Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where it all started
Never underestimate the influence of Hendrix. I have been listening to him for over 30 years and only on this album do you get a better idea of what a good blues player he was. Although he is remembered by most for the singles, his influence on generations of musicians is undeniable. This is Hendrix stripped back with minimal production (but obviously with a bit of...
Published on 12 Sep 2008 by nelson mcfarlane

versus
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much does exactly what it says on the tin...
Of the posthumous albums that were cobbled together after Jimi died "Blues" remains an interesting, but not necessarily essential, effort...although it certainly raters higher in comparison to the pretty awful "Southern Saturn Delta".
Overall the album is pretty much what you would expect: a collection on blues numbers (mostly covers)recorded...
Published on 21 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where it all started, 12 Sep 2008
By 
nelson mcfarlane (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
Never underestimate the influence of Hendrix. I have been listening to him for over 30 years and only on this album do you get a better idea of what a good blues player he was. Although he is remembered by most for the singles, his influence on generations of musicians is undeniable. This is Hendrix stripped back with minimal production (but obviously with a bit of remixing). For its time the guitar sounds are incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Earth to Hendrix: Jimi.......Jimi?..............Where are you, man?......, 17 Feb 2007
By 
Wilf (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
Like the previous reviewer, I also am a fan of blues guitar music (a HUGE fan) and greatly appreciate the talents of Leadbelly, Lightnin' Hopkins, Bo Diddley, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Robert Johnson, Muddy Waters, BB King, John Lee Hooker, Johnny Guitar Watson, Fred McDowell, Rev Gary Davis, Blind Willie Johnson, Elmore James etc (and even one or two white guys !). And, entirely worthy of inclusion in this catalogue of blues brilliance, is Jimi Hendrix.

One of the best things about the blues is the fact that it provides such a good framework for its practitioners to develop their own styles and sounds, each making their own unique contribution to the genre. Well, Jimi fits seemlessly into this tradition. Indeed, Jimi's contribution could be considered as particularly interesting - on one hand, he is entirely steeped in traditional blues, while on the other hand, he personifies his own generation, his howling screeching wailing guitar (plus sustain and feedback off his speakers) being the very embodiment of the psychedelic experience.

Furthermore, Jimi is capable, in my opinion, of communicating deeper and more intense emotion in both his guitar and voice than almost any other musician, which, alongside his technical virtuosity, is quite simply the perfect combination for crying the blues.

As for this CD, its definitely a mixed bag - ranging from those that originated as warm-ups, jams and impromptu performances, to some old favourites, to some gems that would have been worthy of general release in their own right. While some of the content is quite 'dry', others (like Mannish Boy, Voodoo Chile Blues, Once I Had A Woman and both versions of Hear My Train) are superb and there is even one track that I consider to be a genuine masterpiece! Born Under A Bad Sign!! This track is not only a great classic (Albert King & Booker T Jones), but the result of Jimi's treatment is a classic cover version, and is one of the most exquisite electric blue howls I have EVER heard! (Cream's cover of the same song -also brilliant- is an interesting comparison).

All in all, I consider this release to be a very worthwhile contribution to the body of Jimi's published music, and well worth adding to your Hendrix or blues collection. Why only 4 stars? Because this CD doesn't contain my favourite version of Hear My Train A Comin' (the Hawaii rendition, which is a serious contender for my-all-time-No.1-favourite-blues-track) and because some of the material serves best as 'wall-paper'. Of course, how many other artists could stand up so well to having their every recorded note picked over so thoroughly?!

Finally, one of the great pleasures of having been listening to Hendrix for 20 odd years is that, through much of this time, there has been a steady trickle of previously-unreleased material coming through (such as the Rainbow Bridge concert and First Rays Of The New Rising Sun). This has had the effect of sustaining fans with new material (and has included some of his very very best work), even though he left us all those years ago. This CD is such a release, and anyone who likes the blues or any of Jimi's music will get something from it.

"Music is Magic, Magic is Life" -JH-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This kid could play..., 6 Feb 2006
By 
R. G. Brookman (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
As a big fan of blues guitar of all styles, I am sorry to say I never rated Hendrix very highly - too much psychedelic mucking about and not enough real guitar-playing. I borrowed this album from a friend and listened with a fair amount of scepticism. I'd heard a lot of Hendrix before, right? Well, this album blew me away. It's not all perfect by any means, but this guy can play the blues! Although the melodic lines and some of the textures are recognisably Hendrix, this is blues playing at its best that stands comparison with anything I've heard by B B King, the early Eric Clapton etc. If you like the whining and screaming of a well-played electric guitar over a solid, slow 12-bar backing, you won't be disappointed with this. In a nutshell - I'm not a great Hendrix fan, but I like this album very much and I will be buying my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Blues, 10 Oct 2011
By 
I. H. Roblin (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
For some reason, I had forgotten the fact that Hendrix was essentially a Bluesman.

'Born under a bad sign', 'Red house' and 'Catfish Blues' epitomise and highlight his raw Blues style.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, 8 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
40 years of listening to Jimi. You cannot underestimate his influence on the blues. We needed the mantle to be passed on from Muddy, Buddy, BB, et al. Jimi did this in spades. You may own all the 'legitimate' pre 18/09/1970 releases but you cannot fault the efforts of the foundation set up by his father, Al, to re-release and, simply release the unheard archive. Most of the tracks in this set, you will be familiar with, but that should not detract from the brilliance and innovation of his musical style. To call this album 'Blues' sells itself. The bookending of accoustic and electric renditions of 'Hear My Train a-Comin' is genius. Recorded at the start and end of his career ably demonstrates his influence. The former is intimate and shows off his versatility on the 12 string and his humour. The latter is the definitive version of the song and, possibly, his defining moment in blues. The rest of the album touches all the bases. Robert Johnson may well have sold his soul to the devil for the sake of his art. Jimi Hendrix was born with the gift and future generations of blues guitarists my find themselves in direct negotiations to keep the flame alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JIMI'S GOT THE BLUES, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
I feel really sorry for those that have only heard Jimi's studio albums. Dont get me wrong , Vooddo Child & Purple Haze are great songs.....But they are show stopping songs that Jimi put out to show people what he could do and get the attention he needed. I have always preferd Jimi doing the chilled/Jamming type stuff. And this album hits the spot. Worth the price alone for the electric version of "hear my train a comin". Ultimateley .....Jimi was a bluesman. Thats where he did his apprenticeship. He spent 3 years in the deep south when he first left the army. He was rubbing shoulders with BB King & Alber King and played in well over 500 blues venues. Jimi's understanding of blues & jazz guitar was amazing. This is blues with a Jimi attitude...You just got to buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Hendrix has got the Blues!!!, 12 July 2011
By 
T. S. C. (Somewhere in NW England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
'Jimi Hendrix Blues' does exactly what it says on the tin; it is Jimi Hendrix playing the Blues, with, of course, that brilliant expertise, flair and improvisational ability he brought to everything he did. It is Blues, but Hendrix had that incredible ability of taking all kinds of Blues off into the stratosphere and into outer space; all you can do is hold on tight and brace yourself for the ride! We Hendrix fans have been doing this for years!

Jimi, unlike so many other guitarists of the time, seemed to have a load of other kinds of music in his grasp, whereas Clapton, for me also an amazingly talented guitarist and also a superlative improviser, was and is really a Chicago Bluesman. Hendrix was something else, and he seemed to come from nowhere and yet, those dreamy licks on all his recordings are even bluesy when they are not typical Blues; I hope you get my drift?!

What I love specifically about Hendrix when he played the Blues was that the Blues, even more than his rock and psychedelic rock forays, really stretched his playing and improvisational abilities, that for me no other guitarist has ever really done, before or since Hendrix. His improvisational skill when playing the Blues was legendary, and for me this is when Hendrix was at his most exciting and innovative. If you like Hendrix, you should love this compilation a whole lot. If you like the Blues, then listen to a master who seemed to tie all the loose ends together and produced something that is Blues, but is also something new and exciting too.

Incidentally, the first track on this Cd, was taken off a piece that was originally shot to camera; it's Hendrix playing an acoustic 12-string, and the number is called 'Hear My Train Comin''.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blues, 12 Jan 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
'Blues' is a great collection of Jimi playing the style that infused all of his music. You get awesome performances of 'Hear my train a comin' in both acoustic and electric, as well other songs by him and covers of other blue numbers. 'Mannish Boy' and 'Catfish Blues' are superb and the blues version of 'Voodoo Chile' is out of this world and really good to listen to if you love the version on 'Electric Ladyland' although this one is shorter. Overall this is a good collection of tracks and is perfect to put on when you're in the mood for some blues and only Jimi will do.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars guitar lover, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
this is a wonderful example of hendrix at his powerful best subtle changes of pick attack sweet soulfull and complex only an intstrumental genius can achieve these hights .of course you will need to own the ears to getit ! listen to track two sober or wonky you wont return to earth this year .a final comment had he lived imagine the evolution! just a strat and wa.phew er!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is on the second CG?, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: Blues (Audio CD)
All the tracks listed here are on a single CD titled Blues. The blurb, and the price, indicate two CDs. So what is on the second CD/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues
Blues by Jimi Hendrix
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews