Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected
Never usually write reviews after completing a game, but here I go anyway.

I bought and played this game fully aware of the criticisms levelled at it. All of it was compared to COD Black Ops. A few days ago I noticed that COD had received the same review score from Edge which it had given to MOH. This made me slightly suspicious as to the claims of it being...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Brodie4ever

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity Here
`Call of Duty'. There, I got it out of the way. `Medal of Honor', is the latest in the long running series and has more than a little in common with the sales behemoth simply known as `CoD'. EA have ditched the well worn World War 2 setting in favour of a modern conflict. This is no bad thing as WW2 games have been around for years and feel very samey. However, out...
Published on 17 Mar 2011 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity Here, 17 Mar 2011
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
`Call of Duty'. There, I got it out of the way. `Medal of Honor', is the latest in the long running series and has more than a little in common with the sales behemoth simply known as `CoD'. EA have ditched the well worn World War 2 setting in favour of a modern conflict. This is no bad thing as WW2 games have been around for years and feel very samey. However, out with the WW2 bathwater also goes the gameplay baby of `MoH: Airborne', the most recent and best in the series for a long time. `Airborne' featured players parachuting in on a contained map and tackling a series of objectives in the order they feel best. What does `MoH' replace this with? Boring linear levels all set in different shades of sandy location or snowy location.

I have to admit to not being the biggest fan of `CoD', so a poor rip off of that game is never going to sit well with me. The shooting in `MoH' is decent enough and the various weapons on offer are good. However, the story and level design is mind numbingly dull. Go there, shoot them, move there, shoot that - rinse and repeat. This is bad enough in the `CoD' games, but at least they have the know how to mix levels up and feature epic set pieces. `MoH' just feels like one almighty slog to make your way through the game. The storyline may be interesting to some, but I found it the same old sub standard Tom Clancy nonsense that has dominated the genre for years.

As well as a lacklustre single player game, there is a multiplayer mode that gives second hand buyers the privilege of paying for. You do get a weeks trial of the game before you need to buy, or use the token found in the box. I bought this game new, played online and didn't bother to use the code - some "lucky" 2nd hand user can have it. The gameplay was the same frustrating die every 5 seconds deathmatch of `CoD', but will duller matches and fewer players.

If you are going to go up against something like `CoD' at least try to do something different like `Battlefield Bad Company 2'. Don't just copy it and produce a faded facsimile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 26 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
Never usually write reviews after completing a game, but here I go anyway.

I bought and played this game fully aware of the criticisms levelled at it. All of it was compared to COD Black Ops. A few days ago I noticed that COD had received the same review score from Edge which it had given to MOH. This made me slightly suspicious as to the claims of it being terrible.

Needless to say, I started playing it and did notice a slightly different feel (you will see what I mean) to the controls. However, this really enhanced the experience for me for, as in the real world, a soldier would not be able to shove a gun around the map in 0.05 miliseconds. Another feature I rather liked was the fact that this game was not a show of pyrotechnics and globe-trotting plots. It was very much a limited game to Afghanistan, and the story was very much straight forward. It had a good moral story at heart, and one you will realise after completion.

I managed to complete the game in one day - but this was largely because I didn't play anything else (with the exception of a chapter of Dead Space). I would say that it is short and sweet, in that you won't be playing the campaign for 555 hours. But isn't that a good thing? Certain parts of this game were so incredible that I wouldn't hesitate to replay it on Tier 1 mode, or even hard mode. I couldn't imagine that artificially extending the length would benefit the game, for what I played was succinct and well executed (even the ATV sections, which I heard were supposed to be awful, but I actually quite enjoyed them).

I bought this for [...] and I would recommend a purchase of this even if you are unconvinced. I was blown away at times, and I sincerely hope EA release a sequel and take the approach that they did to Battlefield Bad Company 2 (DICE developed, I know, but EA published).

The standard edition I have contained Frontline HD - so if you can get that you are getting two games for the price of one, or three if you include Multiplayer (which I haven't yet had the chance to experience).

Let me give a few positives of the games, and then a few negatives (which will hopefully be used to hone the sequel into something incredible).

3 good points:

1) Felt realistic - you were not some sort of superman. This approach was very good in several missions.
2) Tier 1 missions - stealthy elements were fantastic. More of these in future.
3) Set-pieces - absolutely blew me away at points (won't reveal my highlight of the game - it wasn't the helicopter level, surprise!). We need more of these good set-pieces.

3 bad points:

1) Length, though completely fine in terms of not adding needless fat onto the experience, could have perhaps benefited from a slight lengthening. Perhaps more of the Tier 1 missions?
2) Story - up until the end, it was lacking. Perhaps a stronger narrative than "Drive back the Taliban" could have been more engaging for the player?
3) Controls could be more fluid - more towards COD-style, but not as fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underrated compared to COD BO..., 26 Dec 2010
By 
U. E. UMUT "EmrE" (London / UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
Just finished playing MOH and right after COD BO. MOH is defn underrated for its price vs offering. lacks the storyline but good gameplay overall. perhaps paying the price of being a bit politicized as well.

- Storyline: short campaign and a bit confusing as you play three different characters, but gives you a good glimpse of all types of modern warfare either stealth or open. you have to use different weapons including snipers, Apaches and even atvs, overall a good mix. dialogues are also pretty interesting, where perhaps feedback from real T1 specialists played a big role...

- Graphics: worse than MW2, at par or even better than COD BO and MW1 although have had experienced a few glimpses. Sometimes reminded me of Battlefield 2 as well. you will enjoy the details of the terrain night or day. sunset or moonlight, you will spend a few secs looking at how beautiful they look. overall, a far satisfying feeling than COD BO.

- Tier 1 Mode: an innovative approach as you could compare how fast you are in any mission compared to others, but would not make you to play the game all over again if you are not after the trophy.

- Multiplayer: feels simple but if you are after action will give you what you want. nothing very innovative and MW still leading the pack though.

- Price: defn cheap for the quality of gameplay you will get!

If you like FPS games, you will enjoy MOH for this price. If it was as expensive as COD, would not recommend, but you will get a decent modern shooter for what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mans War Game, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Lee Hodge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
This is a brilliant game ,especially for the price it is now ..bargain! I think the negative comment may come from kids who like to go around blowing everything up in a game maybe? ..This game is realistic ,you dont often see your enemy ,they dont stand right in front of you like other war games ,there is alot of variety in this game tho , you have the little intense shoot outs, stealth , brilliant sniper action and the all out warfare ..this is the war game for adults ,not children ..miles better than C.O.D in my oppinion , better graphics too! ...for the price ,you cant go wrong ,great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to MoH?, 31 Oct 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
I remember the days when this series was top dog among the FPS market, admittedly you have to go back quite far to see a Medal of Honor game that was worthy of the title. From the PS1 to the PS2s early days MoH ruled the roost with consummate ease due to the immersive storytelling and action packed sequences which gave you some satisfaction when you got past them.
All has changed now and there is a new kingpin in this market which is leading the way and unfortunately resulting in a number of copycats of inferior quality.

MoH developers have obviously taken hints from CoD franchise in terms of attempting to find its place in this market. The fitting in takes the form of no more health packs, a new more up to date game setting and unfortunately a bungled attempt at slotting a story between the action sequences.
This poor attempt at a storyline is what lets me down the most about the game as this was previously one of the strong points of the series. It is now almost an aside considering that is dealing with current events. This is a shame as the game holds its own with regards to its foundations in terms of graphics, gameplay, sound, etc without doing anything that's overly impressive.

This is however easily the shortest MoH title ever in terms of gameplay time in the sense that if you blink you will miss it! This is not helped by the fact that the game is so incredibly linear that you can rarely stray off course to attempt to solve a situation from a different viewpoint as it will just flatly refuse you access with the most obscure and if we are being realistic ridiculous obstacles.

Overall this would make a good budget purchase but is not a title that should be on anyone's must play list as there is just not enough to it to make it a CoD contender and it currently finds itself falling further behind to the p and coming Battlefield series which seems to get better with each installment. I for one am hoping that MoH returns to basics and reclaims the FPS throne as their own due to good storytelling and excellent playability, unfortunately this title is not going to accomplish that feat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 10 Dec 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
Not so bad, good graphics and scenery. Agree it is not very difficult but I had a good time and there were some parts of the game, like the hellos that were very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numbers dwindling, 9 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
I pre-ordered MOH from amazon, it arrived, and I played it, it was great at first, Great graphics, great sounds, and if your team played as a team it was a brilliant game. Then after maybe 2 weeks when more people got the game thats when it went downhill, 12 v 12 and 8 - 10 would be snipers, so if you are playing a team based game then that leaves 2 - 4 of you trying to get the objective, while being picked off by the other teams snipers, this became very boring after a game or 2. On release the online number have dropped from around 24,000 to only just under 1,000 sometimes during the week, then rises to around 3,500 at weekends, not sure if this is UK numbers or max number for UK and Europe.
All in all, a great game to start with then goes downhill very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
with bugs dont work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars graphics arnt good, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal of Honor (PS3) (DVD-ROM)
for a game that eveyone talks about i dint find the graphics that good but that is my opinion but altogether it is a good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medal of Honor (PS3)
Medal of Honor (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£6.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews