Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where it all started
Never underestimate the influence of Hendrix. I have been listening to him for over 30 years and only on this album do you get a better idea of what a good blues player he was. Although he is remembered by most for the singles, his influence on generations of musicians is undeniable. This is Hendrix stripped back with minimal production (but obviously with a bit of...
Published on 12 Sep 2008 by nelson mcfarlane

versus
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin...
Of the posthumous albums that were cobbled together after Jimi died "Blues" remains an interesting, but not necessarily essential, effort...although it certainly raters higher in comparison to the pretty awful "Southern Saturn Delta".
Overall the album is pretty much what you would expect: a collection on blues numbers (mostly covers)recorded...
Published on 21 Mar 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better., 8 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (MP3 Download)
Always been a fan of Jimi but I have quite often treated most albums after his death with suspicion. However this is an exception. If you never had any of his albums it would be best to stick to the first three and the 'Cry of Love.' Of the live ones I found the Berkeley concert as one of the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
If you like Jimi Hendrix and you like Blues music then look no further (well you can't really can you - kind of says it all). Good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One trick Hendrix, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
I think what makes Hendrix's music so appealing, whether it's studio or live albums is the diversity in the styles he creates, from rock to funk, to soul, to R&B.
Which is where the problem lies with this particular record. Because it focuses on Hendrix's interpretation of the blues, you don't get the usual great mixture of styles & genres.
Now if you're a big blues fan, this will be right up your alley, but if you not so much, this CD can be a bit of a long slog.
Don't get me wrong; there are some great tracks on this album, such as an acoustic version of "Hear my train comin", or a great re-interpretation of Muddy Waters "Mannish Boy".
So not as strong as "South Saturn Delta" or "Valley of Neptune" albums, but still enough quality material to be worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique interpretation of the blues, 26 Jan 2000
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
This album is a collection of Hendrix performing what he began with. This is simply a suberb collection of innovative and enthralling blues works from one of histories best loved guitarists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fysh, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
I have many hundreds of albums in my collection including most , if not all ,of Jimi's work . This is not only the very best of Hendrix but the best album of all time . This man IS a god .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin..., 21 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
Of the posthumous albums that were cobbled together after Jimi died "Blues" remains an interesting, but not necessarily essential, effort...although it certainly raters higher in comparison to the pretty awful "Southern Saturn Delta".
Overall the album is pretty much what you would expect: a collection on blues numbers (mostly covers)recorded during different periods of Jimi's career and with different line ups.
So, as a result it's no surprise that it's a mixed bag. It opens wonderfully with "Here My Train Comin'" which, in the first few bars, sounds like some shoddy amatuer is playing the guitar before Jimi suddenly gets it together and launches into a quite astounding rendition (a rather crafty move by Jimi that was no doubt intentional). This is swiftly followed by an "interesting-at-first-but-after-seven-minutes-gets-a-bit-tedious" cover of "Born Under A Bad Sign". After that the number of rather long winded jams takes hold and you'll find your finger hovering ever nearer to the "skip" button of your CD player.
The definite highlight for me however is a superb version of "Mannish Boy", which is slinky and sexy and incredibly cool!
Overall, you probably know what I am going to say - for avid Jimi fans it's a must, for the casual listener or new comer - buy one of his "offical" albums first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More a curiosity than a classic, 25 Feb 2009
By 
S. Harris (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
The Hendrix imprint is all over this album playing and it is very good indeed, but the sound quality isn't great and a couple of the tracks could have quite easily been left out. It has a kind of milking the back catalogue feel to it, lumping a series of tracks under a blues label. It isn't all blues, but it is all Hendrix. If you like Hendrix then you will probably like this, but if you are new to the man don't make it your first purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White boy gets the blues, 24 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
As a post war Britain slowly recovered, so an interest in black music emerged. Trad jazz, skiffle and modern jazz gained afficionado's along with the blues.

The greats of Chicago were well known to us teenage boys and Hooker, Wolf and Muddy were staples in student and backroom clubs around the land.

Then came the Stones, Yardbirds, Spencer Davis, all attempting emulation of this simple yet fiendishly difficult to truly master music.

Suddenly blues became semi mainstream and the jolt of John Mayall's EC album rocked our little world. It was simply glorious and for me Clapton has never played better or achieved that Les Paul/Marshall combo tone in quite as organic a way.

Then the bombshell! When listening to Are You Experienced we all knew the moment had arrived. Now I love the slightly thin echo of reverb drenched Chess blues but then we wanted sustain and that thick stew Clapton had created.

Jimi, with a Strat and a Marshall stack nailed it in one and hooked, I had the rare priviledge of seeing him perform live.

I still remember it to this day as being akin to enlightenment. The raw excitement of rock 'n roll, welded to traditional blues was the perfect combo.

Those guys were our hero's and for me, 43 years later, still are.

I've got this plus many other Hendrix albums nestling amongst around a thousand blues cd's and it still maintains a validity and authenticity to match even the greats.

Who's have thought it, all those years ago, that this music could have retained it's relevance into the 21st century but it goes from strength to strength as younger listeners latch on to its timeless appeal.

This CD is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars discovering hendrix with the blues-brilliant +++++++++++++++, 20 April 2008
By 
Mrs. C. Casson "carol" (buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
HAVING NEVER OWNED A CD ON HENDRIX-ONLY REMEMBERED SEEING HIM ON TELLY BACK IN THE 70S/80S SMASHING GUITARS ON STAGE I DECIDED OUT OF INTEREST TO GIVE THIS CD A GO HAVING RECENTLY GOT INTO BLUES MUSIC WITH THE LIKES OF JOHN MAYALL,ERIC CLAPTON AND NINA SIMONE AND WOW WHAT AN ALBUM-EVERY SINGLE TRACK ON THIS ALBUM REALY DOES HOLD MY ATTENTION AND LIFT MY SPIRITS AND THIS REALY IS AN ALBUM THAT DESERVES TO BE HEARD WHETHER OR NOT YOU ARE INTO THE BLUES OR NOT.
I CANT FAULT THIS ALBUM IN ANY WAY AND I WILL CERTAINLY ALMOST BE LOOKING UP OTHER HENDRIX ALBUMS IN THE FUTURE.
DONT HESITATE GO BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimi at his soulful best, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Roy F. Burn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
Hendrix at his most soulful experience using blues staples with a new twist. four stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues
Blues by Jimi Hendrix
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews