Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive
I bought this gadget for two reasons. 1)I love gadgets and 2) As an aid to hunting bunnies with my hounds (sorry bunny lovers. I think they're fluffy and cute too, it's not my fault they're tasty). I've not had a chance to test it out in the field as it were but just messing about with it I'm very impressed. The image, while not particularly high resolution (580x500)is...
Published on 18 July 2012 by Mr. Martin Jury

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but could be easier to use.
I live in the country, don't sleep very well and thought this would be a useful implement to help pass some nocturnal wide-awake hours. I read reviews on this type of product and settled on the Bresser not really knowing quite what to expect in terms of its effectiveness.
As previous buyers had noted, the image area in the eyepiece is small and it does take a bit of...
Published 19 months ago by Alan Elderfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive, 18 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
I bought this gadget for two reasons. 1)I love gadgets and 2) As an aid to hunting bunnies with my hounds (sorry bunny lovers. I think they're fluffy and cute too, it's not my fault they're tasty). I've not had a chance to test it out in the field as it were but just messing about with it I'm very impressed. The image, while not particularly high resolution (580x500)is crisp and clear with a good contrast range set by the big on/off/contrast knob on the top. You have to fiddle with the dioptre adjustment on the eyepiece to get a nice clear image as with any monocular / binocular. The Infra Red illuminator on the side has a surprisingly long range and lights things up very impressively.

The unit seems very well built and fairly rugged but I wouldn't suggest dropping it or using it in the rain, that might be pushing your luck.

As others have said the 'manual' is multi-lingual but English is not one of the linguals it's multi in. However... Out of the kindness of my heart and a public service to all here's a fairly free translation (with a few comments of my own). I've left out a lot of repetition, the blindingly obvious and the specification page which you can work out for yourself. Feel free to copy this anywhere you like.

WARNINGS

NEVER LOOK DIRECTLY AT OR CLOSE TO THE SUN WITH THE ITEM THERE IS DAGER OF BLINDNESS

WARNINGS

Contains electrical components.
Don't let children use unsupervised.
Keep device, batteries and packaging out of reach of children (danger of suffocation choking etc)
Do not expose the unit to high temperatures.
Use only the supplied power adaptor (there isn't one or indeed a socket on the unit to use one) or the recommended batteries.
Don't short circuit the power adaptor or batteries
Don't disassemble the unit
In case of problems contact service centre
Use only recommended batteries
Replace weak batteries with new batteries
Do not use batteries of different types or powers (don't mix batteries)
Remove batteries if not using the unit for long periods.
Remove power or batteries before cleaning
Use only a clean (and dry I assume) cloth. Do not use cleaning fluid to avoid damage to electronic system.
Dispose of packaging / unit / batteries properly

GENERAL INFORMATION

The NV 5 x 50 is a night vision scope with an infra red illuminator and a video out so you can view the image on a screen or TV. It will run for about 6 hours on two AA batteries.

It is simple to use and small and practical. Ideal for viewing the natural environment, hunting and tourism and so on. It has variable brightness and an infra red illuminator for when it's really dark.

The unit uses digital technology to allow you to see in low light. With the built in IR illuminator or external source you can see in total darkness.

To prolong the duration of of operation we recommend the use of alkaline batteries. Insert batteries in the correct orientation and then close the battery compartment.

We recommend you remove the batteries if you are not going to use the unit for 24 hours.

Don't use rechargeable batteries. Use only AA 1.5 volt alkaline batteries. (Note: Beware of this, Rechargeable batteries are great for torches and things that aren't sensitive to voltage but NiCads only put out 1.35v not 1.5 so you might knacker your unit)

IN USE

Remove the lens cover

Turn the knob on top (1) to switch unit on. First click turns it on, further turning increases the brightness of the image.

With fresh batteries the Infra red will illuminate 20-30 metres.

Turn the eyepiece (2) until you can view the screen clearly (This is the dioptre adjustment to suit your eyesight. When it's set correctly the edges of the screen will be sharp and you will be able to see the horizontal lines on the screen.

To turn on the IR illuminator (4) slide the switch on the side of the unit forwards(7)

Turn the front lens housing (3) to focus. Doesn't really need any further clarification.

There is a video out socket covered with a rubber plug. I can't be arsed translating how to use it. If you know you'll know and if you don't you'll soon work it out for yourself.

The unit has two tripod mounts on the bottom (9)

You can use the item during the day but you should avoid exposing it to bright light.

When going from cold weather in to the warm allow 2 - 3 hours before packing the item away to avoid condensation damage to the optics and electronics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does a good job with the tech and the price., 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
An interesting Night Vision (NV) Monocular. It seems to be the trend to bring out these lower cost products with an Infrared (IR) sensitive monochrome (B&W) CCD and internal LCD screen. So it is important to note that this is effectively a different 'breed' of kit to Gen 1, Gen 2, etc. Image Intensifiers. Having said that the item performs well within the limits of the design and spec.
As another reviewer noted the manual is in many languages, but not English. Not a problem if you Google up the electronic copy and run it through Translate. My schoolboy French was good enough for me to read the paper version as it really is so simple to use.
Powered by 2x AA Alkaline battery life seems good, picked up a pack of 10 Duracell Pros for a couple of quid, but not needed to open them yet. there are only 2 'controls': then main wheel on the top is the on /off and gain. So as you wind it up more the 'brighter' the image appears. The second slider switch on the side turns on a off the built in IR LED lamp which is surprisingly powerful, with a decent range (although does give off a red glow).
5x magnification is perfect for me, but some people may prefer less. The 50mm front element is a decent size and seems to have a good coating, with a rubber lens cap supplied. Nice thing about this type of device is you can't damage it by exposing the sensor in daylight. Focusing is achieved by rotating the front like a camera lens and the rear ring around the eyepiece provides diopter correction for you to get the screen in view (remember it's a screen so rectangular, not round). Although the pixel density is not amazing the contrast is good and results in a very functional image.
Tripod mount and video out are both very useful, especially as my primary use is for wildlife watching. And the rubber casing seems robust and would stand up to a little dampness, although the unit is not sealed and has no practical Ingress Protection (IP) rating.
Overall, very happy with the unit. If you want more then you are going to have to spend more. The only reason for giving 4 stars not 5 is that the LCD screen would be nicer if was slightly larger and more high resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can see in the dark, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
Excellent night scope. The new version comes with English on the box and also English instructions provided in the multi-lingual manual. The older versions had no English instructions. This is ideal for looking at wildlife and for Astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
This item does exactly what it says on the box and does it very well. It wouldn't be able to let you fly an Apache helicopter in the dark, so if that's what you want, then spend a lot more money.

It's lightweight and robust with a smooth rubber cover, but I don't advise using it in the rain for any length of time. Sharp, clear and crisp picture, but be aware that it arrives with the eyepiece screwed back to its furthest extent. Any further unscrewing results in removing the eyepiece as you would for cleaning. Initially, I was on the point of returning the scope because I couldn't screw the eyepiece in far enough to adjust the focus. To obtain a focused eyepiece, I had to take a leap of faith and screw the eyepiece very firmly clockwise, an initial click being felt which made me think I'd damaged the thread, then it proceeded smoothly to perfect focus.

Otherwise, a lovely piece of kit, good value for money, well made and arrived on a Tuesday from Germany after a late night Thursday order. I recommend also buying one of the many camera adaptors available on Amazon to go with this.

Many thanks to Martin Jury for his googled translation of the multi-bilingual handbook which comes with this otherwise excellent piece of kit ...... it helped my very poor French out and was bang on target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but could be easier to use., 9 May 2013
By 
Alan Elderfield (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
I live in the country, don't sleep very well and thought this would be a useful implement to help pass some nocturnal wide-awake hours. I read reviews on this type of product and settled on the Bresser not really knowing quite what to expect in terms of its effectiveness.
As previous buyers had noted, the image area in the eyepiece is small and it does take a bit of juggling about to achieve an acceptably clear picture. What makes it so difficult is the size, position and ease of use of the controls especially the on-off rotating dial that increases and decreases the brightness of the image, it is extremely difficult when holding the instrument to your eye the get purchase on the dial; it is very smooth and needs a more pronounced, either recessed or obvious, point to facilitate turning the dial. Also the sliding switch to turn on the IR function is difficult to turn on and off easily.
IMO both items need to be reviewed to make the instrument easier and more enticing to use, that said it is both fun and interesting to see what goes on in the garden and countryside at night - am glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
I have always wanted something of this description for years but never forked out for one until my girlfriend gave me this surprise last night (a nice full moon & clear air night might i add!).

My use is for watching the shy and illusive British mammals and it preforms very well! With the moonlight last night everything not shaded was simply like daylight through the scope and the IR illumination (a single high power LED!) made short work of any shadows. The IR lamp also worked brilliantly at highlighting animals eyes from very far away! I Don't want to put a distance to it because i can tell it can see further than i used it to, it was at least 100m.

The scope feels very high quality (as Bresser [AKA Meade Instruments Europe!!!] products do) and is simple to use in the dark when it matters. The range of focus is very high, i was looking at pin sharp stars and decided to see how close it can focus on the ground ... i had to crouch! (perhaps under a meter) The large aperture to twist gives very fine focusing (same with the eyepiece).
The image intensifier tube takes a couple of seconds to "warm up", some may see this as a problem, i think it makes it feel extra cool to be honest!
Oh and people keep mentioning the resolution of the screen is low, i have nothing to compare this to as this is the first digital scope i have looked though, my own impression is that the screen is fairly high res for its size and if you want to take footage from it then the AV output compensates for any lost quality in the viewfinder. There is a lot of contrast in the B&W screen and to say it is a high contrast & brightness screen i could only spot one pixel that varied, not noticeable in use.
Yes the booklet has no English section but as you can see someone has kindly translated it in another review here (Thank you!)

So to sum up, i am extremely happy with this, i feel like a child at Christmas who got a ride on electric car! (oh the jealousy) and i can't see myself getting a decent nights sleep this summer! If you have any questions i will happily answer them!
6/5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I bought this for a friend, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
Over the summer months he have had great fun watching badgers and fox's during low light in the late evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
I'm a farmer in Norfolk, my m8 is shooting with NV, and i wanted to see what was going on and help him scout for bunnies. I first bought the Yukon ranger £311, was rubbish, very grainy, even with IR minimal viewing distance, nothing like they say on the box. So I sent that back and got the Breezer and Newton Hornet which one is 143 and 190, and to my amazement the Breezer out classed by miles the Yukon Ranger, well both did really! But the Newton Horent had a grainy picture and didnt quite see as far. I went out last night on very dark night and adjusted everything up, and was truely amazed by the quality!!!! Top product, great view, good picture, just takes a little while and patience to set then your away!!!! I WOULD RECOMMEND and half the price of a Yukon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars illuminating, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
Ideal while on holiday in Scotland, as you can clearly observe all the natural wonders, that only come out at night. The clarity is absolutely superb, well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bresse 5x50, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50 (Electronics)
The unit was as I expected. I would recommend it to people who want to try night vision. The view finder is small so I am thinking about a small monitor to plug into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bresser Night Vision Device NightVision 5x50
£137.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews