Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very effective for beginners
First of all, the software is very well thought. You don't get tired of it or bored.
It involves images, sounds, speaking and writen words. As a consequence, the software gives a reality to the word. When you are taught that the woman drinks : you see the picture where she does, you read "la femme boit" and you hear it too. You immediatly associate the word with the...
Published on 19 Feb. 2011 by Moon Goddess

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor
I bought this product hoping to improve my French language skills. It is a programme for beginners and not people hoping to brush up their rusty O or A level French. Worse was to come. Only those products purchased from Rossetta Stone are covered by their guarantee of return if not satisfied; if purchased from elsewhere (ie Amazon) that guarantee does not hold. You are...
Published on 24 Nov. 2010 by Owl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very effective for beginners, 19 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
First of all, the software is very well thought. You don't get tired of it or bored.
It involves images, sounds, speaking and writen words. As a consequence, the software gives a reality to the word. When you are taught that the woman drinks : you see the picture where she does, you read "la femme boit" and you hear it too. You immediatly associate the word with the sound (which you don't get from a book) and the sound with the word (which you don't get from an audio software).

Does it work? The answer is YES.
My boyfriend didn't understand a single word of French.
Now, he understands 1/5 of the conversation. When my family talks, he doesn't make out most of it. But he still gets little bits.
At the end of the software. He will probably grasp much more.

So all I can say is that it works well for beginers. I was so impressed by his improvements that I bought the German Rosetta Stone.

I don't think any software can really teach you how to be completely fluent. If you already have a good level, what you need now is practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn French at home, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
After years of going to evening classes and not making much progress, I decided to try Rosetta Stone. I have now been using it for a couple of weeks and at last find I am getting better. The structure of the lessons and their interactive nature really help, even though I somethimes have trouble with the voice recognition software in some of the exercises - perhaps it just doesn't like my accent. A good buy that I'll continue to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosetta Stone levels 1-5, 16 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
I cant rate this highly enough. Both my husband and i are doing this course and i have to say its very addictive. In a very short space of time we have both improved our French no end thank you Rosetta Stone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caveat emptor, 24 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
I bought this product hoping to improve my French language skills. It is a programme for beginners and not people hoping to brush up their rusty O or A level French. Worse was to come. Only those products purchased from Rossetta Stone are covered by their guarantee of return if not satisfied; if purchased from elsewhere (ie Amazon) that guarantee does not hold. You are only entitled to the Amazon refund which is concerned with factors other than suitability of product (which you can't know unless you've given it a try) and the product must be in unopened condition unless it is faulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Conterfeit, 1 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
We have been told that it was counterfeit by the manufacturer itself. No activation code is provided. The ear phone has no USB connection as they should. The box has loads of typing errors. Do not buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rosetta Stone French, 9 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
Absolute rubbish & a waste of time. I suppose useful if you're an extreme beginner in French but other than that don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rosetta stone version 3, 13 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
Unfortunatley, it when it arrrived it was a pirate copy. Do not do any private purchase on this item. Its likely to a pirate copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosetta Stone Learning, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
Only on stage one but this product is well worth the money if you want to learn a language. It is fun and easy to use. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars product review, 3 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
The product arrived from China which was strange and I was unable to install it properly. There was also no registration code which which barred me from any on line help or registering the product. I did not call the registered manufacturer direct because I was nervous that I may be implicated in an illegal pirate copy.

I was very disappointed but the seller did arrange a full refund as soon as I complained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 12 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC) (CD-ROM)
It is useful although it is previous version. It does not need the normal process to run this item. Kind of new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosetta Stone Version 3: French Level 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with Audio Companion (Mac/PC)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews