Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OTIS REDDING - need I say more?
Otis Redding was a soul singer; to some, the greatest soul singer ever. His recording career lasted from his first single release in October 1962 to his death (at the age of 26) in a plane crash in December 1967. He was born in Dawson, Georgia, moving to Macon, Georgia at the age of 5. His studio based albums (on the Stax/Volt label) were all recorded in Memphis,...
Published on 18 May 2011 by Dangerous Dave

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Otis Redding Original Series ( 5 Pack)
I am a fan of Otis Redding type of soul musc i think these set of cds are very good,I would recommend them to any soul fan.i am sure they will enjoy them,

J. C Burke.i
Published 3 months ago by boysie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OTIS REDDING - need I say more?, 18 May 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Otis Redding was a soul singer; to some, the greatest soul singer ever. His recording career lasted from his first single release in October 1962 to his death (at the age of 26) in a plane crash in December 1967. He was born in Dawson, Georgia, moving to Macon, Georgia at the age of 5. His studio based albums (on the Stax/Volt label) were all recorded in Memphis, Tennessee. He was backed by Booker T and the MG,s (Booker T. Jones - organ/piano, Steve Cropper - guitar, Al Jackson - drums, Lewis Steinberg later Duck Dunn - bass) who also recorded under their own name, usually augmented by a horn section who later became known as the Memphis Horns. The combined MG's and Memphis Horns appeared on almost every recording from Stax. Some of the MG's and MH's were also present in the earlier Memphis based instro band, the Markeys.

Otis recorded 5 studio albums under his own name while he was alive. This is that grouping.

For the money, the value this package represents is utterly fantastic. Almost all of Otis' oeuvre - in terms of studio albums it only omits the posthumous "Dock of the Bay" and the duets one with Carla Thomas. OK it doesn't include any live stuff but there isn't a terrific amount and you could buy that separately. In response to possible comment, I am aware that the original sleeve notes are nice to have (and I do have the vinyl) but I can assure you that you're not missing anything too great for this set.

In original sequence the albums are:

"Pain in my Heart" - which as you might expect contains early and formative material, very largely covers, but does include the excellent title track and his first single "These arms of mine". I'd rate this at 3 stars.

"The great Otis Redding sings soul ballads" - this largely consists of slow intense ballads (as it's title suggests!) which were the basis of much of his later work. But "Mr Pitiful" his first really funky single is also present to slightly break the pattern. Four stars.

"Otis Blue" - his best known, and, in pretty well everyone's view, his best album. Contains "I've been loving you too long", (have you seen the great live version of this number in the Monterey Pop festival?) and his version of Sam Cooke's "A change is gonna come". Five stars. See also my review.

"The Soul Album" is his least known album but there's not much of a quality drop. Four stars from me. Again, see my reviews.

"The Dictionary of Soul". Another great one. Not a bad track on it and many highlights including "Try a little Tenderness". Five stars and see review.

Overall you can't go wrong here. Five stars taking into account the vast amount of fabulous material this set contains. What did we do before they started packaging the good old stuff in this manner?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original is Right!, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Henry O. Chapman (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
It is so satisfying to listen to the albums in their entirety as they were intended to be heard; these are the masterworks on which the legend was born.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
This id fantastic Value. I cannot belive a prev reviewer complained about the artwork this is not about how it looks its about the music the big o is fantastic most of the classics are here looking forward to vol 2!! put simply Buy It!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great box set, 10 Mar 2013
By 
S. Bartle "Stewart" (staffordshire, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
This is the first Otis reading cd I have bought and I don't know how I missed this guy for so long, it's brilliant soul music and his voice is magical. Buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Filippo Lomaglio "Filippo beat" (Novara ITA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Hello, I'm italian and sorry for my english.

Very good product and very good music and, last but not least, very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy! 5 Otis albums!, 22 Oct 2012
By 
C. Vaughan "Caterina" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Such value for money and sooooo many great songs. One thing I did notice that 'Love Man' (you all know this track and you probably didn't know it was Redding) isn't on any on the albums. I have it anyway, as I'm a huge fan, but it is one of his best song and it's a shame it isn't on here. Otis Redding:genious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than a greatest hits compilation!, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I love this idea: instead of just "the hits" (which are different depending on with whom you speak), you get all of the great ALBUMS, and can decide for yourself which songs are your "greatest hits"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not 5 stars as not every album he released, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Off the top of my head Love Man is missing (I already have it so not bothered). Just a heads up for people who think they'll get it all with this collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music but not so great artwork, 21 Jun 2010
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
Of course the music was going to be great.
Though, I would have bought these albums on iTunes instead if I had known the format they have come in.
I buy physical discs because I love the artwork and everything that comes with it.
If it was to be just for the songs in reproduced paper covers with everything else missing, there's no need for the hardware.
...not a big complaint really, it's a bargain otherwise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Otis Redding Original Series ( 5 Pack), 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (5 Pack) (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Otis Redding type of soul musc i think these set of cds are very good,I would recommend them to any soul fan.i am sure they will enjoy them,

J. C Burke.i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series (5 Pack)
Original Album Series (5 Pack) by Otis Redding (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews