Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5-Highlights the life and the impact of 1960's radio icon
This movie must have gotten lost in the shuffle of big blockbuster releases and it deserves so much better. In the 1960s and `70s, Petey Greene (Don Cheadle) talking, as a "tell it like it is" radio DJ in Washington, D.C. You may have never heard of him but he was so popular in the D.C. area, that when he died more than 10,000 people came to his memorial service. Petey...
Published on 29 Sept. 2008 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated buyer
Very disappointed and annoyed that this dvd kept sticking about 2/3 into the movie. I was unable to watch the entire movie
Published 16 months ago by Peter. Graves


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5-Highlights the life and the impact of 1960's radio icon, 29 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: TALK TO ME (2007) (import) (DVD)
This movie must have gotten lost in the shuffle of big blockbuster releases and it deserves so much better. In the 1960s and `70s, Petey Greene (Don Cheadle) talking, as a "tell it like it is" radio DJ in Washington, D.C. You may have never heard of him but he was so popular in the D.C. area, that when he died more than 10,000 people came to his memorial service. Petey was funny, inspiring and a fierce community activist. He was, at times, also over the top with his self-destructive behavior. He was an ex con man, and Cheadle's portrayal is right on target. The "git down" Petey you hear and see on-screen, by all accounts is Petey Greene as he was, unlike the shock jock posers of today.

When Petey cons his way into an early parole, he looks up Dewey Hughes (Chiwetel Ejofor), the brother of a fellow inmate, and someone who had cracked to Petey to come and see him about a job when he got out. Dewey is program director at WOL-AM, a popular urban radio station geared to black music that sees its audience slipping away to edgier DJs. Dewey is a button-down type, in charge of hiring, and on his way to the top at the station owned by E.G. Sonderling (Martin Sheen). How Petey fast talks his way onto the air for the first time, with Dewey's help, is funny but it also offers a critical look at how people stereotype one another. Petey was able to keep it real in prison, and now on the outside, in part because of his sexy girlfriend Vernell (Taraji P. Henson of Hustle of Flow). Now he's able to connect with the radio audience, not just because he plays good music but he's always up front with his on air persona. Petey pulls no punches with his biting social commentary and his invitation to listeners to call him with their thoughts. "Talk to me," he tells them.

The film's mix of hilarious circumstances still manages to keep one grounded, even with the events surrounding the death of Martin Luther King Jr. and the impact of the Viet Nam war. Substance abuse and dreams of being on top of the world are the things that limit what Petey and Dewey can do together. If this story were not true, this would be a spoiler. You know things will crash, just not when, and to what extent the damage will be. Petey's popularity eventually surpasses that of his fellow star disc jockeys, Nighthawk (Cedric The Entertainer) and Sunny Jim (Vondie Curtis Hall).

We've seen excellent biopics in the past about American black men such as Ali and Ray. There are, however, a few notable differences between this film and those pictures. They were internationally known as entertainers by both the public and themselves. Both Petey and Dewey were tough guys but we get a glimpse of that inner self that men generally regard as weakness. That is, love and respect for another man without any homosexual overtones. Talk to Me digs deep in this area.

Director Kasi Lemmons (Eve's Bayou and The Caveman's Valentine) captures the flavor of Melvin Van Peebles and add in the great music from the late `60s, with a sultry score by Terrence Blanchard, some biting, sarcastic humor about Motown, and you have a movie that is not to be missed. Talk to Me tells quite a story about this slice of American culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Period Black American History, 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Talk to Me [DVD] (DVD)
The bones of this story have been written below by other reviewers. I have watched this several times and every time I am amazed at the fine acting of the lead actors. The weaving of essentially a true story set at a time of the Civl Rights upheaval in the USA, with Martin Luther Kings death being the main event set the time-line. Two very diferent black men who become friends, trying to "make it", one by "conforming and not rocking the boat", and the other by "whatever mean necessary".

My husband had a "guys night" in and this was the movie all the brothers viewed. As they generally were all young men at the time this move was set, it was very emotional, hilarious and humbling for them. The music is essestial soul of the time, pulsating and rhythmic yet frustrating as no tune gets played completely but hey..

This is a great film lost &neglected in the mega bucks world of distribution. Buy it and watch it again..I know I will watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frasier meets Shaft, 23 Jan. 2008
By 
Maknight "Mikeek" (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this film on a flight home from the far East, and was totally absorbed into the story. Basically it is about a con who is a DJ in prison, and gets a break in a local radio station. The film focuses around this one guys DJ antics in an attempt to make the station more streetwise and to increase ratings to the station. Frasier meets Shaft. This film also links to the MArtin Luther King assisination and how this DJ calms the local town through music and a concert with James Brown. I am not sure if it is based on a true story or not, but the soundtrack works well with the film and brings out various emotions whilst watching. Laughter at the antics of this streetwise, con come DJ , sadness on the impact of MLKs death, and encouragment for this guy making it as not only a DJ but as a TV host. Definately worth seeing - only released on Region 1 so far, hopefully it will get a UK release. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem that shines!, 13 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb acting comes from Don Cheadle, British talent Chiwetel Ejiofor and Taraji Henson in this biopic of a down-on-his-luck ex con who defies the odds and goes on to achieve the unimaginable and become a television personality and unlikely cult figure.

The film is set in the 1970s and is a low-key and a cozy account of the decade that really gives you a realistic feel for the times. I love everything about it -the music, the outfits- not to mention the jive-talking, which is good fun and hilarious. Yet at the same time the movie manages to be touching and nostalgic and really goes deep into the essence of the characters, the friendships and partnerships in addition to the racial turbulence of the time, which manages not to overshadow the enjoyment of the movie. This is definitely an underrated piece of art work by Kasi Lemmons as most quality and substance-based movies are these days, which is unfortunate. I've watched it over and over and still manage to be touched by characters and the acting.I would definitely recommend it. Especially if you enjoy black period dramas in general- such as Ray (based on the story of Ray Charles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated buyer, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointed and annoyed that this dvd kept sticking about 2/3 into the movie. I was unable to watch the entire movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When Good Acting Makes a Poor Script Work, 1 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Talk to Me [Blu Ray] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Biopic has to be the most mundane genre around; another actor playing a caricature of a famous person in the hopes of an Oscar. The vast majority of them are plodding films that don't tell you enough about the person for me to care. However, when they are done well, they are often very informative and highly entertaining. It helps when making a biography to have top quality actors like Don Cheadle and Chiwetel Ejiofor in the main roles; a couple of great actors can hide a multitude of sins elsewhere in the film, as is the case with `Talk to Me'.

`Talk' is the biopic of Petey Green, a man I have to admit to never having heard of. He is seen as one of the first shock jocks, but also as an important person in the civil rights movement. The film is as much about Dewey Hughes as it is Green. Hughes discovers and nurtures Green's talents, and as Green is constantly going off the rails, this is no easy task. Both Cheadle and Ejiofor carry this film brilliantly. I am a huge fan of both actors and they are able to take a by the numbers scripts, average direction, low budget and still make `Talk' a great film to watch.

Director Kasi Lemons falls deeply into the biopic trap of making the film feel like it was made for TV e.g. unambitious shots, few locations etc. At times the film feels like an extended episode of `Quantum Leap'. The main reason the film works is the chemistry between Cheadle and Ejiofor - two actors on top form. Ejiofor is perhaps playing more to type, but it is good to see Cheadle getting his chops into a seedier role. A biography worth watching for the acting and perhaps not much else.

As mentioned the direction is of a pretty mundane standard so the BluRay version is not needed. Included on the disc are some interesting documentaries about the real life characters and America of the 50-70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me [Blu Ray] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great item and fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk to Me [Blu Ray] [Blu-ray]
Talk to Me [Blu Ray] [Blu-ray] by Kasi Lemmons (Blu-ray - 2010)
£2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews