Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over-priced, slim enclosure that supports USB 3.0
This anthracite grey enclosure comprises an aluminium outer which is quite sturdy and either extruded or carved out of a solid block of metal. The inner carrier tray, which is constructed of very thin and rather easily deformed metal, is held in place by two short screws on what would normally be the bottom if supported by its provided stand. To assemble, remove those...
Published on 24 May 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SATA Icy Box - not what they used to be
I purchased this device to use as a backup drive and it works well. However, I bought an Icy box, with its premium cost, as I had a older model that that is very well made and because traditionally Icy Box is a well respected name. The older version is strong and extremely high quality finish. This box is poorly made by comparison, with more plastic parts, including...
Published 19 months ago by Paul K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over-priced, slim enclosure that supports USB 3.0, 24 May 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
This anthracite grey enclosure comprises an aluminium outer which is quite sturdy and either extruded or carved out of a solid block of metal. The inner carrier tray, which is constructed of very thin and rather easily deformed metal, is held in place by two short screws on what would normally be the bottom if supported by its provided stand. To assemble, remove those screws and push the tray gently out from the mesh front which, being very thin and also flimsy, can be easily deformed. The back plate is the more sturdy of the two and includes the power and USB sockets and the power switch. Having used similarly constructed cases from other manufacturers, although far less expensive, their carriers are far more sturdy than that used here.

The carrier tray relies upon the installation of a drive for its stability. The drive is first connected to the female connectors on the small circuit board which is well laid-out and uncrowded, and then secured to the sides of the frame by four of the provided screws; there is a spare in the event that one is lost. Also in the pack is a strip of adhesive feet that can be affixed to one of the broader sides if the drive is to be used horizontally.

There is not much free air space around the drive and cooling is by conduction through the tray to the case and then by radiation. The front mesh grille will allow some cool air to be admitted and hot air to escape but there is no through-flow as there are no vents elsewhere other than in the front grille. I would therefore expect the case to become quite warm during extended access, especially if you are using one of the 7200rpm hard drives.

Assembly needed about two minutes and was quite easy. Instructions are provided but are not really needed. Remember to replace the two screws previously removed. A screwdriver is not provided and you will need a No 2 Philips for assembly.

As commented by another reviewer, the USB 3.0 lead is the now normal 1 metre length and employs the standard stacked variant of the established USB1/2 connector rather than the increasingly popular micro-connector and the power adapter lead is only slightly longer at about 1.5 metres. The power connector is quite standard and replacement PSUs should be quite easily obtained in the event that the original should fail.

If the enclosure is used in the stand, it can slide within it quite freely as there is nothing to stop it. Icy Box are enamoured of this style of stand and it is used for many of their single and multiple drive enclosures. If you use the adhesive feet, you could position them to prevent any sliding movement within the stand. I am not myself its user and it was assembled for another family member. If used horizontally, it will run rather hot. My experience with another Icy Box product which shares a similar design proved that to be true in that instance and it is in this. It should be used vertically to maximise the cooling area and to ensure good all-round external air circulation as there is very little internally.

Under the mesh front are two LEDs, a blue one for power and a red for activity. The blue would be very bright were it not hidden behind the mesh screen and the red one is almost as bright; some may prefer to add some tissue or some masking tape between the LED and the mesh to dim it down further during the assembly process.

I do not understand why the description includes the word 'Premium' or the relatively high price as there is nothing about this enclosure that is especially unique. There is another Icy Box enclosure with similar specs that sells at the same price and requires no tools for assembly and allows hot swapping. The pricing is reasonable in that instance because of those unusual features but excessive in this. The rather flimsy carrier badly lets this enclosure down but was presumably used because of the limiting dimensions; if the case were a couple of millimetres wider and broader a more stable carrier could have been used. However, once assembled the carrier should not be a problem unless the drive ever needs to be replaced or upgraded.

Once fully assembled, it is reasonably attractive and functions perfectly well but its internal metal parts are a disappointment. Its circuit board appears to be a better design than that used in some competing enclosures and should hopefully be longer-lasting than some. At the price being asked, it certainly should be!

POSTSCRIPT

Since writing the above review, the price has been reduced and I have since bought and simultaneously use several of these enclosures. It has in fact become my preferred choice and has proven to be completely reliable long-term. Any reservations that I previously expressed are now reversed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent USB3 drive caddy, 24 Mar 2013
By 
D. Hughes (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
"Never underestimate the bandwidth of a car full of CDs"

Well, that was then. Nowadays, one of these plus a high density drive, and a pedal-bike would probably provide as much bandwidth.

I've bought a few drive caddies now for 3.5" SATA drives, but this particular IcyBox is by far my favourite. A very simple design but one that feels extremely sturdy nonetheless. No annoying fan; the case seems quite capable of dissipating any heat (but then most large SATA drives these days don't seem to generate much in the first place - due to their lower RPM maybe?). Very simple to disassemble and install a drive in it. Then, of course, there's the speed. With the increasing prevalence of USB3 on modern machines, a USB3 caddy makes it trivial to throw many gigabytes of data around in minutes (gone are the days when an external drive would feel sluggish compared to your internal drives).

However, you'll find all of the features above on any number of USB3 caddies. Why is this the only one I've bought twice now? The killer feature for me is that the USB controller in this caddy passes thru SMART commands (in contrast to several other caddies, including the IcyBox IB-351StU3-B) - hence if the drive starts showing signs of failure you actually have a chance to replace it (assuming your setup monitors such things).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SATA Icy Box - not what they used to be, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
I purchased this device to use as a backup drive and it works well. However, I bought an Icy box, with its premium cost, as I had a older model that that is very well made and because traditionally Icy Box is a well respected name. The older version is strong and extremely high quality finish. This box is poorly made by comparison, with more plastic parts, including the flimsy stand, and the internal fittings are cheaply made and the drive is a tight fit. It does the job and is probably better than the generic models that are sold under many names, but it is a shame that a well respected company will reduce quality like this; I assume to achieve a price level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Means Of Adding Extra Storage - Providing you have SATA, 9 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
The latest standard of external storage for PC's is USB3 and of course if you go for the complete system you will pay premium rates but if you allready have a 'spare' Sata drive you might want to go down your own path and purchase this case for your new or old hard drive. The case is 'backward' compatable with USB 1 and 2 but then you will ose the advantage of the high speed of USB3 but this does allow for the drive to be used with two or more computers with or without the dedicated USB3 port.
Installing a drive to this case is very easy, unscrew one screw on the side and the 'holder' slides out of the outer and then plug in the two connectors.
On the back there is a 'toggle' on off switch, seems a bit flimsy but it does the job.
The USB3 cable provided is a handy Blue in colour so you know it shuld be plugged into the proper USB3 port but it is only about 1 metre long. Longeer cables are available but pricey. you cannot [seemingly] use an USB1/2 cable [but if you could you would lose the speed.
There is a red LED when the drive is On and it does 'flash' when transferring/downloading data.
Currently I have three of these cases two with 1 Terrabyte drives which run nice and cool but the other a 1.5 Terrabyte drive does run hot. I'm not that surprised as there is no cooling fan within the case, so be very careful if you wish to use this device with a drive larger than 1 Terrabyte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really isn't "premium", 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
It does a good job of backing up my QNAP nas and I'm impressed with the speed of the usb 3 connection.
But the case arrived with metal filings still clinging to the front edge of the enclosure which I had to carefully remove.
The internals are also nothing fancy and the build quility in general is no better than the generic Chinese made enclosures that I've bought before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great external drive case, 1 Dec 2013
By 
R. Packer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
I had a surplus SATA hard drive that I wanted to use as an external drive. This case provides the perfect solution. USB 3.0 interface and Windows 8.1 compatablility worked first time for me. Just the job for backing up my PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality case for backup drives., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
I bought two of these a couple of years ago ( USB 2 model ) and they were identical apart from the interface - not sure what others are going on about saying they are cheaper made than they used to be.. My recently purchased USB 3.0 version seems identical in terms of rigidity/etc. I use them to house 2 & 3TB drives used as backups from my Synology NAS. I stack them on top of each other horizontally ( using the little rubber feet they supply ) and have never had an issue. No fan and so very quiet - Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... works perfectly with Win7 64bit on USB3 port with excellent speed, so no complaints whatsoever, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
Needed this a for a 3Tb backup drive and it works perfectly with Win7 64bit on USB3 port with excellent speed, so no complaints whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for me, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Thomas (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
This case is exactly what I wanted. It's very simple to use, it works with my mac, and it's USB 3.0. Not much else to say really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice caddy, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-318StU3-B Premium Aluminium Case for 3.5 inch SATA HDD with USB 3.0 Interface (Accessory)
The internal tray is a bit flimsy, but externally it has a nice premium feel with a matte finish and silver trim. The stand is a little soft as mentioned in other reviews but this has been done for a reason so it doesnt snap easily when apes try to use brute force. When connected to my USB port on my PC I get an average transfer speed of 160mb/s using my seagate barracuda 7200rpm SATA 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews