Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad and funny
This movie is a good old-fashioned animated story about an ostracized Australian girl and an American with undiagnosed Asperger syndrome. The story revolves around the letters they sent each other, a dialogue that began when the girl chose an american name at random to ask where babies come from. As the story evolves Mary grows up and Max descends into his syndrome. Weird...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate hotdogs...
A homely, friendless Australian girl picks a name out of a phone book and writes to him, and sends a chocolate bar.

She's Mary, the only child of an alcoholic mother and a distracted father. He's Max, living alone in New York, overweight, subject to anxiety attacks.

He writes back, with chocolate. Thus begins a 20-year correspondence, interrupted by...
Published 17 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most creative films I've ever seen!, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. Martyn R. Yates (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
First off, I had no idea what to expect from reading a tiny review of this film in my Total film magazine. I thought "Oh, that looks interesting" so I decided to give it a look. One of the best films I've ever seen. I've never seen a film like this.... EVER! I love how creative and imaginative this film is. The story is really good and so well put together. I loved the actors as Mary and Max. They were brilliant, no-one else would have done them justice. The visuals are fantastic, quite jaw-dropping. I love the animation. It's heart is in the right place, it's moving, touching, very funny and all in all A brilliant film.

Overall: 10/10= It's refreshing to see a film as brilliant as this when as of recent with 2010 just finishing there were a lot of very good films but quite a collection of tripe as well. I love this film! I highly recommend it to everyone! This film is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most emotive piece of animation I've seen in a long time, 17 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this film after seeing the trailer on YouTube, Didn't know anything much about it, but after watching it thought it was the most emotive piece of animation i have seen in a long time. The characters are great and it is a wonderful story.
The animation was not slick or cgi-ed which only added to it's charm, keeping it simple with traditional methods took me back to early 3D animation that i had watched as a child. I recommend this film to anyone with a love of a good story and a love for animation, it's heartfelt with a great message, enjoy!
I can only hope to see more like this in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greatest film I've seen in the last 10 years., 9 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched Harvey Krumpet about 15 years ago and fell in love with the charters and the love that clearly went into making the animation, this being included in the bonus material is a huge plus! if you're looking for a film that will make you think and possibly change your views on the subject of psychological illnesses Mary and Max is the film for you! I've studied psychology and can quite honestly say this film will give you a better insight into the human mind than most text books. I've sat my friends down and forced them to watch this and all but 1 thought it was beautifully animated and admired the hand made sets, the one person who didn't enjoy it, found she could relate to well to one of the characters and their illness, they also admitted to me after watching the film they have a phobia of characters made from clay/ plasticine.
this film requires an attention span, if you don't have one, try and enjoy the beautiful background music, and the work that went into making the scaled down sets and all the little things going on in the background during the quiet moments because its so worth your attention.

In conclusion i cannot recommend it enough, BUT, don't think that because its an animation that its going to be all laughs smiles and happy endings, yes there's parts of this film where i was rolling around on the floor with laughter but within minutes it was teaching me the meaning of friendship. despite being a claymation film its more true to real life than any film I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having Fun With Dark Material, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
`Wallace and Gromit' have dominated the Claymation screen for too long and it's about time they moved over for something far darker and more adult. Enter `Mary and Max', a Claymation film about pen pals, mental illness and a sense of loneliness. Mary is a lonely Australian girl growing up in 1970s Australia. She decides to randomly pick a pen pal from New York; enter Max, a middle aged man with more than his fair share of problems. Through a series of letter they learn about one another and create a relationship that will last a life time, but will either of them ever be truly happy?

`Mary and Max' is a triumphant film on many levels. The animation itself looks great. In truth, the models look very ugly, but that is done on purpose by creator/director Adam Elliot. Elliot has created a very dark and sad world for both Mary and Max; she has an existence of subdued yellows, he entirely in black and white. The characters themselves are no beauties to look at, but their literal warts and all make them feel more human, although they are cartoonish.

It is not just the animation that makes the film work. The story is also exceptional. Elliot has written a sad tale, but is also very funny - the way in which Mary's young mind picks up things and Max's mind distorts them. This dynamic leads to many laughs, although some of the subject matter is sad. The film also benefits from having top quality actors to voice characters; Toni Collette and Philip Seymour Hoffman - both are great character actors in their own right and give nuanced performances here. However, the stand out voice work is done by Bethany Whitmore as Young Mary as she gets the best lines and delivers them perfectly.

With equal parts laughter and sadness, `Mary and Max' is not an out and out comedy, but an intelligent and thought provoking drama that just happens to be made out of clay. The extras are worth watching for the alternative ending alone which gives the film a completely different feel and I am glad that Elliot used the ending he did.

Sammy Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for Jennifer Aniston's fans..., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
Negative reviews about this movie do seriously baffle me.Not sure how it was rated, perhaps as a family movie which in fact is not, but it does only deserve so much better than two or three stars rating. It's the poignant, touchy and often hilarious story of an unlikely friendship between two individuals of different ages who struggle in life for different reasons. Over the years they create a special bond, learn to deal with their own (and each other's) flaws and insecurities and share the good things they have, including slices of cakes and improbable recipes.

Taste is something absolutely personal, but I still cannot believe that some people found "Mary and Max" to be boring or depressing. If you expect some sort of Hollywood style-happy ending-chickflick, this movie is definitely not for you. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy it :)
I wouldn't watch it with kids unless you are prepared to discuss with them and answer their questions about mental diseases, sexuality (at some stage Mary asks Max if he knows where kids come from), addictions and death. Recommended to intelligent adults with a quirky sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Tears for Max', 4 Jan. 2012
By 
A.McGrath - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
I would have given this 10 stars if available. Just brilliant! A stop-motion animated film that encompasses and explores the human conditions of Friendship, Loneliness, Suicide, Alcoholism, Obesity, Agoraphobia and Asperger's syndrome with a sympathetic, dry and sometimes earthy wit. The use of desaturation accentuates the drama and the music is great. A very slick production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a near perfect balance between dark humour and misfortune, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
Personally I really loved this. It is a claymation animation about a decades long correspondence between a lonely teenage girl in the Australian suburbs and an overweight man in New York.

There is a near perfect balance between dark humour and misfortune throughout. As the film progresses it is obvious that these characters deserve far better from life than they get, these are two really lovely people with courage and big hearts. The claymation animation grows on you during the film, and it has obviously been done with an enormous attention for detail and sense of humour.

The real strength is the tremendous script, jam packed with great lines, many wonderfully narrated by Barry Humphries. The film is probably not to everyone's taste, but for once the trailer is good reflection of the film, if you like the trailer then you will love the film, if you don't like the trailer then don't bother with the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Sweet Film, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
This is really clever film. It uses stop frame animation (a mix of Aardman and Tim Burton in style) to tell a very sweet, funny and entertaining story. I found everything about the film to be pretty much perfect. The narration is spot on, the animation very clever and the story and themes very relevant. It all adds up to a very satisfying film. It may not be as well known as many of the other animated movies released in recent years, but as a rough guide, if you are an adult and liked Up, then I'm sure you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All human life is here ... beautiful work!, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this disc on the strength of the reviews and I wasn't disappointed. In fact Mary & Max is now in my top 10 favourite films.
This is (at times) very funny, always entertaining, often extremely profound gem of a story about two individuals facing major problems.
Both become highly likeable, loveable even and never has the delicacy of the human mind been better illustrated.
I'd go as far to suggest that this film is a work of minor genius. Absolutely superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not like the others, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary & Max [DVD] (DVD)
I love cartoon films, but Mary and Max projects them into a new genre. These are sad people, in sad colours,with sudden touches of brightness - a bright colour, a filmic reference, an insight that make the characters believable and touching. And it's funny. It makes Disney, mangas and even my beloved Nick Parks seem qauche and vulgar. I hope this young man's family and friends are numerous enough for him to make more films of the same quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary & Max [DVD]
Mary & Max [DVD] by Toni Collette (DVD - 2011)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews