Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent extra tracks!
I reviewed the original release of HBD2 and gave it 4 stars. If you need to know what the bulk of the cd is like then please read that and the other reviews.
This is just to let anyone interested know that the 3 extra tracks on this Special Edition release are excellent.
I was fully aware that there were only 3 extra audio tracks on this release and even though...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Rich Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's better than Educated Horses
But does it deserve the Hellbilly Deluxe title ? Emphatically.. no. The original Hellbilly Deluxe sounded like a musician having fun and trying to make some good music. This album just sounds like Rob Zombie is out of ideas. I also really hate the practice that some artists engage in.. in releasing an album, then a few months later releasing a special edition with a few...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Jay65


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent extra tracks!, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I reviewed the original release of HBD2 and gave it 4 stars. If you need to know what the bulk of the cd is like then please read that and the other reviews.
This is just to let anyone interested know that the 3 extra tracks on this Special Edition release are excellent.
I was fully aware that there were only 3 extra audio tracks on this release and even though id got the original i thought for £9 id give it a go.
Devils Hole, the first new track, is straight into Rob Zombie heavyness at his best! Imagine something similar to 'I Zombie' from the Astrocreep Cd and your not far off.
The second new track, Everythings Boring, is just as good with the 1st verse starting after the intro with deep, ominous piano type sound, closely followed by a massive, chunky riff.
Theyre both just what ive been wanting from RZ for some time and my 2 favourite tracks off the CD.
The third new track, Michael, is a slow more chilled out one which in the past iv not liked RZ doing. However this track has really grown on me and the almost Blues like guitar solo in it was great.

In summery, if your a big Rob/ White Zombie fan then you really should buy this if you can get it for £9 like i did.
The new tracks are easily worth £3 each as far as im concerned.

Oh... and theres a DVD with a few videos on it too...which ive not looked at yet :-/
Not the best review iv ever done but i was just that impressed with the extra tracks i thought id add my thoughts.
Cheers

Rich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original release anyway!, 5 Jun 2011
By 
I have to say it, I'm a big fan of the original release of Hellbilly Deluxe 2, but knew I had to get my hands on this 2 disc version. I'm not going to go too much into depth about the album itself, apart from saying it is an upbeat, eclectic, gratifyingly insane album so full of energy and aggression that it is a must have in any groove rock/hard metal collection. Here, I will focus on what's new in this release.

The big thing about the album is the inclusion of 3 new tracks featuring Slipknot drummer Joey Jordison, as well as an alternate version of the closing track The Man Who Laughs and the division of Mars Needs Women into 2 separate tracks. I'm a big fan of the new piece Michael, which fits into the album perfectly and has that brilliant creepy, long drawl Zombie has done to great effect on Educated Horses, but I'm not so into the 2 other new tracks (Devil's Hole Girls and the Big Revolution and Everything Is Boring). They are pretty standard for Zombie and seem like a step backwards in terms of style. They feel like outtakes that never belonged with the other tracks on the album. As for the changes made to The Man Who Laughs, I personally welcome them and embrace this new version as the definitive song. The splitting of Mars Need Women is in one way pointless, in another quite welcome. Makes it easier to put it on to just hear the driving parts of the song!

Now for the DVD, which is the real bonus on this release. A half hour tour documentary by Rob Zombie is the main attraction, essentially chronicling some off stage and performance footage of the band. To be honest, it's not big shakes and was filmed on handicams, but I've seen worse. Seeing some of the joking around and fan interaction is quite nice, though the poor sound quality makes a lot of the performance footage difficult to sit through. Any die hard fans should dig it, but casual fans may notice how much better Zombie sounds in the recordings than he does in the live performance. Also included on the DVD are two music videos, one a montage of performance footage for Mars Needs Women, the other the live performance of School's Out with Alice Cooper. Nice to see, not the biggest of shakes.

A quick word must be given to the lyric booklet. The art is (as always the case with Zombie) a homage to old horror movies and is a bit fun. There is plenty of his wife Sherri Moon Zombie, and just general love and attention in there. It's enough to make me mention it, so don't forget to give it a flip (in a good way!).

Overall, some of the tracks seem like the disk is just double-dipping, but this is definitely the definitive version of the album, as it always should have been. If you're going to hear this album, do yourself a favour and get this release of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the original release should have sounded!!!, 6 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This release has caused fans to throw their hands up in the air and question why they would buy an album they already have just for a few bonus tracks and a dvd. Well fear not Zombie fans...this album is well worth the buy...the bonus tracks are some of Rob's finest! It would seem that the addition of Joey Jordison to his touring band has given old Rob a kick up the behind and remember why he made us sit up and listen to his crazy insane music in the first place!

Without going into too much detail, this is the album Rob Zombie should have released as the official Hellbilly Deluxe 2!!! The added songs make the album sound so much better and finished!!!

Oh by the way the DVD is pretty cool too!!!

Buy it Zombie fans!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form., 17 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellbilly Deluxe 2 (Audio CD)
Im still a massive fan of White Zombies Astro Creep 2000 and the first Rob Zombie solo cd Hellbilly deluxe and fully admit that anything he does that doesnt have the same production style of those and to some extent the Sinister Urge cd, is always going to disappoint me. If your new to White/ Rob Zombie then id suggest picking them up first.
Hellbilly Deluxe 2 isnt similar to those in that way but its really grown on me and i now really like nearly every track on it. The style of HBD2 is similar to his last effort Educated Horses, a cd i was hugely disappointed with but the actual tracks are (in my opinion) much much better with some great riffs and rolling basslines and Robs vocals doing what you'd expect.
A definate return to form which im really pleased about but theres still a part of me that wants to hear the huge production style of Astro Creep and Hellbilly Deluxe return, as they are 2 of my all time favourite CDs. What about another remix cd Mr.Zombie?
Play it loud and enjoy!
Cheers

Rich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great compilation of some awesome tracks. Plus the DVD is cool esp the bit with the legendary Alice Cooper. (Still going strong!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for the musick, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My one disappointment is not having seen Rob Zombie perform live yet. Have to just keep cranking up the bass and rocking out to yet another in a succession of thundering, pulsing metal albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed really, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellbilly Deluxe 2 (Audio CD)
Sounds like it was written in a bit of a rush (ie: during a jam session), and is nothing like as well written and produced as "Hellbilly Deluxe", which is a CLASSIC by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Phantom Stranger, 4 Jan 2013
By 
J. Fielder "the_jazzdevil" (on the sofa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the not-so-well received Educated Horses, Zombie settles back to what he does best, overblown rock liberally splashed with cult movie and horror references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's better than Educated Horses, 12 July 2011
But does it deserve the Hellbilly Deluxe title ? Emphatically.. no. The original Hellbilly Deluxe sounded like a musician having fun and trying to make some good music. This album just sounds like Rob Zombie is out of ideas. I also really hate the practice that some artists engage in.. in releasing an album, then a few months later releasing a special edition with a few more tracks. Shame on you Rob for trying to exploit your die hard fanbase. I really think Rob should call it quits on his musical career and leave us with the sweet memories of White Zombie and the first two solo records. Stick to making movies Rob. As a director you are hit and miss.. but at least you seem to have passion in what you're doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ZOMBIE DOES IT AGAIN, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoyed the first hellbilly deluxe album,i can't imagine why you wouldn't enjoy this one,it's also brilliant.
From the very get go,you know you're in for another treat from ZOMBIE,and it just keeps getting better.
As much as i like all the songs,after a couple of listens i really love MARS NEEDS WOMEN and the brutally honest EVERYTHING IS BORING NOW,a good point well made.I also found MICHAEL dark and brilliant.
The DVD is well worth owning,with a great documentary and 2 great videos,the clip with ALICE COOPER is very cool indeed. So even though you might wish the DVD was a little longer,it is still very much worthwhile.
I never had the original CD (with less tracks),but that kind of worked out for the better for me,as i only had to buy this brilliant package,but i would say even if you own the original,this surely can't disappoint.
What a better place the world of rock is with ROB ZOMBIE in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hellbilly Deluxe 2
Hellbilly Deluxe 2 by Rob Zombie (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews