GBH,' that local politics in the last two decades of the 20th century was usually less about Socialist-versus-Tory grandstanding than about the lower profile but far more ruthless struggle between old-guard municipal barons and Thatcherite - or, later, on the Labour side, Blairite - modernisers. That has never been portrayed as perceptively it is here. Against this background, Craig's rise from a seedy middleman to the head of a major corporation plays out as a sort of morality tale, or rather lack-of-morality tale. Smith's great achievement is to keep us involved with a deeply unpleasant man: we never get to like Craig or care about him, but we do care what happens to him. The support cast is excellent, including two of Smith's fellow comics, Jim Bowen and Paul Shane, also playing it straight to good effect. Best of all are two rising stars of the late 1970s and early 1980s, Darien Angadi as Craig's accountant - a superb blend of unscrupulousness and primness - and James Faulkner as the painfully ambitious Conservative Leader of the Council. Sadly it was Angadi's last role before his tragically early death at 32 and Faulkner did not find leading roles worthy of his talents in the Dark Age of British Television Writing that followed in the 1990s. Indeed, it is hard to think of a contemporary drama from the UK that has been done better in the three decades since this was first shown. It is a shame Smith never got to do a sequel: it would have been interesting to see how Tom Craig fared in the 1990s and the 2000s: one suspects he would have done very well for himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
very good drama good to see acting profermances from Mel Smith and Jim Bowen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never to be repeated - apparently, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Clive Morley (Hartlepool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Blissfully bereft of the annoying visual gimmickry so intrusive in most current TV, this is top drawer writing and acting and another great coup for Network (Owl Service - wow!) who are the essential outlet for most interesting releases of classic TV. Now where's Colin's Sandwich?The Owl Service - The Complete Series [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Good....., 3 Mar. 2014
By 
TB (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
I remember seeing this when it was first televised. I've always wondered why it was never repeated; after re-watching it more than 30 years later I know why - it's so hard-hitting and satirical. Dangerous, even. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muck And Brass - The Complete Series [DVD] [1982]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews