Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cars
I have never been a huge fan of The Cars, owning only a vinyl copy of "Candy-O" and a "best of".
I came upon this box, was taking by a wave of nostalgia, and bought it.
I immediatly went for the album I knew (Candy-O) and was amazed at how well it stood the test of time. Then went on to the first album, and really discovered a great album, where Roy thomas...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by Phil On

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...The Good Life Is Just A Dream Away..." - Original Album Series by THE CARS (2010 5CD Mini Box Set)
Aping the success of Sony's similarly packaged 5CD box sets, WEA is releasing over FORTY x 5CD "Original Album Series" mini box sets of their own. Issued in the UK and Europe only, the artists featured stretch from rhythm 'n' blues icons of the 1950s (Ray Charles and Clyde McPhatter with The Drifters) all the way through to Metal And Indie bands of the 2000s (Dokken and...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...The Good Life Is Just A Dream Away..." - Original Album Series by THE CARS (2010 5CD Mini Box Set), 9 Mar 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
Aping the success of Sony's similarly packaged 5CD box sets, WEA is releasing over FORTY x 5CD "Original Album Series" mini box sets of their own. Issued in the UK and Europe only, the artists featured stretch from rhythm 'n' blues icons of the 1950s (Ray Charles and Clyde McPhatter with The Drifters) all the way through to Metal And Indie bands of the 2000s (Dokken and Echo & The Bunnymen). For those interested, I've compiled a full listing of titles in the series in the 'comment' section attached to this review (some are superb, some are not).

Here's the fine-detail for THE CARS set - released Monday 1 March 2010 in the UK on Elektra/Rhino 8122 79828 1, "Original Album Series" 5CD box set breaks down as follows (none of the discs contain bonus tracks):

Disc 1 is "The Cars" their 9-track debut album released 1978 on Elektra 6E-135 in the USA and Elektra K 52088 in the UK (35:13 minutes)

Disc 2 is "Candy-O" their 11-track 2nd album released 1979 on Elektra 5E-507 in the USA and Elektra K 52148 in the UK (36:33 minutes)

Disc 3 is "Panorama" their 10-track 3rd album released 1980 on Elektra 5E-514 in the USA and Elektra K 52240 in the UK (40:33 minutes)

Disc 4 is "Shake It Up" their 9-track 4th album released 1981 on Elektra 5E-567 in the USA and Elektra K 52330 in the UK (40:45 minutes)

Disc 5 is "Heartbeat City" their 10-track 5th album released March 1984 on Elektra ST-E 60296-1 in the USA and Elektra 960 296-1 in the UK (38:38 minutes)

ARTWORK/PACKAGING:
The five single card sleeves reflect the 'original' front and rear US LP artwork - the gatefold of "Heartbeat City" is not reproduced nor is the inner sleeve for any of the five albums. Each front sleeve is also now 'bordered' with a colour and the label on the CD then reflects that colour code - Dark Blue for Disc 1, Green for 2, Black for 3, Red for 4 and Brown for 5. The outer card box is lightweight and therefore a little bit flimsy (unlike the glossy hard-card Sony issues), but having said that, the card sleeves themselves still look pretty cool once out of the box. And it's also nice to see the original artwork used - it makes such a big difference on the Otis Redding, Paul Butterfield Blues Band [see review], Drifters and Clyde McPhatter and Dionne Warwick rear sleeves - beautiful original album artwork.

SOUND:
Some CD sites seemed to have automatically 'presumed' that each of these sets is "digitally remastered", but it categorically does NOT state that on the outer box or any of the card sleeves or discs. Rhino have been contacted about this thorny subject by fans around the world and Rhino confirm that these are NOT REMASTERS - only repackaging of those discs presently in the marketplace. So if the album was remastered in the 1990's (Aretha Franklin, The Drifters) or the 2000's (Warren Zevon, The Pretender) then that's what you get - if they weren't - then you get the same crappy Eighties discs that have been in the marketplace for decades.

With regard to this Cars set then - the 1st album therefore sounds great (done a while back), but when you compare the superbly detailed and punchy remasters of "Drive" and "You Might Think" on the "Just What I Needed" 2CD 1996 anthology to their versions on here, you immediately hear how dull these versions are; they're the iffy Eighties issues that have needed upgrading for decades. The best way to describe these CDs is that the sound is good - just not great.

To sum up - if you don't own any Cars stuff then the 2CD anthology "Just What I Needed" is a far better buy (and better annotated). But if you just want a slice of great pop, then dig in - just don't expect fireworks in the sound department. I'm afraid remasters of the whole albums are still "...just a dream away".

PS: For US fans this set is an expensive import box giving them CD albums they already own and are reduced to cents online... I'd say avoid.

Also with regard to sound - so far the Little Feat, Bread, Los Lobos, Chris Rea, Dr. John and Rickie Lee Jones sets are also disappointingly reported as NON REMASTERS too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cars, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I have never been a huge fan of The Cars, owning only a vinyl copy of "Candy-O" and a "best of".
I came upon this box, was taking by a wave of nostalgia, and bought it.
I immediatly went for the album I knew (Candy-O) and was amazed at how well it stood the test of time. Then went on to the first album, and really discovered a great album, where Roy thomas Baker's touch is still very palpable.
Slowly I made my way through the other albums, finding more gems and a tighter sharper new wave rock production giving full credit to great rock songs, melodies and musicianship.
The cars were (are) a great 80's band, mixing the tightness of the 80's, the songwritting of the late seventies...and more.
Very good box indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HDCD Remastered - A Great Buy, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
The review above is inaccurate in stating that the Cars discs are not remastered. They are the HDCD remasters and, unusually for a 'remaster', sound just fine. Combined with nice simple packaging this makes for a classic collection at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound, 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I was put off buying this for a while by some of the reviews that suggested the discs might not sound good. Finally bought it and they sound fine. The first album sounds the same as the one in the deluxe reissue. Heartbeat City sounds the same as my original cd. I mainly bought it for the middle three discs and am more than happy with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First 5 Cars albums, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Mr Beery (The sunny south west) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
This contains the first 5 Cars albums only missing out Door To Door (weaker than all of these) and the recent 2011 comeback album Move Like This (as good as it could be considering the loss of Benjamin Orr). Most songs are sung by Ric Ocasek but some have Benjamin Orr on vocals eg. Drive.

The Cars - The classic first album produced by Roy Thomas Baker (produced the first 4 albums and also produced 70s Queen albums from Queen II to A Night At The Opera). Not a duff track and still sounds great. If you like My Best Friends Girl and Just What I Needed you should like the rest. Some tracks like I'm In Touch With Your World may sound a bit quirky on first listen but break it up nicely on repeated listens.

Candy-O - Sounds similar to the first album and may on first listen not sound as strong song-wise but it really is just as good. It's All I Can Do, Double Life and Night Spots hit the (Night) spot for me.

Panorama - Probably the oddest of their albums and reflects their influences at the time: I think Ric Ocasek liked the some of the more experimental late 70s electronic groups including Suicide. At other times this sounds a bit like Devo. You may think it the weakest of these albums but I play it as much as the others. Key tracks are Panorama (rather hypnotic), Touch And Go and You Wear Those Eyes.

Shake It Up - Moving towards a beefier, poppier 80s sound this still has a great mix of catchy and edgy (well, edgy for the Cars anyway) tracks. Apart from the last two tracks where it flags a bit it's very good. Strangely the last two tracks have the same names as two following tracks on my Best of Buddy Holly album (but they're different songs). Maybe he was a fan.

Heartbeat City - Big change in production as out went RT Baker and in came John 'Mutt' Lange, producer of 3 AC/DC albums including Back In Black, Bryan Adams and later (his wife) Shania Twain. Has a typical 80s sound but some great songs including Magic, Heartbeat City, You Might Think and, the Live Aid favourite, Drive. The rest is great too with personal faves It's Not the Night and Why Can't I Have You.

The other great Cars track Tonight She Comes which appeared on the Greatest Hits is sadly not included but would have sounded good tagged on to the end of Heartbeat City. There are no extra tracks. Apart from Tonight She Comes the box set Just What I Needed revealed there wasn't too much not already released on albums of any merit. It wouldn't have hurt to have included a couple of b sides though.

For further listening check out Ric Ocasek's first two solo albums Beautitude and This Side Of Paradise. Both are very good the first leaning towards Panorama and the second having more of a Heartbeat City sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than just 'Drive', 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I used to get a bit fed up of hearing 'Drive' so much, especially on compilations, and tended to write them off as a one song soft rock outfit. But then I picked up one of their cds in a charity shop and realised that they were more than that. They actually wrote some decent rock songs as well. When I saw this box set at well under a tenner I decided to give them another go and wasn't disappointed. If you like a good rock song these five albums will certainly come up with the goods and will leave you humming one or two of the other songs that 'Drive' tends to overshadow. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars seems to have all the hits, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
purchased the set a few days ago to expand my exposure to the cars ; yes it is quite innovative and catchy ; only 'downer' is that the asking-price seems to have been halved , seemingly just after I placed my order!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great find, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I never really knew who the Cars were until recently but have rally enjoyed their music and this collection of CD's is great value and covers a lot of their output-excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I've loved the Cars since 'Drive' got linked to Live Aid. Rick Okasek is a real original. Great value as a 5 pack - I was prepared to buy them individually!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man on the move, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
Excellent songs and music, listened to the cars way back in the 80's, still have some vinyl albums, now, the ones I couldn't find for many years, I have it complete thanks to theses CD's, just lay back listen and enjoy, what more do you want, move to the music, it's great, you gotta move that way....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series [5 Pack]
Original Album Series [5 Pack] by The Cars (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews