Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How B-Day should have been first time round!
If you were a little disappointed by B-Day when it was initially relesaed then this deluxe edition should make up for it! The new tracks are great additions including the new single Beautiful Liar with Shakira and the brilliant new World Wide Woman and Flaws & All. Likewise the DVD is genius. Beyonce is the first artist to do a video for practially each track on an album...
Published on 4 April 2007 by D. Ashtiany

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An improvement
An improvement on a lame album, but still not worth the £6 I saw it on sale at HMV for. Excellent Beautiful Liar, more Shakira's sound then Beyoncé - but great! Buy the few goods songs on itune and give this album a miss.
Published on 9 July 2007 by Clark Kent


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How B-Day should have been first time round!, 4 April 2007
If you were a little disappointed by B-Day when it was initially relesaed then this deluxe edition should make up for it! The new tracks are great additions including the new single Beautiful Liar with Shakira and the brilliant new World Wide Woman and Flaws & All. Likewise the DVD is genius. Beyonce is the first artist to do a video for practially each track on an album and i can guarantee that she won't be the last. All the videos are a high quality and incorporate beyonce's trademark choreography and high fashion. In particular Flaws and All, Freakum Dress and Get Me Bodied ft. Solange and Kelly & Michelle from Destiny's Child are standout videos.

Just buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got it right in the end..., 18 May 2007
The 5 stars are for the fact that it's a brilliant album. I didn't buy the original B'day CD, but I know what the Deluxe package additions are, and I do think that without the extra songs, I would have been very disappointed.

I do feel the need, however, to moan. What does this say to the hoards of Beyonce's loyal fans who rushed out and bought B'day on the day it came out? They got the rubbish deal. They got a short, obviously incomplete album, just to have a slap in their face by a new improved version released months later. Is that fair? I don't think so.

It's not that I don't understand why they do it, it's obvious. When the fans have all bought the CD, they need to find a way to coax the people into buying it who had perhaps already decided not to bother, and boost the sales a bit more with a deluxe edition that will encourage these people to give the album a go who otherwise wouldn't have.

This time, I wasn't conned because I waited before buying this. But very often I do get ripped off by re-releases. Mariah Carey's 'Emancipation Of Mimi' springs to mind. I bought the CD, and literally a matter of WEEKS later, the new improved version was released with extra tracks and the newest single tacked on to the end as well. I wanted the extra tracks, but I haven't bought the new version on principle.

I shouldn't have to buy the same album twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still B'day, But Even Better., 16 May 2008
This review is from: B'day (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
I think this really is a fantastic album, full of strong balladry and great upbeat dance tracks. The deluxe version contains 7 new songs, and for the first time in artist history a music video DVD, which i must point out is also superb, and all the music videos have had time, effort and money spent on them, so that they appear that good.

The songs well, my favourites are `Freakum Dress', this is one of those female liberation songs, it has a bangin beat, `Get Me Bodied' i really don't care that the song is over 6 minutes long it's still brilliant, it kind of has a 60's heritage, the instructional parts in the second half really give that away and when you hear it you'll want to get involved,' Flaws And All' boring huh, i don't think so an emotional ballad about someone loving someone even if they are not perfect, and i was quite surprised that Beyonce of all people would write or sing a song about this, `Kitty Kat' this song is flirty, silky and sexy, `Welcome To Hollywood' explains the dangers of being rich & famous and she even lists some of the ultra- famous people who have dyed from too much fame, in my opinion the song should of been on the original, `Suga Mama' a throwback song to a specific era of music, really love the grittiness of it, `Déjà Vu' this song is ace, it builds up to an eventual crescendo and i just can't keep still when this is playing, `Upgrade U' compared to most of the album, a very much contempory R&B song with Jay- Z rapping half way though,influencing us to all upgrade our partners,`Ring The Album' Beyonce uses powerful vocals throughout this song, to talk about an ex-lover who has found someone else, `Resentment' was a really good song Beyonce again uses powerful vocals, really pours her heart and soul into this song, and you can tell she's feeling it, some more power vocal balladry from the smash hit `Dreamgirls' song `Listen', the crashing `Green Light', the perfect duet `Beautiful Liar', beautiful song more like, with it's obvious eastern influences, the slighly haunting 'If', `Check On It', it's got a nice melody, nice beat and finally, `World Wide Woman' basically talking about a very well known woman, and being able to log on anytime you like, hence the lyrics, 'I'm a world wide woman www you can log on anywhere..'

On this album we have seen a much different side to Beyonce appearing, she tells us she's not perfect even though she may look it on the outside, she also deals with issues such as drug addictions, (`Welcome To Hollywood`), and finally she talks about that even she may be upstaged sometimes, (`Resentment`), of course its a must have for any Beyonce fan, but the most important reason for buying this album is to discover who Beyonce really is, past the outer beauty and the incredible voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album in History!, 11 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. Iles "sam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: B'day Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This is a completely amazing and flawless album.

This is the album that made Beyonce so famous - but this comes with a DVD with all the music videos on and makes for an incredible bargin.

With the catchy up-tempo songs like Green Light to amazing slower songs like Irreplaceable and Flaws and All, this album has everything and I am sure all people will love it.

If you like music, you must buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from Beyonce, 3 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: B'day Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Love this album and songs on it. It`s far better than Dangerously in love and it`s very listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album!, 29 April 2007
By 
Sam "kingathon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: B'day (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
I genuinely feel sorry for those fans who bought the ordinary B'Day version when it was first released, as the tracks from that album are often, in my opinion, weaker than the extra ones released in this superb Deluxe Edition:

1.Beautiful Liar-One of the best pop songs I have heard in a long time- catchy and superbly sung. 10/10

2.Irreplaceable-A true gem of a ballad, really, really good. 10/10

3.Green Light-The typical R&B we have come to expect from Beyonce. 8/10

4.Kitty Kat-A good song, but a bit of an album filler. 7/10

5.Welcome To Hollywood-This track didn't make it onto the original album, but I haven't a clue why. This is Beyonce at her best. 10/10

6.Upgrade U-Not a personal highlight, but not bad either. 7/10

7.Flaws And All-Another new track, a strong powerful ballad. 9/10

8.If-Yet another new track: absolutely superb and provides an opportunity for a trademark Beyonce growl.10/10

9.Get Me Bodied-This song starts out great, but it is an extended mix and by the end of the song it becomes a bit of a chant and a bit dull. 5/10

10.Freakum Dress- A super uptempo number. Very good. 8/10

11.Suga Mama- Takes off where Freakum Dress left from. 8/10

12.Deja Vu-This retro, dancey number is nothing short of brilliant. 10/10

13.Ring The Alarm- A truly original R&B track. 8/10

14.Resentment- Many people have said they don't particularly like this track, but for me it is superb. These days there are very few original ballads, but this is one. 10/10

15.Listen- From the movie Dreamgirls. A powerful, growling track, which is a highlight of both the film and the album. 10/10

16.World Wide Woman- A new track; and yet another one which is pure brilliance. Upbeat. 9/10

17.Check On It- This has obviously been released as a single and sounds just as great on CD as it does on the radio. 9/10

18.Amor Gitano- Not my cup of tea. 5/10

19.Beautiful Liar (remix)- Spot the difference between this and track one- I certainly can't but what better way to begin and end the album! 10/10

Then of course there is the extra DVD, which not only has the videoes of all the singles, but also has videoes of many of the unreleased singles. In my opinion this is a fantastic buy whether or not you own the first B'Day album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cd ever!, 24 Oct. 2007
This review is from: B'day (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This cd was so worth the money, I bought it last year and still listen to it every day! some up tempo r'n'b songs you can dance and work out to, some award winning ballads like Listen from the movie Dreamgirls, and Resentment a beautiful strong song she puts all her emotion into. Beyonce is the first singer ever to come out with a music video dvd album and i love it! Beautiful Liar feat.Shakira is so different to the other music out now! The most viewed video on youtube with over 30 million views!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars B'rilliant, 17 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B'day (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
I was very pleased with this album, every time I listen to it I think I like the songs even more. There is a variety of styles and songs. I would recomend this product to any Beyonce fan or anyone who likes RnB music.

There is also a nice album booklet included that relates to all the songs. I particually like this cersion because you get the music videos included on a separate DVD which is a very nice touch.

This product is worth the small price you pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 8 Oct. 2009
This review is from: B'day Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
For any Beyonce fan out there this is a "Must Have" album, I have been lucky enough to have seen "Beyonce" live in concert and I am a big fan of her music, I think this album has some of her best tracks on. I highly recommend purchasing this Album, you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 29 Jan. 2012
By 
J. Moore "Jon Moore" (Newport, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B'day Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
IMHO this album represents Beyonce in her journey from the raw item in her first album [not saying that one isn't worth having though] to the polished performer she is on ...Sasha Fierce and 4. Well worth getting. Has some cracking tracks and is a must for any Beyonce fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

B'Day Deluxe Edition
Buy MP3 Album£8.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews