Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet romance
Lauren's divorce sparks off more than she bargains for. All she wants is her husband, Greg's, signature on the divorce papers, and when the judge grants her wish, along with an old barn, she discovers a clapped out merry-go-round that is pushing her and Greg back together.

Lauren is feisty and thinks she knows what she wants from life, but it takes the divorce...
Published on 23 Mar 2011 by Sibel Hodge

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather odd romance
Lawyer Lauren divorces her husband, Greg, because he loses his business and she has to spend tens of thousands of dollars of her savings to fix his mistakes. When the divorce finally comes through (he has been stalling) she discovers he has a parcel of land he's been hiding from her, with a shed containing an old-fashioned merry go round. She soon learns that if she...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Lady Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet romance, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
Lauren's divorce sparks off more than she bargains for. All she wants is her husband, Greg's, signature on the divorce papers, and when the judge grants her wish, along with an old barn, she discovers a clapped out merry-go-round that is pushing her and Greg back together.

Lauren is feisty and thinks she knows what she wants from life, but it takes the divorce and the merry-go-round to make her really think about her life.

The Merry-Go-Round was a really sweet romance that was well written, pulling me in from the first page. If you're looking for a light-hearted, easy-to-read romance, this will be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unusual Romance, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
What could've been a very formulaic plot (I won't give away the ending), wasn't because of the skill of this talented author. Not only did I love the main character, a busy lawyer who still manages to take care of her family and friends, but I loved all of the supporting characters too. Even the cases were funny! A satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, well written romantic comedy, 5 July 2011
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It's the kind of book that you look forward to reading, all tucked into your bed. I loved the characters and the setting. The solid, accomplished writing was a pleasure. The subplot of the restauration of the old merry go round was unusual, the love story heartwarming and the suspense of 'what will happen next' made me stay up late to finish the book. I will look up this writer's other books very soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging romance, 30 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
"The merry-go-round was traveling in reverse. The horses, tigers, bears, zebras were all circling tail-end first as if competing in some bizarre, backward race." - The Merry-Go-Round, a romantic comedy

Thirty-eight-year-old lawyer Lauren Flynn harbours a lot of resentment toward her soon to be ex-husband, Greg. All she wants from him is his signature on the divorce papers. Or at least that's what she tells herself.

While I didn't feel that this was a comedy, it was one of the best romances I've read in a long time. Engaging story with strong, real people. Lots of sexual tension but no gratuitous sex scenes. Balanced pacing with no flat spots.

I didn't warm to Lauren straight away, but the more I got to know her, the more she grew on me. In the beginning, she came across as quite hard and bitter, but I soon discovered that was only a veneer and brittle at that.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't know what you've got until it's gone, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
This is the third book which I have read by Donna Fasano so I am now officially a fan. At the start of the story we meet Lauren who comes across as rather self centred but by the end of the book her character has recognised her flaws and her personality has softened. I enjoy Donna Fasano's books because she writes interesting characters that you can care about. I'm looking forward to reading more books by this author now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 2 May 2011
By 
Mrs. A. B. Graham "angebg" (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, which I was led to download after reading Big Al's review of it. I am not a fan of old-fashioned Barbara Cartland-style romance fiction, but this was much more modern: well-told and humorous as well as touching and poignant in parts, and although I hoped/guessed what might happen, the ending was by no means certain until I reached the final pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns the formula upside down, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
Imagine a generic storyline about a marriage gone astray. Then flip the male and female roles. What you'll have is a high-level outline of "The Merry-Go-Round." Lauren, the protagonist, is a career oriented lawyer in the midst of a divorce from husband Greg. While Lauren is trying to save her finances, Greg, the romantic, is trying to save their marriage. While Lauren is pulling out all the stops and looking out only for herself, Greg is trying to do what he thinks is right. A supporting cast that includes Lauren's cantankerous father and her old-but-not-dead assistant keep things stirred up and Lauren on edge. The results are a romantic comedy that works so well because it turns the clichés upside down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She Doesn't Love Him--Or Does She?, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. Author Donna Fasano has done a fine job detailing heroine Lauren Flynn's problem life. First, after her husband Greg manages to nearly bankrupt them, Lauren files for divorce and her elderly father has to move in with her. Then in her divorce settlement Lauren is awarded a merry-go-round that she will have to refurbish before she can sell it. Meanwhile, she's busy with her legal career.

I like the way the author wove interesting legal cases in with Lauren's day to day life with her hypochondriac dad. Initially I had trouble warming up to Lauren, though. Her anger with Greg came out every time she was near him and she behaved badly. From her point of view he had lied and put them in a financial bind through poor business decisions. Yet Greg always seemed kind and thoughtful, and I had a hard time picturing him as being that bad. After Lauren makes some mistakes of her own, especially by dating someone unsuitable, she starts to realize that she shares a big part of the blame for her marriage failure. The merry-go-round also played an important role in bringing Lauren to the point where she knows what she really wants out of life. The newly humbled Lauren reaches the right conclusions and the ending is a happy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't quite sure how this one was going to end, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book because of a review (can't recall which one) that intrigued me.

Lauren is not a happy camper to say the least. Her hypochondriac, internet addicted father has to move in with her, her ex-husband has wiped out her savings, and she's struggling to build up her solo legal practice. To say she's filled with angst would be understating it.

Balance that out with her secretary who insists on looking on the bright side and some fun clients (wish there had been a couple more of those) not to mention a handsome new love-interest and a sympathetic ex-husband and you have an engaging story.

It all revolves (if I may interject the pun) around a broken down old merry-go-round. Will Lauren jump on and keep riding around in circles, or will she open her heart and go for the brass ring?

Finding out was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming romantic comedy, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Helen Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Merry-Go-Round (Kindle Edition)
This charming romantic comedy has been written by an award-winning romance author - and it shows. The story-telling is excellent, the dialogue natural, and the characters are well-rounded and engaging. The light, witty writing style is the kind that takes years to perfect.

I could see where this story was likely to go but not quite how we would get there. I loved the humour in it - both the exchanges between the main character, Lauren, and her friend and assistant Norma Jean, and the funny set pieces as we were introduced to some of the clients that Lauren represented in her job as a lawyer in a small town.

The romantic sex scenes are written skillfully so they are enjoyable to read, and the potential for mawkishness in a key scene involving Lauren's father is neatly side-stepped by an author who doesn't need to resort to emotional manipulation to tell the story.

The Merry-Go-Round that provides the redemption for the main character is a clever metaphor. I could see this story translating to the big screen as it has all the ingredients for a hit movie - sexy men, clever, funny women and a main character who goes on an emotional journey and takes us with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Merry-Go-Round
The Merry-Go-Round by Donna Fasano
2.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews