Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations.. just cant stop playing it
If you have seen the movie then this CD is a must have- and if you havent seen the movie get it anyway. All the songs from the movie are here and sound much better as you are not distracted by the visuals.
There isnt a bad song on the soundtrack. Best picks are The weary kind, Hold on you, somebody else, I dont know, Fallin and Flyin, and of course Townes Van Zandt...
Published on 10 April 2010 by Mary Kearns

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but not cd
I watched this excellent movie and I knew i have to buy soundtrack, so after buying cd i was bit disappointed, sound quality of this cd is not so good, i have pretty decent hi fi and i really think that sound quality in movie is much better than on cd, it should be other way around.
Published 22 months ago by brane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations.. just cant stop playing it, 10 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
If you have seen the movie then this CD is a must have- and if you havent seen the movie get it anyway. All the songs from the movie are here and sound much better as you are not distracted by the visuals.
There isnt a bad song on the soundtrack. Best picks are The weary kind, Hold on you, somebody else, I dont know, Fallin and Flyin, and of course Townes Van Zandt If I needed you. The rest is wonderful too. Colin Farrell was a good surprise in the movie. Ryan Bingham is excellent, hadnt heard of him before and will be watching out for him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie with an excellent soundtrack!!!, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Chris L (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
To be honest you do not have to be into Country music to appreciate this album - Although if you are I think you will like it even more. It really is a first rate collection of music and to be honest one of the most impressive things is the collaboration of Jeff Bridges on the album. He has done a stunning job and dare I say it but could this be the start of a new career! (Perhaps not). To summarise if you enjoyed the film you will certainly enjoy this album. However even if you have not seen the film and enjoy the odd Country and Western tune this album could well be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Old Country Blues, 7 Feb 2010
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
Crazy Heart is the kind of film that hits you in the gut, it is original and so well acted. The soundtrack hits you in the same manner. It is old fashioned country sung with the blues. This weekend 'In the Best Original Song category - Motion Picture category Crazy Heart's lead song 'The Weary Kind (Theme From Crazy Heart)', composed by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett, won the Golden Globe.

Jeff Bridges plays the role of an original outlaw songwriter - "confident, crooked, and hardened with time" said Stephen Bruton who played with Jeff. His voice is from deep in the chest, and T Bone Burnett figures Bridges character would have wanted to follow in the footsteps of Leonard Cohen, but it wasn't his time. Bruton writes the lyrics and co-producer T Bone Burnett's has written some tunes and supervises the songs. These are true blues old classic country tunes. Many of the songs are from the old timers, Townes Van Zandt, wrote 'If I Needed You', Waylon Jennings wonderful song 'Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way', and Lightnin' Hopkins, one of those old timers a few of us remember and his song 'Once a Gambler'. Jeff bridges opens the CD with 'Hold On You', a hard beat tune that had me tappin' my toes. Stephen Bruton follows with an instrumental, 'Someone Else'. Bridges takes the lead again with 'Somebody Else' and then a snippet of a tune called 'Wesley's Piano'. Ryan Binghamon takes the stage with 'I Don't Know'- his voice from this CD will open his career. 'Fallin' and Flyin' sung by Bridges seems like one of those old time honky tonk tunes we hear drifting from a bar. 'Gone, Gone, Gone' sung by Colin Farrell is a great tune and sung well. Robert Duvall's sings 'Live Forever' in acapella format. Brand New Angel' sung by Jeff Bridges in a slow, waltzy type of tune. The CD finishes with "The Weary Kind" Ryan Bingham, captures the feel of the film to a 'T'.

The actors don't have that distinct old grizzled sound of the old country but they reach the honky tonk sound and it all seems fine and right. This is a CD for the ages, one the old timers would listen to, and one that reminds us of our roots in country. All damn fine tunes for a film that gives us as good as it gets. T Bone Burnett has another hit on his hands.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 01-19-09

Anything I Say Can and Will Be Used Against You

The Door In The Floor [DVD] [2004]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crazy heart cd, 26 May 2010
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
After watching the film, i decided to purchase the CD. Really good, country type music. good product , good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but a bit repetitive in places, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
I bought this after really enjoying the film and although I do enjoy the album on the whole, I don't appreciate some songs appearing several times, albeit by different artists and do tend to skip tracks because I get bored of hearing the same thing over and over again. Amazed at the quality of both Jeff Bridges' and Colin Farrell's singing talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but not cd, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
I watched this excellent movie and I knew i have to buy soundtrack, so after buying cd i was bit disappointed, sound quality of this cd is not so good, i have pretty decent hi fi and i really think that sound quality in movie is much better than on cd, it should be other way around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, CD a bit mixed, 24 Oct 2014
By 
R. L. Simpson (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
Great movie, CD a bit mixed. 3 stars is a bit harsh, 4 too much - 3.5 stars.

Jeff Bridges' contributions here are generally the best bits, plus a few other gems along the way, but there is also some stuff I just deleted from the hard drive very rapidly ... So I really like some of the tracks here, and don't regret getting the CD, but for me it's one to make a playlist from rather than play from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
I loved the film and the music, no I can listen to the tracks when ever I want. So happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Jeffrey, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
Love Jeff's voice but surprisingly few songs on this album are by him. So for cost of album not much Jeff. Some other lovely songs though. Don't regret buying it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not brilliant quality sound, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
I only played this cd once since i got it and the quality of the sound wasn't very good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]
Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] by Crazy Heart [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews