Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but not challenging.
Angela writes a blog, and is one of the few people to be able to use this as a career opportunity. She also has a rock star boyfriend; in short she has the perfect life.
As if you do not dislike her already, she is whisked away to Hollywood to interview the next big thing; who turns out to be a hunk. Surprise, surprise. You can guess which way the story will...
Published on 8 Oct. 2009 by AyJay

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Heart Hollywood
Angela Clark has barely been settled in New York for 6 months when her editor at The Look magazine tells her that she's being given a special assignment: she's off to La-La land to interview an actor hotter than Brad Pitt - James Jacobs. Angela duly takes up the challenge and sets off to LA with best friend Jenny, however when she gets there she finds that LA isn't as...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Leah Graham


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Heart Hollywood, 24 May 2010
By 
Leah Graham (Tenerife) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Angela Clark has barely been settled in New York for 6 months when her editor at The Look magazine tells her that she's being given a special assignment: she's off to La-La land to interview an actor hotter than Brad Pitt - James Jacobs. Angela duly takes up the challenge and sets off to LA with best friend Jenny, however when she gets there she finds that LA isn't as glamorous as she thought it would be and the only sane person there is James. Matters are made worse when Angela and James are snapped in an uncompromising position and Angela is suddenly thrust into the spotlight. Can Angela make her boyfriend believe there's truly nothing going on between herself and James?

I Heart Hollywood picks up two months after I Heart New York and starts, much like the first book, at a wedding. A chapter or two later and Angela is heading off to LA. The start to the book was hardly pacey and I thought I'd end up getting bored 60 pages in like it's predecessor. In a carbon copy of I Heart New York, Angela seems to have everything fall into her lap when she gets to LA, particularly when it comes to James Jacobs. They get along straight away which is believable enough, but the book then goes into "OMG so unbelievable" territory by making it seem as if James loves Angela (after she throws up and passes out on him, no less) and they end up being featured on gossip websites - Perez Hilton gets a mention! - which portray them as a new couple. Quelle surprise, Angela's boyfriend sees the snaps and all of a sudden, Angela's in a bit of a pickle. Again. Angela protests her innocence, but doesn't deny she wasn't thinking about it...

The worst thing about both books is the unbelievability factor. I love Becky Bloomwood's Shopaholic adventures because it manages to stay a bit true to real life but the I Heart books make it so difficult for me to imagine because it's as if they're happening in an alternate universe. There's a recession going on but Angela has no problem spending thousands of dollars on clothes... The book has no realism whatsoever. Also, there's a huge twist involving James Jacobs and his personality change after we learn his secret is rather astounding. I was truly gobsmacked at how quickly he changed, it was so unbelievable I could have laughed. Kelk's writing has improved a little bit, though, so I give her credit for that. Angela is no longer revered as a hero, thank God, which is another plus. Don't get me wrong I Heart Hollywood IS better than I Heart New York and I found myself enjoying it much more but if I don't like the principle character (she still calls men boys, by the way) there isn't too much hope for me to really love the book and get lost in it. Funny thing is, I will undoubtedly end up reading I Heart Paris... don't ask...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but very light...., 22 Sept. 2009
By 
Love Books "Jessie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book contains very few calories. It's easy to read girly fantasy that's as sweet and light as low-fat strawberry mousse.

I think the target readership is probably very young, it's the sort of thing I'd have adored as a teenager in fact it contains just about every teenage fantasy going; dream job, dream friends, dreamy men (several of them) the opportunity to travel and stay in the best hotels, eat in the best restaurants, be taken to clubs by handsome movie stars etc etc etc.

The idea is obviously for the talented Ms Kelk to write a string of 'I heart' books set in different cities, and this is a really good idea.

It's a bit like reading one of those photo-romances you used to get in magazines - lots of little snapshots and vignettes of the lives of the rich, young and beautiful and given that our heroine has to choose between a rock god and the most handsome film star on the planet, there's not a huge amount of tension. Still it's fast and fun and frothy. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but not challenging., 8 Oct. 2009
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Angela writes a blog, and is one of the few people to be able to use this as a career opportunity. She also has a rock star boyfriend; in short she has the perfect life.
As if you do not dislike her already, she is whisked away to Hollywood to interview the next big thing; who turns out to be a hunk. Surprise, surprise. You can guess which way the story will turn....

I wasn't aware that I HEART HOLLYWOOD was a sequel (I Heart New York is first) until it arrived and I read the blurb, and I was initially disappointed; I thought I wouldn't be able to `get into' the book and that there would be endless references to past events and characters.
Thankfully this didn't turn out to be the case. This can be read as a standalone.

I don't usually go for these `chick lit' books, but I'm glad I tried this. I HEART HOLLYWOOD is such fun to read; there were plenty of times when I laughed out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really disappointed, 26 Feb. 2012
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
really disappointed in this book, very predictable and boring. Would say you'd enjoy it if you were 15/16 but otherwise i would avoid it totally. LOTS of mistakes within the novel (grammar,spelling etc) very obvious that the writer of these books has so little to do in her life that she replays everything in her books, albeit in a different city under a different name (she writes a column in Marie Claire UK which is god awful and quite simply her book simplified to a page) if you're looking for something similar to Shopaholic etc id recommend 'Rubbish Boyfriends' or 'Pear Shaped" by stella Newman which was totally fabulous, this book is far to repetitive (she repeats a story about breaking someones hand with a shoe maybe 30 times (no joke)).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i heart hollywood.....amazing, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
H. Wilkinson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
i previously read i heart new york and loved it!! so when i saw that there was a sequel out i couldn't wait to pick it up and read it. its amazing even if you haven't read i heart new york you get enough background knowledge of the characters. this is an easy read that will get you gripped you'l fall in love with the characters and with hollywood. A must to cheer up the autumn day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted Read, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Normally I would leave a lengthy review in regards to a good chick flick book but to be truthful I wasnt that impressed with this book. It was a lighthearted and easy read but to be truthful I wouldn't favour it over other authors. We meet Angela Clarke who lives in New York and writes a blog. In her life is Jenny (her best friend and crazy girl to boot), Alex (her rockstar boyfriend)and her boss who wants everything and is never happy. When Angela is offered a once ina lifetime opportunity she takes it. It involves going to LA to interview one of the hottest actors around.She takes her friend Jenny and they manage to get themselves in all sorts of trouble.Overall I was a little dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is it about me and books about Hollywood!, 16 Oct. 2009
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this book because it struck me as being chick lit (something I use to relax) and also because it covered Hollywood and I am one of those sad creatures addicted to movie land!

Lindsey Kelk does a good job, the book is a lot of fun but I would say that it is probably for a younger audience - I am 53 and am somewhat more realistic about life than I was twenty years ago. But I love this sort of book where you have a girl spoilt for choice with her suitors, tears along the way but you just know that all the loose ends are going to get tied up in a happy ending! Of its type, it's very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!!!!, 23 Feb. 2012
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
I had never read a Lindsay Kelk book before but saw this copy in the library and thought i would give it go- she seems to have a lot of books published so thought it would be ok.
I was wrong! The book starts off quite well and is funny and entertaining! The middle is also good and the characters explore Hollywood and get up to mischief as a group of girls would. But about 2 thirds of the way through i just found the story line to become completely unrealistic, boring and very predictable. I ended up not caring really what happened to the main character and i skim read the rest of the book xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angela tries out Hollywood......, 5 Oct. 2009
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second book in this series. Following on from "I Heart New York"(as with the first book it follows the adventures of Angela Clark.)
Angela has made her move to the USA successful.She is blogging and living in New York when she is asked to go on a journey to Hollywood to interview a movie star!!!

As with the first book this is a delightful,funny and light read. Angela is a good heroine and is delightful in her misadventures.She is into dressing up,going out and boys.....what more is there??
Buy this for a light,funny read - very much in the style of Sophie Kinsella.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I heart these books!, 3 Aug. 2012
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Heart Hollywood (Paperback)
It was way back in 2010 when I read Lindsey's first book, I Heart New York and I really enjoyed it. So much so, I ordered the next two in the series and then didn't get round to reading them. It was only lately, when she released the latest in the series, I Heart London, that I thought about reading the next in the series.

The books follow Angela Clark and in this one she is still living in New York but her boss asks her to go to LA to interview a super hot yet womanising actor. She doesn't really want to go, as she has just got back with her boyfriend Alex, but her friend, Jenny, says she will go with her and manages to persuade her it will be a good thing.

I was gripped by this book. There is never a dull moment and I just love all the characters. Some of the situations Angela got herself into were hilarious. Kelk is very good at having a slightly more serious side to her writing though. It's not all laughs.

It lost a star because there were a few grammatical/printing errors - my bug bear - and I really have an issue with the character's names. I remember feeling like this when reading 'I heart New York' and it hasn't changed. I mean Alex Reid? Enough said.

This is an unbelievable story - how can she possibly spend so much money on clothes - and a lot of what happens is very inconvenient. However, it is a great excapist read and it is, after all, fiction!

I really enjoyed this and am going onto the next in the series - I Heart Paris.

(The order of the books is 'I Heart New York'; 'I Heart Hollywood'; 'I Heart Paris'; 'I Heart Vegas' and 'I Heart London.')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Heart Hollywood
I Heart Hollywood by Lindsey Kelk
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews