Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value collection for those who want to explore Bread further
As a Bread fan for me their compilation albums are 5 stars every time. I will try to rate the individual albums which comprise this boxed set.
The first BREAD: 4 stars - a few catchy tunes here.
Outstanding are Dismal Day, London Bridge, Dnot Shut Me Out. It Dont Matter To Me.
Overall a very pleasant melodic album.
ON THE WATERS finds the band...
Published on 18 Dec. 2012 by Neilt

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5-bard Gates
Some great songs, some not so great, seemingly heavily correlated with how much involvement David Gates had with each song.

. But I always seem to especially love one or two that don't ever get onto compilations, so this was a must-buy. As is, though, an edited playlist from across these five CDs.
Published 9 months ago by Midnight_Voice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value collection for those who want to explore Bread further, 18 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
As a Bread fan for me their compilation albums are 5 stars every time. I will try to rate the individual albums which comprise this boxed set.
The first BREAD: 4 stars - a few catchy tunes here.
Outstanding are Dismal Day, London Bridge, Dnot Shut Me Out. It Dont Matter To Me.
Overall a very pleasant melodic album.
ON THE WATERS finds the band branching out musically but not so many catchy tunes.
Outstanding are Make it with you, Look What Youve Done, The Other Side of life. 3 Stars
MANNA Outsatanding tracks Let Your Love Go, the beautiful Too Much Love, Truckin, Hes a Good Lad. 3 Stars.
BABY IM A WANT YOU Outstanding tracks Baby I'm a want you, the beautiful Diary, the classic Everything I Own. Worth 4 stars for those tracks alone.
GUITAR MAN Almost all the tracks are outstanding 5 Stars, a classic album.
Overall this box set his good value for money as you can explore Bread further.
However I would strongly recommend the double cd BREAD RETROSPECTIVE which includes the outstanding Bread songs plus David Gates and James Griffin best solo tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly the ultimate collection, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
This is an attractive package - five LP-replica-style CDs in a slip case. All look and sound great. If you already know the albums, then you'll know what to expect, but if you just know Bread from their hit singles, it's worth knowing that a lot of the album material is less attractive (to my ears, anyway) than the hits like "Make it With You", "Guitar Man", "Baby I'm a-Want You" and so on. There aren't too many unknown classics to unearth - but there are certainly some nice cuts to discover. (Sadly there are no sleeve notes to guide the listener.)

Still, this is Bread and this is their legacy, and this is a well priced, well presented collection which you will probably keep for life. All the greatest tracks are included on the albums of course, but fans of "It Don't Matter To Me" should note that the album track here is not the same as the famous hit single - it sounds more like a demo version, but is of course the correct selection for the original LP. Annoyingly, this means you can't really throw out your greatest hits CD...

It's also worth noting that their last (sometimes called "comeback") album is not included here, so it's not quite the full works. Still, an extremely nice product to have and to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Album Series - Bread, 6 April 2010
By 
Bald Kiwi (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I was a fan of Bread from their original appearances in the charts in the late 60's and early 70's, but have always been disappointed with the various compilation "Best of" offerings to date as they generally contained alternative mixes or arrangements and thus sounded different from my mmories. Not so with this Original Album series which appears to be everything the original was, but in economical packaging - the cardboard sleeves replicating the original 12" vinyl album sleeves. Containing five albums, this is a great way to boost your collection, and at an economical price it is still worth it, even if you already had a couple of the albums. With five albums there is a small amount of duplication of tracks, but the plus is that all their great hits are there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread, 9 July 2010
By 
John Myatt (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
This set contains the 5 original albums by Bread all of which I have on vinyl from original release. The music covers a range of late 60's early 70's middle of the road music, from Gates love songs to the more edgy music of Griffin. The weak albums here are Baby I'm a want you and Manna (the third and fourth album. The only disappointment is the covers (which are reproductions of the original covers, note this is only the outer covers, Manna and Baby I'm a want you had fold outs) the writting is very small and reading from the card covers is difficult; the track details are on the cardboard box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Brilliant, you should have this in your collection. Easy listening, great sound. You can't beat these lovely oldies, get your pennies out and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vynal replaced, 5 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Cattanach (Cawood, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I had bought 4 of these albums when they first came out. Because the varied "Best of" albums did not have all my favourites and because the price was very reasonable I decided to buy. I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread collection, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I had all these cd's in my collection (in LP and cassette form )many years back,they still sound brilliant today,especially their first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
The ratio of quality music to price is incredible in this collection. You simply can't beat the price. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five of their six original albums, only missing the last one (the least significant one). All classics of the genre, 4 Jun. 2012
By 
David Pearlman "sound fanatic" (Arlington, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Bread released a total of five albums during their original lifetime, and these are all collected here. After a breakup, they did one additional reunion album, Lost Without Your Love, which was inferior to the original string, and which is not included.

There isn't a dud album here, and these can all be considered classics of what has come to be known as the "California sound" or "mellow rock". The songs here are unerringly melodic, often lyrically significant, and impeccably played, sung AND arranged. The hits--and there were many--only tell half the story, as many of the deep album cuts are just as good.

If you like any of these albums, you'll want them all. And this package is one stop shopping at a good price. I've docked the package 1 star because the packaging is chintzy: Thin mini-LP sleeves, no inner sleeves, no liner notes. But the music...great stuff.

There are no bonus tracks, but outside of a couple on the 2CD Bread compilation that Rhino issued years back, none have been issued (that no one has bothered to create deluxe editions of any of these albums is unfortunate). So if you buy these albums separately, you won't get anything else--except nicer packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A full slice of bread, 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Used to own these on vinyl and remember buying the Bread original LP many moons ago! Great to have them all in one set, and takes me back listening to the variety of songs again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series (5 Pack)
Original Album Series (5 Pack) by Bread (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews