Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure,unadulterated,non-stop shoot'em up!!
It is advisable to play the first Kane and Lynch outing before this one, as you are about to enter a very violent and blood-thirsty world indeed. Dog Days doesn't quite have the emotive story line of it's prequel, but its very cleverly presented,like you have a camcorder man filming all of your massive shoot-outs,nice touch! Gives it a very here and now feel. The shoot...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by DiscJockey

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution!
For me, this games big selling point was its initial setting (as shown in the PSN demo) and how it was portrayed, because it looks gorgeous, far better than the bland character models that inhabit it to be honest. Gorgeous lines of neon colour coupled with many impressive visual effects really catch the eye and give the game its own unique look. Sadly, this doesn't last...
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by DeeJay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Approach with caution!, 29 Aug 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
For me, this games big selling point was its initial setting (as shown in the PSN demo) and how it was portrayed, because it looks gorgeous, far better than the bland character models that inhabit it to be honest. Gorgeous lines of neon colour coupled with many impressive visual effects really catch the eye and give the game its own unique look. Sadly, this doesn't last forever as we are then drudged through the usual generic buildings, factories, train yards that we have seen time and time again.

The biggest flaw of this game is the aiming, they have perhaps tried to make the guns more realistic, but it's just annoying. I'm sure if I unloaded an entire clip of an Uzi it would be hard to aim, but at the same time if its at someone not 2 feet away from me i'm sure i'd hit them at least once, not here sadly. Firing in short bursts and switching on the auto-aim doesn't help much either. The aiming gets a bit better as the guns improve, but when your shotgun is more accurate from long distances than your machine guns are, you can see where the problems lie. And as the majority of the game is simply run, get into cover, and shoot its a massive flaw to have. The other flaw is all your guns sound rather weedy and lack any real "kick", most of them sound like potato guns truth be known.

Another big negative is the games length, I finished it in under 4 hours which is far too short in this day and age. There are achievements to collect, a high scoring arcade mode and the usual online multiplayer, but I feel it should still have had more, even at a reduced RRP price of under 25. The limited edition version comes with download codes for an extra map, weapons and masks.

Despite all these flaws though ive still given the game 3 stars, and that's a testament to the interesting characters and the few standout moments throughout the game. Like Kane and Lynch themselves though, approach with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on the original, but not much, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Kane and Lynch 2 differs heavily from the 2007 game. Jesper Kyd's gloomy music is gone (a shame, since I rather liked it), the camera system is radically different, and the partner system has also been done away with. This time you play as crazed psychopath Lynch, a man so anti-social he'd make Al Capone run and hide. Or at least he used to be. In this game Lynch is on his meds, and his edge is blunt. So he's basically just a generic run and gun anti-hero. What a wasted opportunity.

The story opens in Shanghai where Kane arrives to help Lynch with a lucrative opportunity. Before we can make sense of anything further two important people are dead and the anti-heroes are getting the blame. A battle rages across several locations as Kane and Lynch desperately try to escape the city. That's it as far as plot goes. No big twists, no innovative narrative techniques. Just kill, kill, kill. You get to play as Kane in the last level, but for the bulk of the game he's just a background character helping you blast away at the legions of bad guys filling the screen.

The story mode can be completed in about four hours. The game gives away trophies like there was no tomorrow, but...the majority of them are for online play. I have to be honest, most of the game's lasting appeal and scope comes from the various online modes (which I have no interest in). It's primarily an online game with a story mode shoehorned in as an afterthought.

I have faith the franchise, Kane and Lynch are terrific characters, but for their third outing the developers really do have to deliver an EPIC game for the ages and not a cheap quickie trading off a mediocre brand name.

Graphics A
Sound A
Gameplay B
Lasting Appeal D+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5hrs... that's your lot, 8 Sep 2010
By 
T. Flaxman "pew pew pew" (Naarch) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
paid 40 for this which works out at 8 an hour of gameplay, to say i felt ripped off is an understatement. there's no plot really to speak off it's just a run from a to b each time shooting anything that moves down a linear tunnel before the next chapter starts. needless to say i traded it back the next day for store credit. it's games like this that make me not want to buy any ever again and just stick to renting them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Dog Days aren't over..., 8 Sep 2010
By 
P. COSGROVE "manicspaul" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Sweaty, sweary anti-heroes Kane and Lynch are back to terrorise poor old Shanghai, presumably still recovering from the beating it took from EA's Army of Two: The 40th Day, just one of many similarities these two games share. Location? Check. Obnoxious, unlikeable protaganists? Check. A non-event plot? Check... Both dumb, then, but at least Rios and Salem are fun...

Gameplay/Story: 2/5
Lynch calls in Kane for a seemingly simple job, except something goes wrong and blah blah blah. The plot is perfunctory to GETTING SHOT AT A LOT AND SWEARING, two things this game does well. Each stage essentially involves you slowly moving through a location, using the old take cover/shoot from cover/advance method until you reach the anti-climactic end. And thats it. One brief section involves you firing from a helicopter, but there is almost no variation to the mission structure. Taking cover is also a pain, since Lynch seems to be allergic to certain surfaces, leaving you open to being shot at. Basically, the story mode is an unforgiving, uninspiring slog.

Lynch often feels so lightweight that you fear a gentle breeze will knock him to the floor. The weapons in a game like this should be one of its selling points; however, the majority of the guns at your disposal lack bite, with you resorting to grabbing whatever happens to be lying around in the vain hope it might do more than tickle the endless waves of goons sent your way.

Presentation/Sound: 4/5
K&L2's strongest point is its genuinely unique style. Presented in grainy, YouTube style shaky cam, it gives the game an element of immersion that you would normally expect the story to provide. The effect is one of a budget documentary crew following Lynch around, with the low quality camera suffering under intense shootouts, and one nice touch has particularly gruesome/explicit moments pixellated out. Shaky cam can be switched off, which proves something of a relief after after a while. Sound in the game is purely diegetic, with the only music coming from radios, store muzak and the like, and the sounds of a city punctured by gunfire. Voice acting is generally decent and consistent, though not up to the standard of games like Uncharted 2. HOWEVER, I couldn't help shake the feeling that the bells and whistles of the camera style both inadvertently obscured the (impressively) detailed city, yet acted as a shield against the weakness of the gameplay.

Multiplayer/Arcade Mode: 3/5
Dog Days features an online mode in which you can take part in heists as part of an eight man team, the twist being that friendly fire is on and you can betray/be betrayed at any time. Fragile Alliance is a seemingly straightforward heist, where working together should, theoretically, prove to be the most successful method; Undercover Cop pits one of you team mates as an, erm, undercover cop, tasked with bringing the team down from the inside; and Cops and Robbers divides the online players in to two teams, in a mad scramble for the bags of loot. The added tension of betrayal and mistrust makes K&L2's online mode an intriguing affair, and I would have marked it higher were it not for the fact that discrepancies between average players and skillful players often leave you helpless and, well, dead, since your pea shooter always seems more feeble than everyone elses; it also suffers from severe lag at times, and finding a full game room isn't always possible. It offers the usual XP/levelling up you would expect in post-Call of Duty online multiplayer, but its hard to see it offering the longevity of that series, or the popularity.

Arcade mode features the fragile alliance heists in a single player format with AI teammates, with each heist featuring ten rounds and escalating difficulty, with the added bonus of online leaderboards for those inclined to compete with strangers for kudos. Its enjoyable enough, though the looped dialogue and limited variation grates after a while.

Final impression:
Occasionally decent, and packing some very smart ideas, particularly online. However, its numerous flaws are unforgivable, dampening any enjoyment to be gleamed from the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars STOP ONLY RENT THIS GAME, 30 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This review will be short and sweet. The single player is simply put awesome, a real gritty crime drama. Though you will finish it in a little over 5 hours. Then we come to multiplayer which can only be described and insultingly bad. I never played a game that lagged so badly online. RENT IT ENJOY IT HAND IT BACK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable while it lasted, but not without massive flaws., 4 Sep 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I don't think this is a bad game but not five star game either! to be a five star game it needs to have it all , enjoyment , nonlinear gameplay,good long story, good graphics , good character's and in more recent years good online play . Kane and lynch 2 has some of these but not all.

I enjoyed the character's but the ending was weak,
good story but it was too short,
enjoyable gameplay but repetitive,
good graphics but it had poor online play.

overall 3/5 for me not great but not bad. As another reviewer suggested a rental maybe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Sequel, 16 Mar 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I played the first Kane and Lynch game, and it was a brilliant game. It had an engaging story, interesting characters with their own flaws and internal struggles. The main leads, Kane and Lynch also have interesting backstories too. The first game went to great lengths to immerse yourself in the story and gameplay.

This game doesn't even put half the effort the first game did. Dog Days is a terrible game, the camera is horrible with shaky cam and terrible effects like your being followed around and filmed with a faulty camera. This makes playing the game difficult to enjoy, but things get worse. The characters aren't interesting anymore, one of the most interesting characters, Lynch is suddenly cured of his mental problems that caused him to have Psychotic episodes in the first game, just cured.

The story basically isn't worth playing through four hours of terrible shaky cam and dull combat. The most you'll remember this game for is multiplayer. Kane and Lynch were more memorable in Lara Croft: The Guardian of Light... as Alternate skins. Play the first game if you want to get to know these characters, it's cheaper and worth your time on the whole, a lot more than this terrible sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good game, online is horrible, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is nice, and the online idea is fantastic, but to play online is horrible, lot of lag. If they could make it smother online would be great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as made out to be, 19 Aug 2012
By 
David Southall "soapyd" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I know this game has been out for a while now, but thought I'd write a quick review. Although its not perfect and that it has it's flaws, this game is not half bad. Annoying things for me were the shaky cam, the lighting and the way you can shoot certain ordinary enemies about 20 times without them dying! But hey, for the 4 quid I paid for it, it's a decent game, which, with a bit more care taken on development would be an 8 or 9 in its reviews. If you can get over the flaws, it's well worth a few quid for, what I found, an enjoyable( if a bit short) action game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure,unadulterated,non-stop shoot'em up!!, 9 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It is advisable to play the first Kane and Lynch outing before this one, as you are about to enter a very violent and blood-thirsty world indeed. Dog Days doesn't quite have the emotive story line of it's prequel, but its very cleverly presented,like you have a camcorder man filming all of your massive shoot-outs,nice touch! Gives it a very here and now feel. The shoot outs again are just like being in a Michael Mann feature- intense,lengthy,loud and as realistic as it gets. Nice array of modern weapons too! My main brief when buying this game was "I wanted a good old fashion shoot-out"-exactly what I got!!
DiscJockey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa00c963c)

This product

Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days - Limited Edition  (PS3)
3.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews