Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best purchases I have ever made
I was recommended to buy this series by several friends but put it off for ages because I thought it was all about sex and so wouldn't be my 'thing'. However, I made the decision to buy it and after watching the complete boxset twice in 3 weeks, can honestly say it was the best decision I've ever made. Although there is a lot of sex (and drugs, partying and good music!),...
Published on 6 Nov. 2011 by H. C. Jerrome

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series, so-so transfer.
QAF is one of the best series I've ever watched, so it's a shame that Warner Bros didn't do a better job of getting it over to DVD.

Transfers vary from season to season, the main problem being that there are just too many episodes crammed on each disc - 83 across 24 discs, most contain four and don't use the full capacity of a dual layer DVD. The end result is...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best purchases I have ever made, 6 Nov. 2011
By 
H. C. Jerrome (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I was recommended to buy this series by several friends but put it off for ages because I thought it was all about sex and so wouldn't be my 'thing'. However, I made the decision to buy it and after watching the complete boxset twice in 3 weeks, can honestly say it was the best decision I've ever made. Although there is a lot of sex (and drugs, partying and good music!), the storylines are deep, involving and very quickly become based upon the relationships between the main characters rather than sex.

QAF covers love, heartache, marriage, parenthood, HIV, custody disputes, substance abuse and recovery, growing up, business struggles, cancer, extreme homophobia, coming 'out', gay bashing and so much more, and I was gripped from start to finish. I even somehow managed to watch the last 3 series in 2 days because I simply couldn't drag myself away. The actors all do a fantastic job of making the programme realistic and believable.

I'm a young, straight, British female but a TV series about gay men and lesbian women set in America is probably the most eye-opening, enlightening thing I've ever seen. I feel priveleged to have experienced the series and would encourage anyone to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, a must see, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Queer as Folk - the US version. How long it took me to gather up the courage to watch this, I had seen the UK version at the time on Channel 4 and loved the concept, the story lines and more so that it really got everyone talking due to the subject matter. TV is, or should be, programmes which are noticed, admired, or not, but for everyone to have an opinion. So much wallpaper TV we are doomed to suffer, that when something as great as this comes along, it should be celebrated.

Oh and how it has been. Bought entirely on a whim, following a conversation at work, I ordered the entire box set with a week off to watch all 83 episodes. What was a marathon watch turned out to be an event which will stay with me forever. I felt as if I were part of all the lives of a set of characters you simply had to either fall in love with, or really hate. There was no room for indifference, and to me this marked QAF as a stunning piece of drama, right down to the supporting cast, people like Brian's mother, father, the work mates at Michael's supermarket, the mothers' group which grew along with Mel and Lindsey.

But it was the main characters who spoke to me and several shone. Brightly, superbly. Of particular note, of course, Mr Brian Kinney. Charisma - wow, yes, he had it in bucket loads, in fact he should be the dictionary definition of the word. What would Brian Kinney do? Whatever it was, he'd do it superbly well. Gale Harold, you should be immensely proud of your work, sometimes at 3 am while watching, I felt I was in the room with you. Transfixed by an actor who made the role come alive, and then some. I laughed along with this incredible man, I cursed him, yelled at him to treat Justin right, and wept with him, the many times he simply messed it all up. As a straight woman I have to say, the love/sex scenes were stunning. Beautifully acted, filmed, wow. Nothing gratuitous, the Babylon scenes were amazing. The whole of Liberty Avenue feels like a street I know well and adore. The diner in particular was a central hub, and this brings me to Debbie. Along with Brian K, she was the stand out character for me. How wonderful she was, a mother to the very tip of those always brightly painted fingernails, she held them all together.

Then of course the simply adorable Sunshine. How long, how many years it took Brian to utter those words, when he was in love with Justin all along. The very crux of this fascinating series was the growing of Justin, how he suffered, how he dealt with rejection over and over again, yet always knowing deep down how much Brian loved him, and how all of Brian's friends stuck by him, sheltering and encouraging him. Beautiful. Justin, you are an inspiration to all young men out there. Then there was Emmett, wonderful Emmett who was the most fabulous, heartwarming man in any drama ever. How I cried for him when George died, that relationship was so brilliantly done.

Of course there were the usual issues, and we should welcome a chance to explore them, death, HIV, parenting, but it didn't really take over, the main stories, the intertwining lives, the struggle and reality of growing old for a gay man, the eternal question as to who really loves me - thank you so much to the writers who have taken on the original concept and given it so much colour, so much love and hope.

Finally, the scene after the bombing, when we heard (thankfully at last!) those famous three words, surely that scene has to go down as one of the best ever filmed. If anyone can watch that without crying, then they are NOT alive. I cannot praise this series highly enough. Epic, heartwarming and happy, sad, hilarious and just plain sexy. It had it all. Brilliant work US!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the story of gay life?!, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
QAF as ground breaking for all the right reasons, and showed that people would watch and commit to a show, even though there wasn't a heterosexual character (of any relevance) in sight.

I would question how much this show realistically portrays gay life - do gays really go clubbing every night? Is every man at least a 'little bit' gay? Do all lesbians really want babies? Do people really have sex wherever and whenever they please?

Also, its a shame that QAF focused so much on 'the pretty people', where clubs are only full of muscled, young guys with fab bodies and great hair, relegating 'the ugly people' (ie. guys with less perfect hair, and without the body for a vest top) to such minor roles as 'drug dealer', 'sleazy club promoter' and 'evil lawyer'.

Many of the gay stereotypes are also strangely present - the older, dignified gay man; the camp, 'heart of gold' gay man; the young 'finding his feet' gay man; the oversexed 'scene queen'; the 'druggie'; the hustler; the HIV positive gay man; the 'straight turned gay' gay man; the closeted gay man; token lesbians.... the list goes on. Was it was written like this to appeal to the 'straight' audience, presenting gay men in boxes that could be easily understood?

However Gale Harold is a marvel as the central character Brian, and the entire supporting cast is also terrific, with a lovely star turn from Sharon Gless as Debbie. The shows strength is also how visually attractive it is - wonderful set pieces (such as the charity ball, pride parade, Mel and Lindsey's wedding and Babylon's re-opening) plus all the hunky nakedness.

Season one and two are when the show was at its peak; everything goes a little 'soapy' in season three; downhill in season four and perks up in season five (with the incredibly well done anti-gay bombing of Babylon) and the ending is quite fitting, closing everything done well. I would suggest that the show had probably reached it natural end, so closed at the right time.

It will stand forever as, very possibly, the only ever 100% gay fiction series, and if that is the case then it simply couldn't have been done better!! Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is fantastic; far better than the British original. Well worth watching whether you're straight or gay, male or female.

The one caveat to the DVDs is the subtitles: they are huge; twice the size of normal subs, and they also seem to be faulty. Instead of a word being in italics, it has the html code for italics on either side of the word that should be italicised. That's fine if you're looking at computer programming, but rather distracting when you just want to watch a DVD with the subtitles. I prefer to watch DVDs with subs as even good actors aren't always clear enough to enable you to make out everything they say. These subtitles are so annoying to look at, though, I'd rather miss the occasional word. I don't know if it's just in my copy, or if they're all like that.

Either way, the series itself is too good to miss. I can't praise it highly enough, so I'm not going to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will fall in love with QAF USA and once watched you'll be hooked, 29 Mar. 2011
By 
T. Bunting "TaBunny" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Now I'll admit I was a sceptic. "How can they remake QAF UK" I thought and that it would be rubbish. Oh how wrong I was. Granted you have to stick with it, for about the first 8 episodes of series one USA they copy the oringinal stories from series 1&2 of the UK version so it's a bit weird because you're constantly comparing the storylines and characters. Also at first I missed Stuart and Vince and Nathan from the UK version, but by the end of series 1 of QAF USA it was Stuart and Vince who?? Honestly the acting in this series and the way the episodes have been written is above and beyond all expectations I had. The cast are believable, sexy and great to watch on scream. The storylines are heart warming, hot, sexy and sometimes heart wrenchingly sad. I don't think anything I could say could do this series and it's following series justice, all I can say is buy it, watch it, love it, you won't be disappointed, Brian, Mikey, Emmet, Ted and Justin will become part of your lives as much as, if not more than Stuart and Vince ever did.

Here's the run down of the spoken languages and subtitles by series:

Series 1
Spoken languages: English and French
Subtitles: English and French for the hard of hearing

Series 2
Spoken languages: English, Dutch, French
Subtitles: English, Dutch, French, English for the hard of hearing, dutch for the hard of hearing

Series 3
Spoken languages: English, Dutch, French
Subtitles: English, Dutch, French English for the hard of hearing, Dutch for the hard of hearing

Series 4
Spoken languages: English, French, Dutch, Magyar and Castellano
Subtitles: English, French, Dutch, Magyar and Castellano

Series 5
Spoken languages: English, French, Dutch, Magyar and Castellano
Subtitles: English, French, Dutch, Magyar and Castellano
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best gay series ever, 8 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
had to wait a long time to buy this series, it was so expensive for such a long time. but after waiting so long amazon had it at a really great price. every one compares this to the uk QAF, and athough they are almost the same story, the usa QAF played over 5 seasons and were able to develop the story over a much longer period, for me i own both english and usa series and its like comparing a short story to a long novel. thats why i like the usa QAF much better, you were able to watch each actor grow in to there part and develop there story, where as the uk QAF only had brief take on any one subject. loved the actors loved the way tt was filmed so many uplifting and sad moments that once you start to watch you cant stop, had so many late nights / early mornings watching this wonderful wonderful series. it will keep you coming back for more that you will never want it to end. the actors and everyone involved in making this should be very proud of themselves. watch it, buy it, own it,its something you will love forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is where it all began ..., 25 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Michael: This is where it all began...
Brian: ...and ended.

Have to admit I was sad when I reached the last episode in this great series. I've never been a fan of soap operas, although these days the distinction between "soap opera" and the more standard "TV drama series" is minimal. But this definitely had a hold on me. I was conflicted by wanting to do a marathon viewing of episodes on the one hand and wanting to pace them out to put off reaching the final episode too soon. During the first three seasons there were quite a few cliff hangers and that really drew you into the next episode to see how the characters would manage to extricate themselves from the dilemmas they faced at the end of the current show. And even though you could easily see almost every disaster looming on the horizon, and you felt pretty certain it would be resolved, it was still compelling to see that Brian or Justin or whoever managed to "survive" whatever mess (generally of their own making)they found themselves in.

Having watched the short-lived British version of QAF, I was initially put off by the actors who played Brian and Justin when compared to the British Stuart and Nathan, but Gale Harold/Brian Kinney quickly won me over and I suppose much of the suspense for me throughout the series was concerning whether Brian and Justin would ever settle together.

All the characters, just like real people often do, alternatively caused annoyance or redeemed themselves in my estimation. For the most part their behavior was fairly consistent, but again like real people they seemed sometimes to act out of character. At times their behavior seemed excessively cloddish and insensitive, helping to provoke the next inter-relational crisis, but that is the stuff of life and soap operas. There were times, however, when their oafishness seemed a bit difficult to accept. Justin, for example, seemed a pretty intelligent, insightful person, but sometimes came across as being incredibly gullible, naïve or plain dull-witted. I guess Brian remained the most true-to-character throughout.

I would sometimes fast forward through the more intimate lesbian scenes, just as I assume some viewers may have replayed those and skipped some of the male soft porn, but the lesbian inclusion added greater breadth to the story and to the sense of community. My main complaint in this area was that they seemed to become too much of the story line in the fourth season and most of that was the central lesbian couple getting pissed off with one another almost continuously. Just about everyone in the show managed to have fallings out with others, but usually the issues were resolved fairly quickly. Not so with these two.

Throughout the series, Michael's mother, Sharon Glass/Debbie Novotny was a supporting character, as were Justin's mother, Sherry Miller/Jennifer Taylor and some others of the straight persuasion. But by the fourth season Sharon really became an intrusive, often obnoxious, presence in virtually every story development. Not sure if her increased role was in response to some expressed viewer interest after the first three years, but for awhile it seemed that the production had evolved into the Debbie Knows Best Show with Sharon dispensing her hetero wisdom to the gay community whether or not it was solicited. My favorite line came in the fifth season when Michael's partner Ben tells her, "This isn't about you. Now sit down." If only the show's producers had thought similarly sooner, there might have been a sixth season.

Anyway, I hope this was "where it all began" in terms of meaningful gay drama, as opposed to gays being used to provide comic relief in supporting roles or dying of AIDS or worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. G. T. Instone (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing the U.K version on T.V when I was younger, I did only see the odd episode due to worrying what other people thought and being 'caught' by the parents ;)
I loved it and managed to watch the complete series a couple of years after.
I always put off watching the U.S version as I expected it to be inferior as so many American copies of U.K series are. I'd also heard from friends how it just copied the U.K version so closely which was a put off.
However gave it a chance and yes for the first few episodes it does closely follow the U.K version but then it takes it's own route.
I love both versions for different reasons, I have to say the U.S version comes out on top simply because it is able to expand on all the characters so much more. This is due mainly to the long run the U.S series maintained, it has some very powerful storylines and a lot of humour.
The actors do a fantastic job, yes there are stereotypes but then these stereotypes do happen to exist!
I've felt moments of joy and moments of sadness watching various storylines throughout the shows run.
I couldn't believe it came to an end after five seasons, you really got to know the characters and feel for them.
Highly recommended to all peepes regardless of sexuality.
Fanatastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I hoped for..., 8 July 2013
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
And a little bit more!!

I love this series because it doesn't apologise for itself, I can imagine 10-20 years when it was being made and aired it must have caused quite a stir! The characters are played what I can only assume is more accurately and I love the different types of relationships that are portrayed, not everyone ends up 'happily ever after'.

All in all a brilliant buy, especially as I had see clips of the series of YouTube but now have all of the stories in chronological order!! Thank you amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Daring After All This Time, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This is the US version inspired by the hit Channel 4 UK show of the same name. In many ways, the US one improved on the UK one and expanded the characters. There are more characters, events, loves, laughs, heartbreaks and sex than before andnthe script just zings with every emotion possible.

If you were a fan of the UK one but, like me were dismissive of the American one "because they are just copying it" I urge you to watch just the first 2 episodes. If you are not hooked, I will be VERY surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queer As Folk USA - Season 1-5 Complete [DVD]
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews