Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad but what's with the product description????
IGNORE THE AMAZON BLURB

There is absolutely nothing about a fey independence party in England or anywhere else for that matter.

The story is entertaining enough because Merry actually goes to work in this book.
Basically Merry and her entourage of Daddies to be plus assorted other exiles are back in LA. Despite living rent free on Maeve Reeds...
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by Jilana

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretend the series ended at book 7
I was quite surprised to see another Merry Gentry novel on the shelf at my local library, as I'd assumed Swallowing Darkness was the final installment, it seemed to wrap things up pretty nicely. I'm still not quite sure what Divine Misdemeanors is meant to be, though I did check the title page several times to check I'd not picked up some of the worst type of fan fiction...
Published on 23 Jan 2010 by bluecougar25


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretend the series ended at book 7, 23 Jan 2010
I was quite surprised to see another Merry Gentry novel on the shelf at my local library, as I'd assumed Swallowing Darkness was the final installment, it seemed to wrap things up pretty nicely. I'm still not quite sure what Divine Misdemeanors is meant to be, though I did check the title page several times to check I'd not picked up some of the worst type of fan fiction by mistake. Merry goes back to her old job as a PI, though life and notoriety and being pregnant are making having a quiet life pretty tricky. And Merry has sex, with lots of different men, and then another bit of crime happens, then more sex, etc. Half the characters suddenly start being argumentative, and the rest seem to appear from nowhere (I'm surely not the only one to have lost track as to who is who in her large entourage of guards), and what interesting subplot there is about the Goddess' intervention and the effects of Merry's power on the outside world keeps getting sidetracked into more arguments and mainly un-arousing sex (for a series that can be summed up as "faery porn" usually in a good way this is not a plus point. The book was by turns confusing, tedious and repetitive - Merry's insights into the fey were very handy for the police detective but they both seemed to have short memories as the second time Merry mentioned the exact same fact, the detective took it as new information. Um?

Avoid, avoid, avoid.

(Which Merry Gentry book contains the England-based plot given in the Amazon review, incidently, I would love to know, because it sure ain't this one, which stays firmly in LA.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I keep hoping its going to get better..., 8 Feb 2010
By 
Read Me (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
I think like a lot of Laurell K Hamilton's reviewers if you're a loyal fan then you'll read this book and the next Anita Blake one anyway. Yet sooo many of the reviews on here are negative that I do wonder why everyone carries on.

Firstly I always prefered Merry to Anita as at least with her you always knew what you were getting (which tends to be sex and politics) whereas Anita Blake seems to have an identity crisis for the last 5 books. This novel sees Merry in a sort of self enforced exile in LA, living as normal a life as the pregnant sidhe princess of the Unseelie Court can. Her job with Jeremy's detective agency is back on and she is trying to help the police solve some demi-fey murders. All good so far - sounds like a plot. Yet as ever its the confusion of things - too many guards, too many lovers, what power has Galen got again? Do I care that Barinthus's hair looks like the sea? Can I actually remember all the fathers of Merry's babies? Sometimes it even appears as though Hamilton knows she's got too many characters and some of them get the briefest of mentions in this book.

If anything this book seems more like a filler used to illustrate that Merry and her guards are out of fairie now and see where this leads them. Hopefully some of the things that are hinted at in this novel (Barinthus's power struggles, the soldier's hold on Merry's powers, the Goblin unrest) will be expanded on in the next and we'll be back to political backbiting and plotting deaths in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why is there another book?, 19 April 2010
By 
S. Croft - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have no idea what has happened to LKH, is she just milking it for everything its worth? Whats happened to Anite Blake? And now whats happening to Merry? As far as I understood the whole purpose of the fey series was that Merry wanted to get pregnant in order to gain the crown. In book 7 she becomes pregnant and also sacrifices the crown. Therefore that is a conclusion to a series! So why is there another book? Its like having Titanic 2- there is nothing to say! LKH seems unable to end at a good time. She should have ended this at book 7 and Anita Blake god knows how many books ago. Quit whilst you're ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Kash (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with many of the other reviews of this book especially around the direction the series is taking. After getting mid-way through the Anita Blake books and them losing all sense of a story I found myself preferring this series. But LKH is taking the Merry books in the same direction as the anita blake books. There is now no difference between the series, the focus is solely on how many men/ paranormal beings the female lead caharacter can have sex with. Without the massive sections of the book which focusses on all the sexual encounters the story would take up less than 100 pages!!!
I will no longer buy LKH books as soon as they are released - I will be waiting until they are a lot cheaper and I can trust that they have a proper story line.

What a shame as this series started off so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Merry Hits Rock Bottom, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Merry is back Stateside in self imposed exile working as a detective with her harem of guys. Yet life as it is won't let up and with the intrigue of a new case for her to investigate as lesser demi fae are murdered in a pattern reminiscent of an obscure fairy tale. Hounded by the media Merry has to fight tooth and claw to get to the bottom of everything whilst dealing with her pregnancy. Whilst this seems like ideal material the major problem with this offering is that the whole tale is more sexploitation over plot which whilst constantly getting the character off didn't do a damn thing for me. Almost as if Laurell had a kernel of an idea and with deadlines really didn't think it through just bulking it out with unnecessary alongside standard sex scenes almost as if she had them all ready just to insert (if you'll excuse the pun) to fill up page quota's.

At the tales conclusion I really felt cheated and ripped off with this offering from Laurell, so much so that I am seriously considering giving up on this series as I'm getting fed up of the transformation from Merry the Woman to Merry the Walking Mattress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plagiarism rules, OK?, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Jane Lawrence "Jay" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
I keep buying Laurell K Hamilton's books on the strength of the excellent start of the series,particularly the Anita Blake books, but I'm having serious doubts about continuing. One of her reviewers pointed out once that Laurell plagiarises herself like no other author. Well, I suppose if you hit on ingredients that work, it's understandable to reuse them. However, faithful follower that I have been, even I admit that the two series are now so close to each other that it's hard to tell them apart, except that one series is about vampires and werewolves and the other about fairies (sorry, unpronouncable sidhe). Both have turned into a category of sexual gratifications with each lead female character - for purely altruistic purposes - as they work their way through all their male devotees and companions. Even the male characters are hard to tell apart sometimes. Was that Galen or Nathaniel? Asher or Killing Frost? I've said it before: Laurell needs to get back on track with a satisfying plot. Divine Misdemeanours does have a thread of one, but it fizzles out lamely. No super-sleuthing for Merry: she spends most of her detective hours fending off the papparazzi with her security team of lesser gods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad but what's with the product description????, 4 Dec 2009
By 
IGNORE THE AMAZON BLURB

There is absolutely nothing about a fey independence party in England or anywhere else for that matter.

The story is entertaining enough because Merry actually goes to work in this book.
Basically Merry and her entourage of Daddies to be plus assorted other exiles are back in LA. Despite living rent free on Maeve Reeds sprawling estate they've got to eat and so that means earning a living. Merry goes back to work at Grey's Detective Agency - "Magical problems - Magical solutions" and begins helping the Police in the hunt for a very nasty serial killer who's targeting the Lesser Fey.

There is less bump and grind and more plot as opposed to all plotting and bumping as in previous novels. I found the Central characters are all present and correct and not too two dimensional although I hope that Ms Hamilton isn't going to fall into the Anita Blake trap of introducing so many characters that you stop caring who's who and give up on the tales altogether.

So I'm recommending it and hopefully the series will continue being entertaining and future books worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, how tedious, 24 Dec 2009
By 
NickG (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a 4-chapter murder mystery embedded within 45-odd chapters of sex and angst. Every time a new male character makes an appearance, we take time out to get him neatly embedded into the Merry-centred sexual clique. How does he affect her sexually? And how does she affect him? What does each (in tedious detail) of the other guys think of him? And what does he think of them? There's even a classic TV soap change-the-individual's-charcater-out-of-all-recognition-to-create-some-gratuitous-dramatic-tension device involving a character we've met several times already.

If anyone wants to know, the 4 murder-mystery chapters are:
1. Bodies are discovered
2. Some new and sinister characters are introduced. Might they in some way be linked to the murders? Duh!!
3. We find out they are indeed linked
4. There is a denouement that leaves Merry all ready for novel number 9

You could happily skip the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, 21 Mar 2010
By 
I almost didn't read this book because of the poor reviews, but I enjoyed it and I think some of the criticisms made by other reviwers are a little unfair.

I agree that the Anita and Meridith characters are becoming a little too similar and I think that it would be better if there was more to differentiate betweeen them apart from one series being set in Faerie and the other with vampires. There ia less bump and grind in this book than in previous ones, but it's still there.

The product desciption is not related to the book. A more accurate desciption of the plot is provided by other reviewers. I felt the murder mystery aspect of the book was ok. The author needs a plot to compensate for the lack of political manoeverings now that Merry is back in LA.

Overall the book is a decent read. Not as good as the earlier books in the series, but I always find that as series continues it seems to become harder for authors to maintain their orginality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 16 Aug 2010
By 
sl Ratcliffe (midlands, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i really enjoyed the first two or three books in this series, but lately ive been finding each story difficult to read. in this one i actually gave up after one hundred pages, something i very rarely do. the plots are all quite similar which other reviewers have also highlighted. there is a little danger, mystery and a lot of sex. it seems that the more partners merry has gathered the more i have started to lose interest, sometimes her behavior is positively slutty and detracts from any plot left. it is all down to personal choice and and mine must be more conventional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews