Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!
Whilst it's fair to say this isn't the very best of Dick Emery, that honour will always belong to his BBC output, what you have here are the three specials he recorded when he defected over to ITV for a while.

They hark back to a time when variety shows were the order of the day, with musical guests, dancers, and Dick sings a bit himself as well.( a little bit...
Published on 6 Mar. 2010 by BritHorrorHound

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Usual Sketch Show!
Even though the Dick Emery show ran for almost two decades, this DVD is no typical Sketch show. Instead we get a typical Thames TV extravaganza with all the fancy dance routines and lame song numbers.
However out of the 3 specials the second one is done in much more sketch show format, which has very little off the above, the first is average with some lengthy...
Published on 7 Mar. 2010 by R. Reel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 6 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst it's fair to say this isn't the very best of Dick Emery, that honour will always belong to his BBC output, what you have here are the three specials he recorded when he defected over to ITV for a while.

They hark back to a time when variety shows were the order of the day, with musical guests, dancers, and Dick sings a bit himself as well.( a little bit too much if I'm honest!)

All his characters get an outing, although some are seen far too briefly, one of the best moments is seeing the frustrated Hettie introducing Lynda Carter of Wonder Woman fame.

Each of the specials passes quickly, and it's nice to go back in time, and see how a star like Dick Emery could entertain without the need for swearing and shock value, I was going to say and without smut, but I'd be lying!

So at Amazon's price, this DVD is a must have, and will put us on until the BBC see the error of there ways and start releasing the many series that he did for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Your Usual Sketch Show!, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
R. Reel "The Raven" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
Even though the Dick Emery show ran for almost two decades, this DVD is no typical Sketch show. Instead we get a typical Thames TV extravaganza with all the fancy dance routines and lame song numbers.
However out of the 3 specials the second one is done in much more sketch show format, which has very little off the above, the first is average with some lengthy sketches chucked in, by the third instalment, you can see why there was no more, you get a short bust of sketches only to be followed by The Three Degrees, Dancing ladies on beds, Swan Lake rendition and finally a woman playing a harp!!

If your looking for a DVD with some great sketches (and there isn't many DVD's on Emery) stick to the Very Best of or Ohh, You are Awful movie, this is a bit of a let down really and should only be considered for the die hard Emery fan with a love for a Thames TV Big Number Spectaculars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dick Emery television specials, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
I found this dissapointing as I was expecting al lot more of 'ohh - you are awful', but it didn't come up once. I now realise that this part of his act was a lot later in his career. To be fair, it did have some very funny sketches, but they were spoilt by his terrible singing interludes. Generally good fun, but not 'out loud' laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy that doesn't fade, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for a friend and he really enjoyed the funny situations and characters created by Dick Emery. More than just the good old days of comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dick emery dvd tv specials, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
very funny as he was back in the old days when comedy was comedy miss the good old stuff from days
gone bye excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but., 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
It was quite an enjoyable watch, but some characters (eg. James Maynard Kitchener Lampwick) were sadly missing.

A really nice treat, is Lulu, sashaying about the stage :-)

Watch out for a young mike Mike Nolan (of Bucks Fizz fame) singing Freddie Mercury's Seaside Rendezvous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics are classics., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
Classics are classics, and they certainly garantee fun and a good laugh. Probably the picture quality isn't the best but still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant thank you., 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
was a xmas present for my dad
he always loved him and remember watching the show with him when i was a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Comedy - non politically correct, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Yadmaster "Yadmaster" (Melksham, WIltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
I grew up on this comedy and Dick Emery was a family favourite. Wehn I watch him now I see how restricted life in England has become thanks to the sad PC brigade and look forward their instant demise. This is comedy of its time in a better Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dick Emery - The Specials (But Not That Special), 26 April 2010
By 
W. Smith ""Winky 77"" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a great fan of Dick Emery but although this DVD has some interesting sketches which will make you chuckle I can only give it 3 stars as to my disappointment nearly all of his best characters are not included on this DVD. You get a very brief glimpse of "Clarence" and a big dose of "The Vicar" but that's it. My other gripe is he sings rather a lot and although he can sing it's not something I want to see on a comedy DVD. So, an average DVD with some amusing sketches but if you want to see his best creations just go on YouTube until a far better compilation is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dick Emery - The Thames Television Specials - Comedy Legend [DVD]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews