Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Team Glenda' Makes This Such A Stunning Film
This beautiful masterpiece recounts the life and times of Mary Queen of Scots during the feud with her cousin,the remarkable Elizabeth I.

When it comes down to it, you're either a Lizzy or a Mary fan.

I am all for Elizabeth I (needless to say, Glenda Jackson is the greatest Elizabeth I ever, and not even Miss Blanchett has been able to beat Glenda's...
Published 20 months ago by Toggle

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mary Queen of Scots DVD (1971)
I rated this a three overall which was primarily due to the fine acting of Glenda Jackson and Vanessa Redgrave and the locations used in the film. I was extremely disappointed at the historical inaccuracies in this film, particularly the two meetings between Elizabeth and Mary which obviously never took place. Further to this Mary was portrayed as some kind of naive...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Eliza 1558


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to see Vanessa and Glenda again!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
The story of Mary Queen of Scots and her cousin Elizabeth is the subject of many films and TV episodes. I would rank this as a bit better than the one among many but somehow things do not heat up between the various actors (although they are all strong in their own rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well cast, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I had forgotton how good this film is and I am pleased I bought it. Worth watching because it is well cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mary queen of scots, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Good classic film, even if not quite historically correct. If you enjoy the Tudor period then certainly a good film for your collection. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 24 July 2013
By 
Mr. Paul L. Lacey "Paul Lacey" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
A good story told in length and almost spot on accuracy. Historians agree that the Two Queens never met, but they do in this film. Who's to say that this did not happen. Wonderful acting from two great ladies of film and the supporting cast.
Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good film showing the other side of the confrontation, 11 Jun 2013
By 
William M. Rees "Welsh Will" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Its a good film but was unprepared for the Overture and especially the intermission that was included. But was good to see a different aspect of the role of "Mary, Queen Of Scots"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bril, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I loved this film one of my favourites and enjoyed watching it good actors and acting in it tyvm -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vanessa Redgrave vs Glenda Jackson, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I remember as a schoolboy being enthralled when taken to see this film on its first 1971 release, and I recall the embarrassment of the teachers, who clearly felt it had been rather risqué for 11-year-olds. (I suppose we were more chary in those days about the sexual content of entertainment watched by young people.) So it was good to buy this DVD on Amazon and see the film again. I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it to the general viewer. Historical drama all the way...

Physically, despite both being notably tall women, Vanessa Redgrave is not very much like Mary Queen of Scots (any more than she much resembles Isadora Duncan or Agatha Christie, both of whom she has played brilliantly in her extensive film career), but her performance is terrific, so who cares? What a star! She is matched to the hilt by marvellous Glenda Jackson, reprising her famous Elizabeth I, and by a really fine supporting cast, including Ian Holm (Rizzio), Timothy Dalton (Darnley) and many others.

This is an enormously entertaining and highly romantic costume drama of the troubled life of the Scottish queen, from her early marriage to the French Dauphin, troubled personal rule in Scotland, disastrous second marriage to Henry Darnley, flight to England, long captivity and ultimate execution, all these colourful events played to the hilt and brought vibrantly alive by fine script, direction, acting, costume and location-filming. Splendid stuff.

Historical accuracy? Hmmm. The film is (very) loosely based on Antonia Fraser's bestselling biography, but while drawing on this brilliant and 100% historically accurate book, and being fairly correct as to characters, events and dates, the film keeps one eye firmly on the general audience at the box office, rather than the history student. Fair enough. It makes for great entertainment. But there's no evidence that Bothwell (who is scripted throughout the film as the heroine's leading man) was the great love of Mary's life, or that Rizzio and Darnley were lovers (gracious!) as well as initial court allies. Above all, of course, we know that Mary and Elizabeth never met: despite Mary's persistent efforts to persuade her cousin to receive her at court, it was essential to Elizabeth's strategy that Mary should be kept safely captive and at arm's length. The film gives us two wonderfully dramatic encounters between the rival cousins, which is historical tosh, but of course, one wouldn't want to miss, for anything, la Jackson and la Redgrave battling it out! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Greatest movie ever, nothing to say. Brilliantely remastered. Play of all actors is unforgettable. The only movie, where you see both, Elizabeth and Mary Queen of Scots, as both: true women and the true Queens. The only movie, where they both deserve mercy. Such intencity will be never to reach again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advice for future orders., 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I received the packet/small parcel intact but the content (the disc) was loose in its case and not securely packed in place.
I would have preferred if there were some light packing material enclosed in the 'case' containing the disc for mailing purpose. Just as well the DVD wasn't damaged this time.
I don't have any criticism regarding the movie production or acting etc. You didn't do it.

If, in the future, I wish to communicate, in person, with a member of your 'Customer Service' staff for an opinion or advice, whether by email or telephone, HOW SHOULD I GO ABOUT THAT? WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO TO GET A PERSONAL ANSWER?
Please advise.
Kind regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very engaging - Script & Direction let it down, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I gave this 2 stars not because I disliked it particularly, it just isnt a very likeable and engaging film and it shows it was put out in a bit of a rush following a wave of Tudor films and tv dramas (A Man for all Seasons, The Six Wives of Henry VIII etc).
There are some good bits specifically anytime Glenda Jackson or Trevor Howard are on screen but Vanessa Redgrave and Nigel Davenport good looking as they were just appear miscasted. I am a Scot and my sympathies were with Elisabeth, Mary was just too stupid for her own good and the script makes Mary very uninteresting and I dont think she was. The film tries to pack in too much and it almost feels like a forced march through her reign, a selection of sound bites which dont hang too well together or give much in-depth analysis of Mary as a character or the political situation she found herself in. The editing is very poor and you go from one scene where Mary escapes to England and in rapid succession she ages 20 years, commits treason and is executed.I got the feeling the Director and the cast got bored with the last 30 minutes and just wanted to get the tedium over with. It is mildly entertaining so worth a few quid for a dvd and a bottle of wine on a Saturday evening but dont expect something comparable with A Man For All Seasons or even Anne Of The Thousand Days as you will be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971]
Mary Queen Of Scots [DVD] [1971] by Charles Jarrott (DVD - 2010)
6.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews