Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for that feeling?, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Simon Gosney (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
For anyone who was there at the magical reunion gigs last summer, or who has admired Blur at any point during their diverse and long career, this is likely to be the best music documentary you'll have seen for a long time.

Its the kind of film that makes you want to immediately listen to every Blur song you can lay your hands on. The soundtrack is, predictably, brilliant. But the great thing about it is the fantastic interview footage. Narratively, it tells the story of Blur from their childhood through to their reunion gigs, intercut with footage from the gigs and their warm-ups.

All four members come out of the film really well - even Damon, who is markedly more candid than he has been before. But the real star is Graham, who emerges as a raconteur of almost Noel Gallagher-esque wit. Most people at one of the few cinema screenings of this film were continually giggling out loud during much of his interview footage - and yet he's able to also totally break your heart when describing his abrupt departure from Blur during the recording of 'Think Tank'. He's hilariously funny one moment, and devastatingly self-aware the next.

Its profoundly moving stuff, as it is again, for different reasons, when he and Damon describe the chats they started having about reuniting, leading up to an obviously incredibly emotional Glastonbury gig. To hear each of the band talk about what that meant to them is really quite special. And its hard not to feel quite choked when Graham reflects that he fell in love with Damon all over again when he realised that they're basically the same after all, they "just do things differently".

As they go through their career, album by album, what also becomes clear is how 1997's 'Blur' is their true masterpiece, and just how pivotal Graham was in that album. And therein lies the true sadness of his alcoholism and departure - if the early years of Blur had seen Damon as the creative force, presciently spotting an opportunity for a leftfield indie band celebrating Britishness, it was Graham who had saved them after the chaos of 'The Great Escape' by re-routing their whole guitar sound to America. And then, just at their creative summit, they started to collapse. The reunion footage is particularly redemptive after seeing how they were barely functioning as a band during the disjointed recording of '13' and 'Think Tank'.

Its one of those rare films you want to immediately watch again. The DVD bonus of footage from the wonderful Hyde Park gigs is a further incentive to want to own it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blurry brilliant, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Twixie "Twixie" (Farnborough UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film is a bittersweet experience for any true Blur fan. I mean, it was amazing to see them and hear their thoughts on what went on with Damon/Graham etc, but it was tinged with a great sadness that they may never play together again or create any more of their amazing music. I do hope that they re-think this as there is still a lot of love for them - the fans would be delighted!!

Anyway, Graham is hilarious, loved his anecdotes, even the more sad stories are tinged with humour. Alex is always a joy to listen to - such a character. Damon, who is never at home speaking on camera, seemed less awkward than usual and you get a few insights into how his mind works. And Dave, he's great - always the one with feet more firmly on the ground I think.

The live footage, both recent and earlier, was brilliant to see, and as for the soundtrack well what would you expect?

Don't watch this thinking it will be a history of 'Britpop', it's most certainly not. It's Blur through and through and all the better for it.

If these four talented lovable scamps are your thing then you MUST buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice way to round things off...., 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Timothy C. Brown (lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The film is a documentary of the career of blur. Being a long time blur fan, it felt like an ideal way to tie the whole thing off and move us all on. The interviews with all 4 members of the band are revealing, and interesting. The footage is scattered between the earlier years on and off stage, and the more recent gigs in 2009.
The film falls down slightly, a lot of the footage has been seen before in the starshaped video, and the unseen clips of the band from the past are very brief. It would have benefitted from including more older clips that were shelved from the unreleased 'b roads' documentary. Also, the interviews dont really inform fans of anything different or new. ie we know beetlebum was about heroin, we are well aware of graham's alcohol problem... it would have been nice for the members of the band to go in to more depth about these more serious situations in blurs career.
That said, the film is a moving tribute to a varied and turbulent career, which at some point we were probably all part of. An absolute must for Blur fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Oasis, you've got nothing on these guys, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Lack "jdl102" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Having been to 3 of the gigs last summer and a fan of Blur from the Parklife days (I was merely 10 at the time), the documentary was a wonderful and massively nostalgic look at the career of Blur. Interspersed chronologically, the time line of their comeback tour last year runs alongside their career from being a young student band through to the recording of Think Tank. Although you can't cover all of Blur in a documentary, it gives us a well rounded view of them, peeks, troughs and all. Brilliantly filmed and well edited, it's a documentary that will make you laugh and feel amazing about the highs, make you feel sad about the split and then bring you back up for the comeback tour, where Blur become friends after 7 years. There is some wonderful archive footage of their earliest gigs and TV appearances (I particularly like it when Albarn is hosting a Top of the Pops style show and Noel and Liam G are mocking him from behind. Hilarious) and the live footage from last year is expertly captured in high detail. Never before have I seen a band in a music documentary come across with such personality or with such love for their music. There is just so much to love and to think about here and it will make you want Blur all over again.

If the documentary doesn't bring back your love of Blur, the live show from Hyde Park (I WAS THERE!!) certainly will. A well captured live event on a midsummers evening, it's a beauty to behold. Blur play through 26 of their hits, with the inclusion of some fantastic album tracks (Oily Water, Trim Trabb and Jubilee to name but a few). On stage they have commanding chemistry and from start to finish it's a massive sing-a-long with the audience (we were clearly loving it). It's expertly filmed with footage of the band from the stage and from the audience. Possibly one of the best live DVDs you'll ever see.

No one holds a candle to Blur (in my eyes at least) and for anyone out there who admires this band, it'll leave you grinning for a very long time once you're done with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blur - the concert I couldnt get to, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
Matthew (staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Well! After sitting here and watching both DVD's in turn I can quite honestly say it was worth the wait, the Hyde park concert was well shot and managed to capture the evening so well, I was only able to listen to it via the radio back in July, but even so, just watching the DVD evoked so many memories of past blur gig's that I have had the good fortune to attend. The chemistry and attitude from all the members in the performance was superb, and in my honest opinion, this footage does justice to the lads and the success of their return to the stage as the original line-up of blur. By saying that I don't mean any disrespect to Simon tongue whom took over from Graham for the Think Tank tour, he filled the boots admirably but, lacked charisma on stage I felt, then again, that's just what I think.

If you are a blur fan, and have been following them since the beginning, or are just curious to see what all the fuss is about, then the £12 is well worth it, the first disk goes in depth to see where the lads came from and what they were like back in the day, and I was suprised to see how much footage there was that I had never seen before, even though I own pretty much everything they have ever done, with the exception of a few singles.

Anyway, as I said well worth the money.

I am now one satisfied blur fan - VOTE DAVE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Saw the documentary on the telly a few months ago - went to the Hyde Park gig in August. Decided to buy this - was a little expensive - but that's my only gripe.

Original dispatch date was scheduled for the 10th of September, then the 3rd, then recieved an email saying it was going to be dispatched on Monday the 27th - it arrived a few days later, excellently packed and sealed, lovely sturdy box-set, an excellent collectors item. Top marks there! Playable on my cheap UK DVD player. Haven't tried laptop (but I don't watch DVDs on it anyway i'm afraid.)

The documentary is excellent though it does make me want to take up smoking again. Well structured with brilliant archive footage and interviews. I'll save my platitudes for the band and their music when I get my hands on the 21 boxset which i'll get later on in the year. Works as a snapsnot of the 90s very well. Nice in-depth discussion of each album (though it does malign 'The Great Escape' a bit.)

Haven't seen the live DVD yet, but seeing as it contains some of my favourites that they didn't play at the 2012 Hyde Park gig (Oily Water! Death of a Party! Chemical World!) i'm really looking forward to it. Looking at the tracklisting (or go to setlist.fm) you can see that a Blur gig will be an extensive sprawl through a varied back catalogue from the bish-bash-bosh of Parklife to the experimentation of Trimm Trabb and the excellent and soothing Out of Time. And of course you WILL blub when they finish with The Universal.

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd July 2009 Hyde Park London, 7 Mar. 2010
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Just a quick line or two. A must purchase for any real blur fan, a high quality well produced set featuring some of the best blur gig footage around. This DVD features a documentary on disc 1 and the whole of the Thursday 2nd July 2009 Hyde Park gig on the second. I haven't watched the documentary fully yet but just letting you know there is no footage of the 3rd July gig to be found here. So if you went to the Friday gig you're out of luck. Those lucky enough to attend the Thursday gig will find an incredible and well produced concert DVD with a tonne of crowd footage to play where's wally looking for themself. You can see yours truly clearly at 15min39secs in a purple t-shirt rubbing my hair. Watching this brought back great memories of last summer and gave me a different perspective on what could be the last time I/we get to see blur live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Awesome. Awesome documentary about one of Britain's best bands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant!, 19 Mar. 2010
By 
Tom Smith "NowiseWhiphand" (Claremont, California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Long overdue. Amazing high energy reunion captured in the park where "Parklife" was penned. As the sun sets & the moon rises Blur pumps out hit after hit. The documentary answers all questions & shows the band gearing up for the big show. Special appearances by "Jimmy" from Quadrophenia. I've watched it over & over & it gets better & better every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No distance left to ... happiness !, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Whoah ! What a comeback ! After some years without Blur, this live DVD is a must have for anyone, fan or just listener. A strong sound and a nice picture, giving the real atmosphere ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010]
No Distance Left To Run [DVD] [2010] by Will Lovelace (DVD - 2010)
£14.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews